Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd14: Eels v Bulldogs GAME DAY THREAD @ Accor Stadium 13/6/22

IFR33K

Under Brian Smith we would have a different game plan every week, i remember that semi final in 98 against the Donkey's at ANZ when we kicked the ball into touch at every opportunity. It drove them nuts, the game was so stop and start and they couldn't get into the game.

Bea has one plan, every single week with no plan B, when plan A fails we get towelled up. Thats why i laugh when people think we could go massively backwards with a change of coach. We are so seriously under coached it's not funny. With horrible defensive and attacking structures which we've had for 9 seasons.

would love Bs back in some capacity. When he was here we had gun juniors coming thru and knew how to extract the best out of them. We had lower grades dominating comps too. I know it’s a pipe dream but I actually think with his attention to detail this roster could be a heavyweight.

Wally21

I'm cool with getting a new coach. I wish whoever it might be all the best.
Its a poison chalice, no question. He/she/they will need to be strong willed and have skin like a rhino.
However, I think Hindy111 said it somewhere else, (When he didn’t have insomnia) that he would chase cronk or slater as coach. I agree with him. Go in a different direction completely and hire someone who has the right mental approach. Even though they have little or no experience.
I wouldn’t take any of the available experienced coaches, other than perhaps Flanagan. Unless of course Cleary, Bellamy or Robinson decide they need a change.

IFR33K

Our line speed has been poor all year, even when Brown was starting in the 13. Our marker defence is almost non existent and we are burnt on the edges constantly. But yeah it's just a player issue lol.

There doesn’t seem to be attention to detail with this team. It’s run hard and tackle hard, and if that doesn’t work, we’re f^*ked.

how many times did matto run behind a support player in the second half? We looked as thou we’ve barely trained.

DaveMc

would love Bs back in some capacity. When he was here we had gun juniors coming thru and knew how to extract the best out of them. We had lower grades dominating comps too. I know it’s a pipe dream but I actually think with his attention to detail this roster could be a heavyweight.
I couldn’t see him actually coaching, but I do wonder whether some sort of coaching director role would suit him.

There doesn’t seem to be attention to detail with this team. It’s run hard and tackle hard, and if that doesn’t work, we’re f^*ked.

how many time did matto run behind a support player in the second half? We looked as thou we’ve barely trained.
The rumour is BA gave them time off from training and we didn't have a captains run?? Is this true??? Showed if true he also thought the game was in the bag......

Totally agree.

I loved Brian Smith. It was really good watching us win games we weren't expected to win

I still remember reading somewhere where joey said theres someone who is stubborn at the Eels and not willing to make change and implement new things. Though I can't find the link.

I thought it was gutho and his arrogance but now me thinks it is ba

Ahh yes those years. I remember 1998, a lot of people thought it was frustrating they couldnt put the lower teams away like Gold Coast, Adelaide, Souths and Auckland but they still win. Id take an ugly win any day over today's performance. Not sure if it was that year or 1999 where theyd just beat those teams then with about 5 rounds to go before the finals, they really exploded thrashing teams.

The coach is accountable for every single win and every single loss mate. It comes with the role.
But he isn't solely accountable as some would like to think. I mean afterall, it's a team sport played by 17 grown men on a field 100m x 65m and the one person who everyone wants to blame isn't even allowed in that 650 sqm space while the game is on.

Sorry mate, but that is a poor excuse. Yet, it is true it is part of the depressing equation.
Our team was deplorable today.
There is one person solely responsible to ensure performances like todays don't happen.
We've seen too many day's like today under the coaching of Arthur that you don't see under the better teams.
It was clear after just a few minutes that our whole team were not "up" for today's game.
This is a coaching and motivational issue.
For the record, did you happen to see the Fox lowlights reel of our mistake ridden game today? It wasn't just motivational today, it was skills, tactics and game plan and defensive tactics that were also appalling.
Today was without doubt the worst performance I have seen from us for years, which was played with what most agreed earlier this week was pretty much our strongest squad we could put on the park.

It's not good enough, and in his 9th season, if these types of performances are still happening under BA's leadership, it is time to move on.

I've been saying for years we should bring him back as head of football. No one is better at setting up junior pathways and putting systems in place. Instead we went out and signed a bloke not good enough for the West Tigers.

Its a poison chalice, no question. He/she/they will need to be strong willed and have skin like a rhino.
However, I think Hindy111 said it somewhere else, (When he didn’t have insomnia) that he would chase cronk or slater as coach. I agree with him. Go in a different direction completely and hire someone who has the right mental approach. Even though they have little or no experience.
I wouldn’t take any of the available experienced coaches, other than perhaps Flanagan. Unless of course Cleary, Bellamy or Robinson decide they need a change.
Cronk would be an interesting option ... he has footy smarts ... played with the best .... dunno if he wants to coach tho

That's exactly what i said to my housemate, if you can't be a decent head coach at least try and look like one. He's meant to be a leader at the club and the dope sits in the box with a f**king hoodie on lol. It's bad enough when he opens his mouth, i mean he holidays in Bali. Just a dumb Westie Bogan who has won the lotto 9 years in a row.
I like hoodies.

Do you remember another game other than the 98 semi final where we had a specific game plan for a specific team on a specific ocassion during Smith's time as coach? Specifically 97-06.
Well he never had us chasing the collisions and front loading our washing machines every single week. He had his flaws as a coach but tactics wasn't one of them.

IFR33K

I dont often post much about the coaches impact on a game (win or lose) because to be honest, I dont think week to week preparation changes much, except where relevant to specific teams we are playing. So for me, wins and losses are actually more as a the result of the performance put in by the players who are executing on the day.

Take Lane for example. Only he decided to be lazy on the days when he is. And not on the days when he isnt. He isnt coached to do that. Same goes for Moses deciding to put the ball down one-handed. That was his choice.

So if the coach has good enough preparation methods to get us up for wins against the top teams, then those methods should be good enough against the weaker teams. When you lose a game like we did today, it wasnt about a lucky or unlucky bounce, or about a bad ref call, or a freaky intercept play, it was about individual players who are supposedly professional, deciding for whatever reason that they dont want to do their best today. That is on them and that is why my posts tend to focus on where I think players have let us down.

And yes, I do think we should look at some new coaching staff to freshen up the environment, as long as the decision is taken in a controlled (i.e non-reactive) process.

Sorry for my Ram like rant.

TLDR: f**k the players and the coach.

Is this post serious?

lucablight

This sort of bullshit is why we could miss out on the top 4 and then say “b-b-but we were beaten by the better team that was too good for us”. How you going to avoid the good teams before the grand final if you drop games like that? One of the worst losses in a while.

Too true, Suity. You didn't miss much of the presser if you didn't watch it. Just more of the same dribble, especially from Gutho. "We didn't turn up" is not something Eels supporters want to hear.

I am more excited about your holidaysthen our next game

DaveMc

This sort of bullshit is why we could miss out on the top 4 and then say “b-b-but we were beaten by the better team that was too good for us”. How you going to avoid the good teams before the grand final if you drop games like that? One of the worst losses in a while.
I think we can pretty much write off top 4 after dropping the game today and the earlier one to Wests. We have a pretty tough draw from here on (games against Penrith and Melbourne, twice v Brisbane, twice v Souths who we just can’t seem to beat, Manly away), and you cannot drop what should be a gimme two points in these sorts of games and have any serious chance of top 4.

IFR33K

Lane has always been lazy, its why he was at 3 clubs before ours. Why should the coach or any of us be shocked at what he offers up??? He wouldn't last at a club like the Storm thats for sure. We continually sign dumb lazy players and then we are all shocked when they are dumb and lazy lol. Sivo being rewarded with a spot straight back in after Oppa had done a more than solid job for us. Sivo us one of the laziest player to pull on an Eels jersey. Why should we be shocked when he offers SFA and is lazy??

Amazing how they’re been resigned and never have been dropped nor has the coach addressed the issue.

Well I turn 28 this week and already consigned myself mentally that I won't see us win a premiership.

How sad is it supporting this mob even when we are travelling ok we make a fool out of ourselves.

My Dad turned 79. I always wanted to watch us win a grand final together. 2001 and 2009 was our best chance. I honestly don't feel it will happen