Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd14: Eels v Bulldogs GAME DAY THREAD @ Accor Stadium 13/6/22

Don’t be an idiot, dude, Cleary is a premiership winning coach and it won’t be his last, Brad Arthur is a speck on his radar, at best absolutely ridiculous defence of this absolutely ordinary coach, seriously stop embarrassing yourself, enough already, it’s 😢
He did f**k all until he was given this awesome crop of young players. He had a career win rate below 50% until last year. It's embarrassing that you think our squad is as good as theirs. You seriously overrate our players. Blaming the coach is making excuses for them.

I'm more interested in who is responsible rather than who is accountable.

Less interested in who should be consulted or informed.

We are an average side that can lose every game. We can also win some. It's just the side we are. Don't expect a end of season run. Our game plan means when things go our way we'll win and when they don't we won't. Simple.
We have a decent squad so if its even we probably win. I reckon if you think we are a top 4 side you are dillusional

Brian Smith developed Lee Hopkins, Craig Stapleton, Matt Petersen, and Adam Mogg into decent footballers.

We may not have won a Premiership under his tenure, but the man could coach.

Ditto Daniel Anderson.

BA has his strengths - he helped develop Gutherson, Brown, Matterson, Paulo, and RCG into rep players, and he also got good mileage out of Sivo, and Papali'i.

But results like this - with a decent roster - are completely unacceptable.

All teams need to do to beat us is play up-tempo - that's it.

Play with fire, and aggression, and we go into our shells.

I don't think BA has it in him to get this team ready on a weekly basis any more.

Agree. Its an irrelevant stat and an anomoly. Actually, its all the more reason to get the shits about our lack of consistency.
Actually it's a statistic about Cleary. Everything about the merkin points to him only becoming a good coach last year, in his 15th season coaching in the NRL. Before that he hadn't even won half his games. Suddenly he's a supercoach? He's taken over a strong squad, nothing more.

Eelogical

We are an average side that can lose every game. We can also win some. It's just the side we are. Don't expect a end of season run. Our game plan means when things go our way we'll win and when they don't we won't. Simple.
We have a decent squad so if its even we probably win. I reckon if you think we are a top 4 side you are dillusional
Trouble is, mate. We won't accept mediocrity anymore.

We're capable of beating both the teams favoured to win the comp. Talent and ability isn't the impediment for this team, it is attitude and inferior guidance.
So it's unacceptable for us to shit the bed against the Dogs and the Tigers but acceptable for the Storm and the Panthers to shit the bed against us? Or do teams just sometimes not turn up for nothing games?

You're not seeing the big picture because you're an emotional fan who attaches unnecessary meaning to results. "Oh we have to beat the Dogs because they are running last and they're our rivals!" "Yes we proved we can beat the Panthers/Storm in this massive game, we should be favourites!"

The reality is our players didn't give a f**k about the Bulldogs, they are looking to next week. The Storm and Panthers players don't give a f**k about beating Parra, we are just one more opponent in the endless stream of teams firing up when they play them. All this meaning is something you've added as a fan, because you only see the team once a week for 80 minutes. But the players are there nearly every day talking and thinking about the footy. Plenty of them would be just waiting for September to roll around, or the next statement game against a fellow contender. They would be embarrassed about this result but not enough that they would've been obsessed all week about winning the game. They will now be thinking about the Roosters like they probably have been since they beat Canberra. Some will continue daydreaming about the finals.

This post will be overlooked but it nails it for me.

The players are largely responsible for efforts like tonight. They were f**ken shit. Sure the coach is accountable but it would be foolish to think that the complacent, lazy slugs on the field will magically turn into world beaters under a new coach.

That said, I'm not suggesting BA has immunity. By all means get rid of him. He's been around a long time and we might do OK with a fresh voice. Realistically though, I'm not expecting miracles from anyone else.

We are boring to watch. Attack is lame. Dogs went after Simmonson rushing up. It was a tactic. I just feel like we use the exact same game plan every week. We do not adjust at all or try and find another sides weakness and target it.
Today's result for me is a side that's stale, getting old and players moving on. Not all the coaches fault.