Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd14: Eels v Bulldogs GAME DAY THREAD @ Accor Stadium 13/6/22

DaveMc

Mate if you still think this is about BA you're missing the f**king point entirely.
But if it’s not really about him, why not roll the dice and see if someone else *can* get more out of this squad. I think this is a good team on the whole, albeit missing some ticker and leadership, and short of snagging a superstar to take it to the next level on the field, why wouldn’t you have a punt with another coach?

Mate if you still think this is about BA you're missing the f**king point entirely.

Answer my question . What do you want to do with the coach?
And yes it isn't all about BA. But I still reckon he signed the wrong guys up. I've been vocal about it also. Gutherson in particular.

DaveMc

So it's unacceptable for us to shit the bed against the Dogs and the Tigers but acceptable for the Storm and the Panthers to shit the bed against us? Or do teams just sometimes not turn up for nothing games?
I reckon Melbourne and Penrith fans would’ve been apoplectic if we’d beaten either of them by 30

lucablight

He did f**k all until he was given this awesome crop of young players. He had a career win rate below 50% until last year. It's embarrassing that you think our squad is as good as theirs. You seriously overrate our players. Blaming the coach is making excuses for them.
Cleary took an unfancied Warriors side to a grand final by beating the Melbourne Storm along the way who had Slater, Cronk and Smith at their powers. How is that doing f**k all? I would say you severely underrate our players and I don’t know why. You seriously thought the Roosters B team was better than ours which turned out to be completely wrong. It’s no coincidence that we’ve shown we can beat Penrith and Melbourne when we pull our finger out.

JokerEel

Brian Smith developed Lee Hopkins, Craig Stapleton, Matt Petersen, and Adam Mogg into decent footballers.

We may not have won a Premiership under his tenure, but the man could coach.

Ditto Daniel Anderson.

BA has his strengths - he helped develop Gutherson, Brown, Matterson, Paulo, and RCG into rep players, and he also got good mileage out of Sivo, and Papali'i.

But results like this - with a decent roster - are completely unacceptable.

All teams need to do to beat us is play up-tempo - that's it.

Play with fire, and aggression, and we go into our shells.

I don't think BA has it in him to get this team ready on a weekly basis any more.

Smith did have some duds come through aswell though.

Well BA basically said all 34 players involved today across both grades were shit and not up for it.
That's not a good sign - consequence of his coaching masterstroke of giving everyone 5 days off perhaps?
I’d be starting Rein, not because he’s better than Reed, but because I’m sick of Reed’s decision making, service and overruling Moses.
In games that we lose, this seems like a regular theme, and is concerning. Reed (or any hooker) is better when he serves the halves so they can run the attack and put their stamp on things. As an 80min player, he can afford to do that for the first 25 or so mins and only then choose (wisely, if conditions permit) when to bring some of his own skills into the mix.

I'd be trying to start someone at 9 (not sure it's Rein, but who else have we got?) to give Reed a chance to start off the bench and a spell from overriding the halves...

lucablight

He did f**k all until he was given this awesome crop of young players. He had a career win rate below 50% until last year. It's embarrassing that you think our squad is as good as theirs. You seriously overrate our players. Blaming the coach is making excuses for them.
Cleary took an unfancied Warriors side to a grand final by beating the Melbourne Storm along the way who had Slater, Cronk and Smith at their powers. How is that doing f**k all? I would say you severely underrate our players and I don’t know why. You seriously thought the Roosters B team was better than ours which turned out to be completely wrong. It’s no coincidence that we’ve shown we can beat Penrith and Melbourne when we pull our finger out.

Chipmunk

So it's unacceptable for us to shit the bed against the Dogs and the Tigers but acceptable for the Storm and the Panthers to shit the bed against us? Or do teams just sometimes not turn up for nothing games?
I don't think anyone claims that Panthers or Storm shit the bed against us, it was just two even matched teams and one team got the points in close match.

We don't turn up too often, and it's the reason why we're not a Top 4 team and ultimately a contender when it matters. You need to beat the teams running last as part of winning enough games to make the Top 4.

DaveMc

That's not a good sign - consequence of his coaching masterstroke of giving everyone 5 days off perhaps?

In games that we lose, this seems like a regular theme, and is concerning. Reed (or any hooker) is better when he serves the halves so they can run the attack and put their stamp on things. As an 80min player, he can afford to do that for the first 25 or so mins and only then choose (wisely, if conditions permit) when to bring some of his own skills into the mix.

I'd be trying to start someone at 9 (not sure it's Rein, but who else have we got?) to give Reed a chance to start off the bench and a spell from overriding the halves...
I said pretty much the same thing earlier in the thread, Reed’s style just does not fit our gameplan at all, and he’s overcalling the playmakers to the detriment of the team. He needs to pull his head in and learn his role.

I don't think anyone claims that Panthers or Storm shit the bed against us, it was just two even matched teams and one team got the points in close match.

We don't turn up too often, and it's the reason why we're not a Top 4 team and ultimately a contender when it matters. You need to beat the teams running last as part of winning enough games to make the Top 4.

It a simple formula really. Everyone can see that except Pou.

Actually it's a statistic about Cleary. Everything about the merkin points to him only becoming a good coach last year, in his 15th season coaching in the NRL. Before that he hadn't even won half his games. Suddenly he's a supercoach? He's taken over a strong squad, nothing more.

What Penrith are doing over the last 3 yrs is almost unheard of.
He also turned the Warriors into a strong side. Ummm they made a grand final. So Ivan's made 3 GFS .

lucablight

You're not seeing the big picture because you're an emotional fan who attaches unnecessary meaning to results. "Oh we have to beat the Dogs because they are running last and they're our rivals!" "Yes we proved we can beat the Panthers/Storm in this massive game, we should be favourites!"

The reality is our players didn't give a f**k about the Bulldogs, they are looking to next week. The Storm and Panthers players don't give a f**k about beating Parra, we are just one more opponent in the endless stream of teams firing up when they play them. All this meaning is something you've added as a fan, because you only see the team once a week for 80 minutes. But the players are there nearly every day talking and thinking about the footy. Plenty of them would be just waiting for September to roll around, or the next statement game against a fellow contender. They would be embarrassed about this result but not enough that they would've been obsessed all week about winning the game. They will now be thinking about the Roosters like they probably have been since they beat Canberra. Some will continue daydreaming about the finals.
Penrith and Melbourne didn’t shit the bed against us. They lost to us in a hard fought battle between two quality teams. We played like absolute shit against a shit team coming last.
I don’t buy this garbage narrative about us not caring because it was the bulldogs. There’s a good chance we don’t finish in the top 4 now and it’s because we dropped games like these ones. Don’t tell me the players don’t want to finish in the top 4. They aren’t so confident that they think they have it wrapped up already and can drop games against nuffy sides.

JokerEel

Then didnt make the finals the next season... Dessie did though

Struggle? Lol.
As if he worries about a couple of tough games against a rival when his team performs on a very consistent level and almost always manages to beat the shit teams.
Exactly. If he's not bothered about losing to the Eels why should Arthur be bothered about losing to the Dogs? Do we want to be flat track bullies now? Make up your mind.