Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd15: Eels v Roosters GAME DAY THREAD @ Commbank 18/6/22

emjaycee

It's perplexing. I can't imagine using 15 (or even 16) players in a game is a sustainable tactic over the course of a long season? We wouldn't want our first choice forwards feeling cooked by the time their in the finals through lack of rotation relative to the opposition...
I reckon longer minutes for our first choice forwards this week was to make up for them being MIA last week.

King-Gutho94

I thought it was a professional performance tonight. Which was very pleasing and rare against a Trent Robinson coached team.

The 2nd half was a grind the ruck slowed down but we held the chooks out to one try which really Dylan Brown had covered if not for a fluky bounce.

Sivo defensively is a concern but his carries in back half help.

Btw a mate at the ground who friends with a player manager reckons Crichton is a done deal to parra next year.

lucablight

I thought it was a professional performance tonight. Which was very pleasing and rare against a Trent Robinson coached team.

The 2nd half was a grind the ruck slowed down but we held the chooks out to one try which really Dylan Brown had covered if not for a fluky bounce.

Sivo defensively is a concern but his carries in back half help.

Btw a mate at the ground who friends with a player manager reckons Crichton is a done deal to parra next year.
Roosters can’t afford a player but we can? Is this real life?

Yep, and a day or so ago he wasn't.
Mail was that we had reached our limit and he wasn't signing but I think we offered the extra year which was enough for him.
If we get Crichton the forwards are starting to look good again. I think the key is offloading Nathan Brown now. He should easily be able to get a gig in the UK Super League. He'd kill it there.

@Poupou Escobar , Robinson has twice said they 'over chased' in defence during the press conference. I thought you said that wasn't a thing?
I remember them saving a couple of tries out wide from ‘over chasing’ in defence, so who knows what he’s trying to achieve with those comments. Maybe he’s just trying to deal with the emotion of seeing his side lose three straight. They were certainly up for it, with a few defenders coming out of the line and leaving big holes. Maybe that’s what he meant.

Immense effort in the forwards - much improved, and good to even up the balance against the Roosters with a win.

But the question remains... can this lot and BA and associates stay motivated and apply consistent effort in every game - rather then turn in rubbish efforts like against Tigers, Cowboys, Bulldogs?
BA admitted in the press conference that it was his job to get them up for the games. It has been his failure in the past. Standard once again has been set. Let’s see.