Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd16: Parra v Souths GAME DAY thread (27/8/20)

Delboy

Best player, Dylan Brown on one leg, daylight second , then possibly Gutho for having a go. Don’t know how to respond to the rest of the team, Kaufusi was our best forward and Davey didn’t do anything wrong. Hard to work out how to gauge the rest of them.

Someone I know drives down from Wyee for every game and holds numerous season tickets, rang me from his car and is devastated and said BA should apologise to the supporters for what we saw tonight was unacceptable.

I'll clean you up with one of my world renowned inswinging yorkers. All 20 spectators at Deakin Oval will shit themselves with excitement.

P.S. Nice to see you back here.

Based on this thread, it won't last long....

But I'm more than prepared to hoist your craft beer swilling arse into the Mint carpark

Mr Parramatta

They finally did it - the club has broken me.

I have tried really hard to follow Gary's, and Gronk's (and many other posters'), exemplary attitude of calm, measured, and rational approaches to the games.

But I am broken.

I have completely lost faith in the coaching staff - they are all in way over their heads, and the fact we have been winning more often than not probably papered over that for a while.
I was there and have been for many many years, but this still shocked me, they are an abomination and let’s face it, have been since 86, our window is passing us by very quickly!!!

Oh, thanks, bro!

Wife was discharged yesterday, but bub is in the NICU until at least tomorrow - he had some fluid in his lungs, and was breathing really rapidly.

My wife is really sad that he isn't at home with us - she really loves the little (I say little - he was born at 4.74kg!) guy, as do I!

But he has been on an antibiotics IV for the last 3 days, and is doing really well.

We hope to take him home on Saturday :).
Good to see all seems to be well mate, at least on the home front.

It's literally just a game

We don't even play

I'll be much more gutted when I inevitably get a duck come October. And even then I'll have a beer and move on

I know.

It isn't rational.

But I can't help it - watching the Eels is one of the things in life that I most enjoy doing (as demonstrated by my 50,000 post count on a footy forum), and watching us be also-rans every year really stings.

And I know it isn't "us", as we don't actually play, but still...

JokerEel

If this was a one-off, then maybe you might have a point.

But to be honest, the side has been fluking wins for a more than a month:

* Shaun Johnson forgot his goal-kicking boots, and we win by 2;

* the Storm were denied a fair try, at a time where we were struggling to hold them out, and we end up holding them to nil (had the try been awarded, they may have rode that wave to spur them to victory);

* we were LUCKY that the Dogs' only good attacking player is Foran, and their hooker is trash;

* we were lucky that some very harsh calls went against the Knights.

What was the Storm fair try?

Joshuatheeel

Has a team been thumped this close to finals and come back to win?

probably not, but late season form doesn’t necessarily matter (yes our form is terrible and needs fixing urgently or our season is not looking good ), interestingly Souths lost 2 of their last 3 in 2014, cowboys lost 3 of their last 5 in 2015 (and first final), Sharks had 4 losses and a draw from their last 6 in 2016, Roosters 2 of their last 3 in 2018.

JokerEel

Best player, Dylan Brown on one leg, daylight second , then possibly Gutho for having a go. Don’t know how to respond to the rest of the team, Kaufusi was our best forward and Davey didn’t do anything wrong. Hard to work out how to gauge the rest of them.

Someone I know drives down from Wyee for every game and holds numerous season tickets, rang me from his car and is devastated and said BA should apologise to the supporters for what we saw tonight was unacceptable.

Not sure why BA took so long to bring Stone and Davey on when our defense out wide was shit.
The only time they crossed the line using Kenny Bromwich, it was called back for a forward pass - I don't think it was actually forward.

That was forward by a mile..

Mr Parramatta

Simple fact is we accept mediocrity and that includes Brad Arthur is coach, to all the lovers of Brad, I hate to tell you, after all these years he is a novice and will never ever experience a Grand final victory, which bodes very badly for us equally mediocre accepting fans!!!!