Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd25: Parra v Penrith GAME DAY THREAD @ Cbus stadium 3/9/21

Was sickening and poor commentary

JFH played 51min

They gave Kaufusi a wrap for about 2 seconds
48min straight, 17 runs 156m, 55 PCM

Even his own team mate was better with hardly any wraps, if any
Leota
44min 14runs, 169m, 74 PCM
I wanted to see if I am somehow giving JFH too much credit prior to tonight .... so I'm gonna do a Pou table

GameRunsMetresPCMTackles
R25 v Eels14843328
R24 v Tigers8923727
R19 v Broncos171514549
R18 v Warriors151413231
R16 v Eels131035227
R15 v Roosters181797430
R14 v Sharks151565626

Couldn't be f**ked going back further .... he was shit compared to his usual .... yet the commentators reached a climax for some reason

sure he missed a bunch of games, but he is meant to be a top tier middle and he had hs warm up last week

Stone f**kin owned him

(interestingly his second worst game in those was probably also against us)

IFR33K

Thoughts on Jrthur?
A few ok tackles but thats was no more than expected. That said he still got caught out at times.
I thought his A was extremely average. He looks so slow. Hopefully he improves but at this stage I reckon we definitely need a better back up half next year.
I have to eat some humble pie after Smiths efforts last night. Played strong, done fine. Well done Smithy.

won’t make a career as a half in the nrl. May not even make it period.

IFR33K

To me he seems to take too long to do things. Everything looks slow motion. From running to kicking. Everything looks robotic/measured and nothing seems natural.
His passes look telegraphed.

But he is 18 and barely played NSW cup. I feel like NRL should be reserved for kids under 20 making debuts if they are quite special.Penisini,D.Brown are examples. JA is not one of those. I prefer juniors not to get into NRL untill they are 20/21 unless they are just to good to hold out. So next two seasons I'd expect him in NSW cup. He would be playing at age 19 and 20.
2024 he will be 21 and be closer to Nrl level. But he would still need 2yrs in the NRL if he gets to this point.
Best to judge him in 2026

Very robotic.

King-Gutho94

Fergo showed hes not the future tonight. He missed Ado Carr last week and let Too get away from him tonight. He was back to that rushing in sh*t again. I thought he was awful last night. Id still bring in Oppy and move Waqa to the wing.

The 2 centres fergo has looked best so far are with the big bodied niukore and penisini.

King-Gutho94

Thoughts on Jrthur?
A few ok tackles but thats was no more than expected. That said he still got caught out at times.
I thought his A was extremely average. He looks so slow. Hopefully he improves but at this stage I reckon we definitely need a better back up half next year.
I have to eat some humble pie after Smiths efforts last night. Played strong, done fine. Well done Smithy.

He wouldn't have got near first grade if he wasn't the son of a first grade coach. That's the brutal truth unfortunately.

He doesn't look to have enough speed to compensate for his smallish frame.

His defence was better last night especially one on one.

But i can't see him making it.

King-Gutho94

Penrith was always going to win that game. But the f**king ref was absolutely shithouse. 6 to go calls for no apparent reason. You don’t know why. When Penrith held us down for that little extra bit nothing til the end of the game. Refs are so shit these days. The only decent one is retiring at the end of the season.

Game turned on the captain's challenge. We get that decision we may have still been in the contest going into the last 20 mins

yy_cheng

Yep i noticed that last week.

I remember the penrith game eariler in the year he just got rag dolled.
Its a good thing that he changed. That means someone is teaching him. Could be the coaches but I think it's gutho. When they make a mistake on the field, gutho will tell them what they should've done.

For waqa to become a winger, he has to change his running style too

😂😂 Rodwell was signed in Round 2 this year from the Tigers. Before that he was a Souths U20’s player.

Here he is his in pre-season training being tackled by Alex Twal.

109a1077.jpg

Sorry I meant to say Nsw cup

If he wasn’t the coach’s son they probably wouldn’t ever bother to persevere with him. Look I get he’s young but I always compare a young half to someone like Tim Smith or Blake Green at a similar age. They had something and you could see it. Jake Arthur just seems to have plenty of work ethic and bugger all natural talent. Probably will end up like his dad. A lower grade player always involved in the game and there is nothing wrong with that.

His short kicking game is perhaps better then Moses and Browns at this stage already.
His future would be a half who can control a game with game plan,execution,good defense,Kicking. He will be a better defender then Moses and I'd say his short kick game & Vision will also be along with game management. His passing and running game won't get close.

I don’t get this Hindy, you say you didn’t watch a lot of the game yet you’re adamant Maka is bog average and a plodder. Perhaps if you rewatch the whole game today your opinion may have some more credibility.

I watched about 25mins. And seen him play multiple times already. He is an ok back up. He takes off slow imo. I reckon Hollis and Greig will be above in pecking order come 2022..

Happy MEel

I watched about 25mins. And seen him play multiple times already. He is an ok back up. He takes off slow imo. I reckon Hollis and Greig will be above in pecking order come 2022..
I think we’ll have to agree to disagree on that one. Grieg is a possibility but not Hollis.

Kornstar

On the refereeing, i know we will have a largely different team when the time comes but if (and i mean big IF) we win next week, the week after we are going to have to beat the referee anyways.

The referees tend to let the teams that they perceive to be the better team do whatever they want in the ruck, especially in big games, they generally have a pre conceived winner (just like last night) so they will referee accordingly.

Obviously we were no chance last night and the scoreline probably flattered us in the end but as has been mentioned, we got nothing at all.

So for me, the only chance we have in the finals it to play with last weeks desperation and commitment to each other to beat the opposition and the refs because they will let the top 4 do whatever they want in the ruck.

Kind of like in 2009, after such a shit 2008 wrestle fest and boring as batshit footy they changed some interpretations of the ruck and they were pretty good with it up until the GF, then they reverted to ensure that the Storm could use their grubbiest of grubby tactics for victory, and we still got closer than they would have ever liked!!

Anyways, i expect the Storm to up their grubby tactics from next week and they will be hard to beat.

Soren Lorenson

I think we’ll have to agree to disagree on that one. Grieg is a possibility but not Hollis.
Rodwell may be better than all of them. Hard to say after 1 game though. I am impressed with maka though. He' s the value middle we need. Also I would be seriously considering dropping Lane for Stone next week and running running a bench of Kaufusi, Stone Smith/Cartwright and Nuikore. If BA was adventurous, he could consider staring Stone for Nrown and let him bash up Saifiti and Klemmer.

Happy MEel

Rodwell may be better than all of them. Hard to say after 1 game though. But I would be seriously considering dropping Lane for stone next week and running running a bench of Kaufusi, Stone Smith/Cartwright and Nuikore.
He looked good out there, didn’t he. I just don’t get the Hollis love. Every time I’ve seen him he hasn’t impressed. In fact, he seemed weak and slow.