Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd6: EELS v Tigers GAME DAY THREAD @ Accor 10/4/23

RCG was on the field for 60mins and managed 10 runs for 90m. Hopgood managed 14 runs for 128m in less time. Matterson (the merkin) ran for 100m more than him.
When we control the ball better RCG makes a lot more than than one carry every six minutes.
Im not making the argument that RCG is not a better player than Stef, old mate just brought up $ value. Stef as a 22 yo kid is worth every cent we pay for him and will get better.
I reckon you’d be paying him a similar amount to what Haas and RCG are on.

84 Baby

About 1/3 of what Payne is getting paid. Did Payne run for 300m? How much are you paying RCG compared to Stef? How many metres did you get out of RCG, in how many minutes? You had a point?
Did you have to give Filia a job too?

Tiger5150

left hanging how? ..... the Tigers merkin was having a sore loser sook - he laid into penisini unnecessarily on the ground just before the siren - obviously a bit upset he plays for a shit team ..... I think gutho was having a gentle go at him

......or shooks Mitchell Moses hand, then Cartwrights hand before King Merkin came up to him and did merkin things.

emjaycee

Will be interesting to see what happens with Hands and the style of play he develops in first grade.
Rheed definitely had more skills than we saw him put to use, but as he said recently, there were players in the Eels spine that would demand the ball and I think this supported BA's game plan.

Now with both Barrett and Hodgson our attacking style is a little different (most evident in the way Drown and Moses are more often on the same side of the ruck), and I would guess that we will see more running and engaging the defence from Hodgson than we saw from Mahoney. If Hands is going to spend time on the field as a replacement for Hodgson, he will need to bring the same style.

Will be interesting to see what happens with Hands and the style of play he develops in first grade.
Rheed definitely had more skills than we saw him put to use, but as he said recently, there were players in the Eels spine that would demand the ball and I think this supported BA's game plan.

Now with both Barrett and Hodgson our attacking style is a little different (most evident in the way Drown and Moses are more often on the same side of the ruck), and I would guess that we will see more running and engaging the defence from Hodgson than we saw from Mahoney. If Hands is going to spend time on the field as a replacement for Hodgson, he will need to bring the same style.
Needs to be selective though and recognise that sometimes a crisp pass from dummy half is the best option. The amount of times I've seen Hodgo poke his head up, scratch his coight, have a cup of tea and then decide to pass when he could have passed a second or two earlier is ridiculous...and then there is all of his stupid hand signals and the bullshit that goes with it. Enough already, baldy!

emjaycee

Needs to be selective though and recognise that sometimes a crisp pass from dummy half is the best option. The amount of times I've seen Hodgo poke his head up, scratch his coight, have a cup of tea and then decide to pass when he could have passed a second or two earlier is ridiculous...and then there is all of his stupid hand signals and the bullshit that goes with it. Enough already, baldy!
I think its a combination of our old attacking style and a newer style that we need to find. No longer do we have Papalii on the right so we need to do things differently. New attacking methods take time to become 2nd nature to the players.

Lets hope so. I think the Hodgo/Hands combo can become quite effective in time. That said, our 7 will always be the dominant attacking force so Hodgo needs to recognise that and not overplay his hand (no pun intended).

yy_cheng

Lets hope so. I think the Hodgo/Hands combo can become quite effective in time. That said, our 7 will always be the dominant attacking force so Hodgo needs to recognise that and not overplay his hand (no pun intended).
I reckon we should start Hands and bring on Hodgo later, just like Api at panfers. Hands can really lead the line speed and tighten the middle.

As with the halves, I like how the Cronulla halves play. Alot of it is Moylan to Nicho or Nicho to Moylan so 6 to 7 and they switch around. We do do that but not enough.

Noise

I reckon we should start Hands and bring on Hodgo later, just like Api at panfers. Hands can really lead the line speed and tighten the middle.

As with the halves, I like how the Cronulla halves play. Alot of it is Moylan to Nicho or Nicho to Moylan so 6 to 7 and they switch around. We do do that but not enough.
We do it heaps more this year. I reckon it’s part of the reason why Drown has been off. Moses is swinging to the left linking with Brown a lot more and it seems to be confusing simple Dylan.

yy_cheng

We do it heaps more this year. I reckon it’s part of the reason why Drown has been off. Moses is swinging to the left linking with Brown a lot more and it seems to be confusing simple Dylan.
I agree. Dyl is probably struggling with all the changes. He would probably really struggle in NFL. I loved that pass from Moses to Sivo. Wished we see more of that.