Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd8: 8pm EELS v Broncos GAME DAY THREAD @ TIO Stadium - Darwin 21/4/23

Chipmunk

I remember in 2021 when RCG got injured that month afterwards we got flogged 4 game straight up in Covid hub.

That pointed to me we miss RCG more then we miss Paulo.
This must have been the injury Yeo was referring to on Triple M. Apparently RCG informed Yeo this feels much worse.

King-Gutho94

This must have been the injury Yeo was referring to on Triple M. Apparently RCG informed Yeo this feels much worse.
Shane Shackleton had a similar groin injury where legs got stretched from his 1st game here and missed the season.

Hopefully that's not the case with reg

Chipmunk

Shane Shackleton had a similar groin injury where legs got stretched from his 1st game here and missed the season.

Hopefully that's not the case with reg
Yeah, I remember that one. This didn't seem that bad though, that was a dreadful injury.

Noise

If we broke down the game now emotions aren't involved.

2 of Brisbane's try's come off mistakes. Gutherson and I think Russel. Neither try should of happened.
Another try where the bounce of the ball favoured them and the try when they ran it on the last passed the old guy.
All try's could of been avoided. 3 of them certainly.
There was some luck in our first try. But we also could of had a couple if pass wasn't forward.
Playing in Darwin just makes for a general shit game of footy. Players are fatigued. It's sloppy. Throw-in the rain last night.

We where garbage. But it was 4 try's to 3 and us completing at 68% vs 86% which was exceptional in the conditions.
We are playing poor footy. Many players are down on form. It is important we keep.plugging away and don't lose our heads cause this year's comp is open. Nobody stands out.
If we have money to spend we need to think about it by rnd 12. Either go all in or front load players and build for 2024.
I reckon Moses contract extension is being delayed based on this as well. I reckon we will frontload the he'll out of it if we don't sign anyone this year.

TheRam

Fittler is picking the team and he is on planet lala land. So who knows.

Junior is one of his favourites it seems probably get game 1 at least.

He picked Jacob Safiti last year who was coming off the bench for the Knights who were bottom 3.

Does anyone think if Nicho Hynes was playing for Penrith or Easts and Luai was playing for Cronulla, Fitler would care much about keeping a losing halves combination together? Besides Hynes is probably the form/best player of our competition and that includes Teddy who has been down this year on form.

The best fullback on current form is the new Slater, Reece Walsh. He is actually better then Slater was at the same age. Walsh can do all the fancy running stuff Slater could at that age but has an added brilliant passing game something that Slater only started to develop around 25 or so and of course his yapping at the back that was second to none. My centres for QLD this year would be Holmes and Hammer with Ponga at fullback. That way if/when Ponga goes down with concussion the second best and in form fullback in the Hammer can slot right in there. But if Ponga doesn't make the team due to injury I would pick Walsh as fullback and Holmes and Hammer in the centres. Gagai has had his day. He could still do ok at this level maybe, but there are way to many great players playing way better then him on a weekly basis that should be picked ahead of him and be rewarded.

Only continued success should be rewarded with selection and that includes coaches. If Fitler loses the series again this year he should be dumped.

King-Gutho94

Does anyone think if Nicho Hynes was playing for Penrith or Easts and Luai was playing for Cronulla, Fitler would care much about keeping a losing halves combination together? Besides Hynes is probably the form/best player of our competition and that includes Teddy who has been down this year on form.

The best fullback on current form is the new Slater, Reece Walsh. He is actually better then Slater was at the same age. Walsh can do all the fancy running stuff Slater could at that age but has an added brilliant passing game something that Slater only started to develop around 25 or so and of course his yapping at the back that was second to none. My centres for QLD this year would be Holmes and Hammer with Ponga at fullback. That way if/when Ponga goes down with concussion the second best and in form fullback in the Hammer can slot right in there. But if Ponga doesn't make the team due to injury I would pick Walsh as fullback and Holmes and Hammer in the centres. Gagai has had his day. He could still do ok at this level maybe, but there are way to many great players playing way better then him on a weekly basis that should be picked ahead of him and be rewarded.

Only continued success should be rewarded with selection and that includes coaches. If Fitler loses the series again this year he should be dumped.
I would have dumped Fittler last year.

He has now lost 2 unloseable series in 3 years (2020 & 2022).

And 2019 he was saved by Fergo running down the sideline in the last minute to give tedesco the try.

There was no way the 2019 decider should have gotten that close.

JokerEel

D efence is also a bigger factor than Attack Walsh is probably 15th best fullback in defence. No where near Slater in overall football ability

Eel2reel

Mate the season's over. It was over the moment we gave up on getting a 3rd or even 4th quality front rower for this season.

Or at least one or two outside backs that can take the hitups that we expect our two main boppers to keep doing now for 3 years and very little support to do so. Something had to give. RCG is still going strong most games, but Junior seems to be struggling.

Potato head coach has managed to slowly destroy our players. They are slowly deteriorating and showing signs of both mental and physical fatigue.

There is only about 15 players and that is being generous, that I would keep at the club from our top 30 next year the rest should all be shown the door.

There are so many great players playing in the lower grades for other clubs that if we were savvy and ruthless we should go in and poach. But we have Glacier as head of football and Patato Head as coach. So very little will change.

Oh for all the posters who think that we need to get an X-factor player and replace gutho, you have rocks in your head. He is our strength not our weakness. Our weakness is front row. We need one more if not two and one centre spot and both wings(unfortunately Sivo is useless unless he is within 20m of the line), but we could carry him no probs if we addressed the other spots. He would also then improve too in his yardage carries because the whole team would then be playing on the front foot. We also need another hooker if we can somehow convince the Geriatric to retire and not take up his option. Otherwise we are stuck with him and won't be able to afford another quality one since the Geriatric is on around $400K and pray that Hands can handle the load and a consistent level.

What is happening now is all teams are learning to start tough against us and pushing the boundaries with offsides and super fast line speed in defense to bustle us and work over our big boys. They know if they can minimise our go forward up front and around the ruck, there is no one else(no big backs(or speed men)that can chip in and wear them out) and therefore then they control the game. They can put all their efforts in a compressed defensive line and nail us. They know we have no plan B. We play the dumbest football. If the offloads aren't working for us we have nothing.

But Potato Head has no idea how or why this is happening. He will just say that the boys didn't chase the collision and or didn't front load their effort. He just doesn't get that they can't keep chasing the collision or frontloading their efforts week in, week out with the deficiencies we have in our player roster. He is dreaming if he thinks this team as is(and that was probably the strongest team we could put on the field this year) can sustain a consistent high standard of the type of football that he wants them to play.

When I saw the Broncos roster put up on the screen before the game last night then compared it to what was ours, I thought Oh Sh*t we will be lucky it we don't get 20+ put on us tonight. So as bad as it was last night(thank God it rain otherwise who knows what the final score could have been) we at least weren't humiliated with a total nightmarish blow out.

Buy now with RCG, our best and most consistent play over the last 3 years, out for who knows how long, we are totally done with a power game. So lets see what master Potato Head comes up with over the next few weeks. Hopefully he wakes up to himself and he convinces Glacier to high prioritise a vital quality signing or two. Otherwise it wouldn't surprise me or I suspect many of us on here, if we only win one or two games max over the remainder of the season. Not joking. If RCG is out long term, you can bank on it.
I find this post massively offensive.... to potatoes

TheRam

D efence is also a bigger factor than Attack Walsh is probably 15th best fullback in defence. No where near Slater in overall football ability

Give him time. Slater was a bit of a turn style too in his early days at the Storm.

Do you remember all the debate before he made his SOO debut that he was to small and weak defensively, but with all the high calibre players around him he was just fine. Also being small, defensively sure he covered well across the ground but there we plenty of times that he was battered away and he couldn't stop the try. He was just lucky he played in the best team in the NRL for all his career. Imagine how he would have been shown up and splayed if he played in some of those horrendous teams that Parra or Warriors or pick any cellar dweller team during his era? He may never of had the chance to become the player he developed into.

Defensively Slater knew where to be and marshal his troupes in making sure they were plugging the defensive line better then anyone, but physically he was not big enough or strong enough to stop one on one close to the line attackers often. Walsh will always have the same issue. They aren't the size of Inglis or Hayne or even Gutho who had/have enough size to push back and stop a rampaging ball carrier even if they are slightly not directly in front of them when doing so.

Walsh is a student of the game and a sponge, he will be fine as long as he has a great setup around him, team and club. Unfortunately we can't say the same for many of our players, in particular D. Brown who couldn't be effed even to watch games of the sport that is his bread and butter and has made him a millionaire.

JokerEel

Give him time. Slater was a bit of a turn style too in his early days at the Storm.

Do you remember all the debate before he made his SOO debut that he was to small and weak defensively, but with all the high calibre players around him he was just fine. Also being small, defensively sure he covered well across the ground but there we plenty of times that he was battered away and he couldn't stop the try. He was just lucky he played in the best team in the NRL for all his career. Imagine how he would have been shown up and splayed if he played in some of those horrendous teams that Parra or Warriors or pick any cellar dweller team during his era? He may never of had the chance to become the player he developed into.

Defensively Slater knew where to be and marshal his troupes in making sure they were plugging the defensive line better then anyone, but physically he was not big enough or strong enough to stop one on one close to the line attackers often. Walsh will always have the same issue. They aren't the size of Inglis or Hayne or even Gutho who had/have enough size to push back and stop a rampaging ball carrier even if they are slightly not directly in front of them when doing so.

Walsh is a student of the game and a sponge, he will be fine as long as he has a great setup around him, team and club. Unfortunately we can't say the same for many of our players, in particular D. Brown who couldn't be effed even to watch games of the sport that is his bread and butter and has made him a millionaire.

Is he and does he really?

eel01s

My son picked up Mamm being off side straight away.

FFS, isn't the first thing the bunker looks at is whether the kick chasers are on side?

You watch, Annersley won't even mention it. Between this and the non call on Hass, huge impact on the game.