Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd8 Panthers game day thread

If French is not back next week. Anyone reckon Dargan could do a job at 5/8??

Honestly I don't reckon he's ready. I'd prefer Fogarty if Robson is still out (and I have no idea if he has, haven't been following it that closely). Yeah he's a weak link defensively but we can cover that. Without Taka our kicking game gets even worse, Fog can at least kick and pass. Dargan isn't polished yet, he still goes for the big play too often. That said I'd rather him than Kenny at 6.

It's a worry though. I hope we keep Guthbus at fullback while French is out, he's killing it there.

EDIT-I forgot about Will Smith. He's a solid back up too given how many we have out.

Honestly I don't reckon he's ready. I'd prefer Fogarty if Robson is still out (and I have no idea if he has, haven't been following it that closely). Yeah he's a weak link defensively but we can cover that. Without Taka our kicking game gets even worse, Fog can at least kick and pass. Dargan isn't polished yet, he still goes for the big play too often. That said I'd rather him than Kenny at 6.

It's a worry though. I hope we keep Guthbus at fullback while French is out, he's killing it there.

Or Fog he would do. We need somebody who has half an idea to partner Norman. Someone who kick if Norman gets caught with the ball on the 4th...

jk13

I'd go dargan if French isn't ready. Threw sum good passes today, field goal and kicked ok. Kennys kick today saw his halves license permanently removed

With French only out for one more week would we give Will Smith a crack at either 6 or 1 (moving Gutho back to 6)? He did play in a pretty good Top 4 finals team at the Panthers in the halves when he was still eligible for the Under 20's, he's got to have at least something to offer.

With the way RVarR has been going I can see Taka struggling to get a run back in this side.

Oh, gee......Smith did some amateurish things today. Maybe Hoff to FB, Guth to 6 and Superboy to Wing. But if they're confident that French is only 1 week away, I reckon they'll just slot Kenny into 6.

I'll be any money that Nathan Brown volunteers for the role.

Here's a stat for the stat haters.

Our starting forwards all made over 100m (bar the hooker if you're a pedant who calls them a forward). That's outstanding, but also probably shows that Penrith had awful line speed despite being offside so often.
It certainly shows Penrith are a poor defensive side. They scrambled well today though, which can make up for a few missed tackles.

I think he's a great instinctive player, with good technicals and physicals. But he isn't a particularly smart player.

He's a five-eighth more than a halfback. He likes to run the footy and he plays what's in front of him.

It's only an issue because our second kickers all suck, though.

With French only out for one more week would we give Will Smith a crack at either 6 or 1 (moving Gutho back to 6)? He did play in a pretty good Top 4 finals team at the Panthers in the halves when he was still eligible for the Under 20's, he's got to have at least something to offer.

With the way RVarR has been going I can see Taka struggling to get a run back in this side.
Well Smith is in our match day 19. And he's been switching between fullback and hooker in reserve grade.

Chipmunk

I think he's a great instinctive player, with good technicals and physicals. But he isn't a particularly smart player.

I think the biggest issue is that the bloke who's going to join him in the halves next year has shown no propensity that he's any better in that area either.

No but he's got a good kicking game, so it'll be a bizarre circumstance if both kickers get taken out on the last.

We wouldn't notice it anywhere near as much if we had a quality second kicking option

Forty20

He's a five-eighth more than a halfback. He likes to run the footy and he plays what's in front of him.

It's only an issue because our second kickers all suck, though.

I agree mate. Having a genuine secondary kicking options alleviates a lot of the issues that come with Norman getting caught before the last tackle.

We 'play footy' anyway though so it's not a big deal for us. We're not the sort of team who needs someone to constantly be on top of all the if-then situations in a more complicated gameplan.