Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Record breaking deal for Merrin.

TruSaint

Dragons make huge offer to keep local talent Trent Merrin

ST GEORGE Illawarra has tabled an offer to Trent Merrin which would make him the highest paid forward in the club’s history.

The offer is believed to be worth $1.8 million over three years and will keep Merrin, 25, at the club until the end of 2018. The NSW forward still has another year to run on his contract at the Dragons and has already indicated he could test his value on the open market.

There has been speculation he could command $800,000 a season from rival clubs — better than the Dragons’ offer — and that Brisbane and the Sydney Roosters are already circling.

St George Illawarra would be loath to lose another high-profile player after winger Brett Morris cut short his time at the club to take up an offer from Canterbury.

The club is hopeful that his ties to the area — he is a local junior and his girlfriend and professional surfer Sally Fitzgibbons also hails from the south coast — will work in their favour.

Merrin wasn’t at the club’s golf day at Kogarah yesterday having recently had a pin removed from a shoulder after post-season surgery. Dragons captain Ben Creagh said Merrin would attract plenty of interest from rival clubs but it was important for all parties that he remained at the Dragons.

“I suppose to have a player of that talent, a State of Origin player and hopefully Australian player soon when he’s fit, is certainly important to have around here,” Creagh said.

“Hopefully he and the club come to an agreement sooner rather than later and hopefully he can stay a long time and finish his career here.

“He’s a Shellharbour junior, he’s an Illawarra Steelers junior, and the more players of that talent we can keep at the club and can keep here for a long time the better.”

If the Dragons miss out on Merrin, it is understood they have formed a contingency plan to target Warriors prop Ben Matulino. The Dragons have already been linked with another former Warriors prop, Russell Packer, who is eligible for parole in January after being convicted of assault last year.

Even if Packer is released there is no guarantee he will be fast-tracked back into the game as the NRL is expected to place strict conditions on his registration.

The Dragons are optimistic that if they are successful in signing Packer he could play a role in helping lure Matulino over from Auckland. Dragons halfback Benji Marshall, who knows Packer through Marshall’s best friend, said he hoped the NRL gives the big man a second chance.

“Look at all the people who have had second chances,’’ Marshall said. “They’ve done misdemeanours off the field as well. I think it’s probably fair to give him a crack.

“He put himself in a situation that he will regret and I’m pretty sure that won’t happen again.

“We’d be happy to have him and he’s just one of those players who you hate playing against, but when he’s in your team you love him.

“He’s a grub. He’s one of the most unhygienic humans I’ve met but that’s what you need in the team.’’

Marshall also said yesterday he felt like he was the fittest he had been in six years after only a month of pre-season training. This time last year Marshall was training with Super Rugby franchise Auckland Blues in the lead-up to his failed stint after switching codes. He returned to the NRL in May after signing a 2½-year deal with the Dragons and admitted yesterday the transition back to the NRL had been initially difficult.

“At the Tigers I was just playing to play with my mates and now I’ve come back to have to prove myself again. I want to be the best again,’’ Marshall said.

“All my life growing up I wanted to be the best and I lost that for a couple of years and I’ve found that again by going away and coming back.

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/spo...ent-trent-merrin/story-fnca0von-1227131258757

“I’ve got a lot to prove still.’’

Highland Saint

I hope he takes the deal. I also hope he runs harder and is more selective with his offloads. He's a good player that pumps out big stat numbers but without improvement from the whole team around him those dollars being paid will just drag us further into trouble

TruSaint

I hope he takes the deal. I also hope he runs harder and is more selective with his offloads. He's a good player that pumps out big stat numbers but without improvement from the whole team around him those dollars being paid will just drag us further into trouble

Mate, yes indeed, he needs to earn that IMHO.
Talented, yes.
Not bad money.
If 800k is out there, good luck.

Highland Saint

I know its flogging a dead horse but I just can't stomach the fact that other clubs TPA's dictate how much we have to pay to retain a local junior. As others have said its our own clubs fault for not being part of the scam but the fact that an unbalanced mechanism has been introduced stinks.

TruSaint

I know its flogging a dead horse but I just can't stomach the fact that other clubs TPA's dictate how much we have to pay to retain a local junior. As others have said its our own clubs fault for not being part of the scam but the fact that an unbalanced mechanism has been introduced stinks.

It does, but its there.
Until the NRL gets real on these rorts, we will always be second string with $$$.

mickeylane

Is he a prop or a lock??

SOO say Prop - Dragons coaching say Lock.

If he's a lock he's not worth $600K if he's a prop for us he's Still not worth $600K...if he wasnt a junior would we be paying $600K to retain him?

My view is that hes worth $1.5m over 3 years max!! If Matulino, Kasiano are out there go get them now !! Benji said something quite interesting about Packer...he said he was a GRUB as soon as he stepped over that white line....meaning he rolls his sleeves up, he intimidates teams, he gets in and gets dirty he inspires his team mates...

Merin does none of the above!! Im sorry but he doesnt and when he does it may be 3-4 games a year.. not week in and week out.

Give me a forward pack of Matulino, Packer, Kasiano, Thompson, Frizzell any day!! Im pretty sure Duges, Benji, Widdup, Neilsen, Nightingale would love the space these boppers would create for them..

TruSaint

I hope Merrn re-signing doesnt prevent us chasing Matulino...

Interesting thing BV, is that he hasn't re-signed.
The offer is there.
If we pay overs, at the opportunity cost you mentioned, it would be a big mistake.

rainman44

I hope Merrn re-signing doesnt prevent us chasing Matulino...
With Creagh gone after next year and Hunt being closer to the end of his contract and with lots of players going to be off contract i reckon he still will be a chance as Packer looks like good bait. Fingers crossed.

Matulino isn't going anywhere near the dragons - will extend with the Warriors before April. You should be more worried Merrin taking this deal.

Get2dachopper!

Is he a prop or a lock??

SOO say Prop - Dragons coaching say Lock.

If he's a lock he's not worth $600K if he's a prop for us he's Still not worth $600K...if he wasnt a junior would we be paying $600K to retain him?

My view is that hes worth $1.5m over 3 years max!! If Matulino, Kasiano are out there go get them now !! Benji said something quite interesting about Packer...he said he was a GRUB as soon as he stepped over that white line....meaning he rolls his sleeves up, he intimidates teams, he gets in and gets dirty he inspires his team mates...

Merin does none of the above!! Im sorry but he doesnt and when he does it may be 3-4 games a year.. not week in and week out.

Give me a forward pack of Matulino, Packer, Kasiano, Thompson, Frizzell any day!! Im pretty sure Duges, Benji, Widdup, Neilsen, Nightingale would love the space these boppers would create for them..

Merrin is playing lock because of Ben creagh. We dont want him in the second row anymore. We can't bench our captain. And you can't have a starting front row of creagh and Merrin, zilch intimidation. So that means that someone like packer or kasiano, FPN, someone who will intimidate, needs to start in the front row with creagh. So yes, Merrin, until at least creagh retires, will be playing lock again next year. Is he worth 600k per year? Maybe not, but from a pyschological point of view, all stakeholders involved with the club could not stomach cant't losing another high profile junior. He needs to be retained.

BennyV

With Creagh gone after next year and Hunt being closer to the end of his contract and with lots of players going to be off contract i reckon he still will be a chance as Packer looks like good bait. Fingers crossed.

Come again soldier?

rasaint

Trent is a good footballer but not worth $600k. $450 tops. Please no more overs. Is it possible that we have a 3 rd party deal wrapped in this? Might explain things.

TheRev

Yeah $600k is big overs, Id bet the Dogs are paying their 2 aussie rep forwards about that much combined in Klemmer/Jackson.

But.. once again.. were in a dark place as a club, we need to get out of it.. oh and id also prefer a 2yr deal for Merrin, esp on that sort of figure.

Highland Saint

Come again soldier?

Someone in JA had a throwaway line about their mail saying no more Flo or Captain Blood after 2015. Since then we've seen a newspaper article saying Flo will sign an extension so no idea how good that guys mail is