Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Record breaking deal for Merrin.

TruSaint

Someone in JA had a throwaway line about their mail saying no more Flo or Captain Blood after 2015. Since then we've seen a newspaper article saying Flo will sign an extension so no idea how good that guys mail is

HS, Flo aint going anywhere bro.
He will sign his final footy contract with us.

What the Club needed is a cleanout of overpaid, under-performing players and a clean out of incompetent administration. The Dragons squad has seen a partial clean out which should be completed for season 2016 however, the administration seems to be entrenched, showing no signs of accepting responsibility or accountability for the mess the Club has found itself in.

No doubt Merrin has worked hard to build his reputation as one of our most effective forwards over the past few years. To realise the benefits of his talent, the Dragons need about 4 good props who are capable of dominating opposition packs. The trick is finding such talent at the right price.

Creagh, Packer, Kasiano and just one of our potential props could form a foundation that transforms our pack of forwards in 2015. If Kasiano is not available or not interested in joining the Dragons, it will make the job a lot more difficult. In my opinion Cooper is solid, Ah Mau is a plodder and Hunt has a lot to prove before he earns a spot in our first grade side. And although De Belin can play at prop, I believe he is a back row forward at this stage in his development. Good off the bench in rotation with the back row.

I believe a back row combination of Thompson, Frizell and Merrin could be very effective if the guys a front were tough, brutal and uncompromising. So for season 2015, it will be a matter of putting our 4 best props on the paddock each week hoping that all four will step up considerably.

In season 2015, I'd like to see players being selected on form rather than reputation.

Cagey Mac

Those of you who are already aware, please pardon the comment.

There's an interesting psychological aspect that comes into play here.

The amygdala which among other things, affects our emotions regarding potential loss.

Though a primitive part of the brain it is around 5 or 6 times more influential than the cerebral cortex which is a, later developed area which controls decision making at a higher level and comes into play when analysing potential gains.

The thought of losing a player affects fans and even management far more emotionally than does the prospect of acquisition of a new and perhaps even better prospect.

A bidding war exacerbates the problem because we doubt our judgment as to the value of the player in question.

It should be taken into account too that moving house from one area to another is also damned expensive.

I reckon the Merrin offer, if accurate is overs but in the ballpark so fair enough.

hardbaby

We are close to building a formidable pack. Surely you would base it around Merrin. You can get by with some younger, cheaper players like Aitken, Runciman etc out wide. But we need that pack.

hazzbeen

Is he a prop or a lock??

SOO say Prop - Dragons coaching say Lock.

If he's a lock he's not worth $600K if he's a prop for us he's Still not worth $600K...if he wasnt a junior would we be paying $600K to retain him?

My view is that hes worth $1.5m over 3 years max!! If Matulino, Kasiano are out there go get them now !! Benji said something quite interesting about Packer...he said he was a GRUB as soon as he stepped over that white line....meaning he rolls his sleeves up, he intimidates teams, he gets in and gets dirty he inspires his team mates...

Merin does none of the above!! Im sorry but he doesnt and when he does it may be 3-4 games a year.. not week in and week out.

Give me a forward pack of Matulino, Packer, Kasiano, Thompson, Frizzell any day!! Im pretty sure Duges, Benji, Widdup, Neilsen, Nightingale would love the space these boppers would create for them..

Agree a good player but like you said not enough GRUB , MONGREL......

Heavy D

Is he a prop or a lock??

SOO say Prop - Dragons coaching say Lock.

If he's a lock he's not worth $600K if he's a prop for us he's Still not worth $600K...if he wasnt a junior would we be paying $600K to retain him?

My view is that hes worth $1.5m over 3 years max!! If Matulino, Kasiano are out there go get them now !! Benji said something quite interesting about Packer...he said he was a GRUB as soon as he stepped over that white line....meaning he rolls his sleeves up, he intimidates teams, he gets in and gets dirty he inspires his team mates...

Merin does none of the above!! Im sorry but he doesnt and when he does it may be 3-4 games a year.. not week in and week out.

Give me a forward pack of Matulino, Packer, Kasiano, Thompson, Frizzell any day!! Im pretty sure Duges, Benji, Widdup, Neilsen, Nightingale would love the space these boppers would create for them..

x3

RedVee

Someone in JA had a throwaway line about their mail saying no more Flo or Captain Blood after 2015. Since then we've seen a newspaper article saying Flo will sign an extension so no idea how good that guys mail is

Yeah me.
I was talking to a manager albeit not the manager of Flo or Ben. He suggested a 2015 clean out, I said yep that's why all the cheap signings are for 1 year. He agreed but volunteered it would be more than just moving those guys in and out in a year and volunteered that 2015 would be the last year for those two as well.

I hope not, btw. Two of my favourites.

pinkmoon

He is worth half that (800k a year).

Cooper Cronk is on 625k a year and Merrin wants 800k?! hahahaha what a joke.

Highland Saint

Yeah me.
I was talking to a manager albeit not the manager of Flo or Ben. He suggested a 2015 clean out, I said yep that's why all the cheap signings are for 1 year. He agreed but volunteered it would be more than just moving those guys in and out in a year and volunteered that 2015 would be the last year for those two as well.

I hope not, btw. Two of my favourites.

Cheers for clarifying mate

getsmarty

We simply cannot compete with the likes of the Roosters/Bulldogs/Souths/Broncos and their 3rd party deals. Merrin is a keeper for mine as long as its no more than 600K per season.

TonyT6

He is worth half that (800k a year).

Cooper Cronk is on 625k a year and Merrin wants 800k?! hahahaha what a joke.

We offered Cronk $800k and he stayed at the Storm, tell me where in the article does it quote Merrin saying he wants $800k?

Knowing Dan Hunts on $450k, would you still only pay Merrin $400k?

TruSaint

We offered Cronk $800k and he stayed at the Storm, tell me where in the article does it quote Merrin saying he wants $800k?

There has been speculation he could command $800,000 a season from rival clubs ? better than the Dragons? offer ? and that Brisbane and the Sydney Roosters are already circling.

Speculation yes, ...

Dragon66

I don't think anybody really believes Dan Hunt is worth $450k. Not sure what kind of drugs Pricey was on when he made that decision but in any other business that would have been a sackable offence.

Having said that I hope that he can regain his form of 2010 and helps lead the charge next year.
He certainly looks fit in the training photos. And at 106kg he's not small.

Not sure what the should offer Merin but Cronk IS worth $800k.

TonyT6

I don't think anybody really believes Dan Hunt is worth $450k. Not sure what kind of drugs Pricey was on when he made that decision but in any other business that would have been a sackable offence.

Having said that I hope that he can regain his form of 2010 and helps lead the charge next year.

Price had absolutely no input into how much players were paid, totally Doust & Young

Dragon66

What type of drugs do you think they were on? Crownie Gold! I still think it's a sackable offence. One down.

TruSaint

Problem is D66, his form 2-3 years ago "indicated" a good commercial risk. Hunt , that is. Watched some highlights in his freshman years and he looked the goods. Big, fast , mobile, etc.

His illness and injury have rendered him a liability at present.

Trent Mez was talked about as the next big thing as well. Great player and I want him to stay, but on 2014 form anything over 600k would be crazy.

pinkmoon

in the article.

I wouldn't pay him peanuts, he is so overrated. I've never seen him put the ball under his arm and run straight and hard, then get up and play the ball and get ready to do it all over again. He is not my cup of tea as a footballer at all; he looks good because we have the softest pack in the competition. I find him frustrating to watch, all the dicking around he does. He only plays well against weak opposition too. I haven't seen him stand up against a raging pack and turn the momentum of a game, so how he can be considered worth anywhere near 800k is ludicrous. But hey that's just me, no one has to like it!