Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Redneck Redfaces

woodyk2

Gidley to halfback means Benny is going to try a Dragons repeat, the Knights will try to make do with a #7 that can supply little more
than inspiration which means defend and wait for an opportunity. If Tyrone Roberts is part of his plans as he says maybe it's at 5/8.
If he can pull off a pissant cup win with the Knights without a playmaker as he did with the Dragons it will be even more spectacular
because it will be against 15, not 14.

Think everyone knew that Carty was looking to Sezer to replace Prince, the other halves are to make up the numbers. Aidan will be
expected to make the moves and there will be cramps from fingers crossed while he tries. Titans' games could be anything in '13,
good luck to them.

Luke Lewis shouldn't be looked upon by the Sharks as anything more than a guest. As an accident waiting to happen he has always
been one of the greatest part timers the game has seen, along with players such as Justin Hodges and Brent Tate, it is a mistake to
take a full season for granted
Would you class Gidley as a part timer?I would.

POPEYE

Would you class Gidley as a part timer?I would.

Some players are part timers because they're injury prone and some because they become too heavily involved.
Gidley needs to be more careful picking his runs, but if he was that smart he would be a decent halfback

POPEYE

Well which is it, Rothfield says the Club Council is about to cast a no confidence vote in the ARLC and the Club Council says that's bullshit,
I don't who to believe anymore . . . as if.

Luke Walsh stays and Harry Siejka goes. A very ordinary halfback versus a very promising halfback, on paper anyway . . . can anyone fill
in the bit I don't know about. Even if Walsh improves how many up and coming halves do they have in reserve.

When you think about it maybe Grant is right. A conversation between Stuart and Folau probably should have started with "Izzy, you've
been out of the game so why don't we give you a season on 250k while we build a new team and you get back in the groove". Then, if as
is expected, Parramatta would have some idea of his worth and what to do about it in '14.

POPEYE

Didn't take as long as I thought it would for the Melbourne stance on the salary cap to bite home. Their methods may have been
against the rules but they were always righteous because the Storm had the right to pay players they nurtured what they deserved.
Common sense dictates that if young players see a club reward what they are trying to accomplish then their endeavour will
increase accordingly.

Hard to argue that because of Australia's population we can't have players acting like mercenaries and freelancing to the
highest bidder but if clubs aren't allowed to reward loyalty, and themselves at the same time, they all will rely on just poaching.
No-one has the right to deny one-club players anything let alone a player who has left a club which has shown not enough interest
to become a champion at another.

Jamie Lyon has been the best centre in the game for most of his career and should have been allowed to be paid whatever the
Eels could have afforded, forgetting a shit coach drove him away, and should still be at Parramatta. The Dogs miscued with
Thurston but the Cowboys took a chance and should be allowed to pay him whatever they want now that everyone's chasing him.
A salary cap should be in place to prevent poaching and not inhibit the rewards for excellence.

soc123_au

Luke Walsh stays and Harry Siejka goes. A very ordinary halfback versus a very promising halfback, on paper anyway . . . can anyone fill
in the bit I don't know about. Even if Walsh improves how many up and coming halves do they have in reserve.

This is a strange situation. It seems like we have grooming him as the second coming of Brandy since he came out of the womb. Maybe Tom Humble is the new Messiah & was a victim of poor coaching at the Eels & Tigers...

POPEYE

This is a strange situation. It seems like we have grooming him as the second coming of Brandy since he came out of the womb. Maybe Tom Humble is the new Messiah & was a victim of poor coaching at the Eels & Tigers...

You're probably right, the Eels specialise in losing good players and the Tigers only have eyes for Benji, so Humble
may be the apple in Cleary's eye. One way or another '13 is going to be a whole new ball game for Penrith

Ronnie Dobbs

You're probably right, the Eels specialise in losing good players and the Tigers only have eyes for Benji, so Humble
may be the apple in Cleary's eye. One way or another '13 is going to be a whole new ball game for Penrith

I predict that there will be 26 weeks of whole new ball games in 2013. For every club.

I don't know if I can handle it.

Advice?

soc123_au

I know Gus was wetting his pants over Humble in the NSW Cup GF. I liked the look of him in his first few games for Parra. I didnt see much of him last year so have no idea really if he has progressed. Just because you cant get a run in a Sheens coached side doesnt necessarily mean much though.

It will be interesting to see if young Harry lives up to to the hype that has surrounded him during his time at Penrith. I dont think he will be as big a loss as Wade Graham was, that one still burns..

POPEYE

'Ken Arthurson accuses NRL players of putting cash before the good of the game'. There's a statement that would have long time
Souths', Easts' and Wests' supporters pissing themselves with laughter. If there ever was a bloke who thinks League supporters
are just blue collar meatheads Arko is the man.

Looks like I can give up trying to lambast Rothfield, seems I might be accused of ridiculing the handicapped if Jabba's column in
the Herald is accurate. He distances himself from anyone being negative about the Commission and even intimates poor Phil to
be scurrilous. Gould may be covering his arse as any good club CEO would but there appears to be little camaraderie between
him and the journo waging a one man war on a factitious enemy.

Oops! Almost forgot Norths and Arko . . . who can forget Cliffy Lyons

POPEYE

Not long before we find out if all the Sandow revelations come to fruition. Stuart is going to improve his game out of sight
because he was a champion halfback and they're definitely the best people to coach another half. Chris is now going to
concentrate on running toward the posts instead of the touchies. His team are all mates now and getting up each other will
cause the birth of previously unheard of cohesion. Maybe by the end of '13 Sandow will be worth a million a season.

You there soc? Has your prize centre taken that pay cut Jabba tried to enforce, or is Masoe another willing to play for a
lick and a promise. I'm all for trying before you buy, more players should prove themselves before they put their hands out

soc123_au

I am here old mate. Jabba & Jennings are probably sharing a quiet chuckle right now. I think all of the salary cap bullshit at Penrith is smoke and mirrors. In saying that, my favorite centre is probably on more coin than he should be. Who is the ass though, him for taking the cash on offer or the dickhead that opened the vault? If we ever get a better than adequate halfback then we may see the value.

The Mosoe signing is interesting. He seemed to have a bit of a following at the Roosters, but cause he is good or is bit of a cult hero enigma type? I don't know. A bit like Fui Fui when at the Rabbits, average player with a funny name. I hope Mosoe can do at Penrith what Fui did when he arrived at the Eels.

POPEYE

Not trying to be facetious, but if ol' mate 'Shoe' rocked up an put his price on all the new Panthers surely MJ would have no
choice but to take a pay cut. If Jabba has convinced all the new signings to prove their worth for a season before showing
them the money I'm all for it. Works for Bellamy so who's going to argue

soc123_au

I reckon his next offer will be substantially less. Even if he does show what he is capable of. The old guard has gone & hopefully we don't see that type of stupidity again.

POPEYE

I read in confirmed signings that the Penrith pack will be one of the weakest around so maybe I'm wrong about a whole new ball
game in '13 for the Panthers. Wouldn't surprise, I'm a poor judge of a good footy team, still imo they look powerful.

Great to be needed. Ferguson is at the start of what could be a great career and Monaghan at the end of his. One plays up in public
and the other where he thought he was amongst friends. One given the smack he deserves and the other ostracised. Just about as
smart as waiting for Campese's second coming.

It's a relief that when I read of new talent being given a chance at the Roosters maybe it will be talent not wasted. Can't wait for
'13 if only to see how the club will handle competent coaching for the first time since Graham Murray. Seems Bondi is as popular
as ever for ex-patriot NZ'ers and there's nothing wrong with that if they're not disillusioned.

POPEYE

All the buzz around Luke Keary prompts the question, who else do they need. Not even Melbourne, who make do without big name forwards,
could match Souths on paper if they had a scheming 5/8. So, the script reads Keary replacing Sutton as soon as possible, a half who had a
hand in 50 tries in NYC shouldn't have any trouble with the conversion especially with all those big boppers to protect him.

Sika Manu shouldn't have the difficulty performing for Penrith that Blair did for the Tigers, Cleary won't make the mistake of expecting a player
to take on a role he wasn't trained to do. The Storm's doctrine of letting good players move before they're pushed is advantageous to all parties
involved and astute rotation is a major key to success. Sika was showing signs of wear and tear but the Panthers haven't been sold a dud.

Good to hear Mead will be at least a 7 year veteran for the Titans, something special about one club players. Adds to a bloke's resume when he
can boast about loyalty, Steve Menzies for instance will be remembered for it every bit as much as for his talent.

POPEYE

Noddy going to share his wisdom with the Raiders is a great idea if Sandow is right, send a half to find a half. Might get the biased
twerp off television a bit more and if his coaching talent is half as good as he thinks it is Furner might have the area he is least
familiar with covered. Good move imo, Stuart should have been given to Kearney as an assistant.

Hasler says he was to blame for the loss in the pissant cup because his team wasn't as focussed as he could have made them.
Aside from the fact one game proves f**k all after a gruelling season the Dogs would lose eight out of ten against a full strength
Storm. When they poach an established playmaker it might be a different story.

Thought there was something missing . . . can usually tell when it's Monday by all the Buzzing but it's gone quiet.

POPEYE

Everyone was waiting to see who would crack first in a bid to to assert who controls the face of the game, a delusional group
of journos or the chairman of the ARLC. Journos have the advantage because they can promote and brainwash on a daily
basis as can be seen by ridiculous polling results.

Grant is slowly but surely making us all come to realise he is a man on a mission, one which he was hired to accomplish, and he
won't be deterred by bottom feeders or even the most important people in the game, the players. He could put himself on a
pedestal by agreeing in part to demands from all and sundry but he is clearly guided by a much more substantial long term plan.

Imo the basic needs of the game are firstly to see all players and coaches rewarded adequately for their efforts, secondly all
clubs guided to instill a culture that premotes self determination in their success an lastly as a result take the game away from
people who's agendas have no consideration of it's longevity.

Ronnie Dobbs

Everyone was waiting to see who would crack first in a bid to to assert who controls the face of the game, a delusional group
of journos or the chairman of the ARLC. Journos have the advantage because they can promote and brainwash on a daily
basis as can be seen by ridiculous polling results.

Grant is slowly but surely making us all come to realise he is a man on a mission, one which he was hired to accomplish, and he
won't be deterred by bottom feeders or even the most important people in the game, the players. He could put himself on a
pedestal by agreeing in part to demands from all and sundry but he is clearly guided by a much more substantial long term plan.

Imo the basic needs of the game are firstly to see all players and coaches rewarded adequately for their efforts, secondly all
clubs guided to instill a culture that premotes self determination in their success an lastly as a result take the game away from
people who's agendas have no consideration of it's longevity.

That is a very good post.

POPEYE

There's a lot of hype about picking players to fill representative teams in order to have all positions filled by on-paper best players.
Provided the coaching staff is up to it that is not necessarily the best option. A staunch supporter of any of the top performing clubs
could easily argue their team could match any representative team with just a few alterations.

Cohesion is just as important as talent, a team without either no matter it's makeup can't succeed. As an exercise imagine trying to
beat Manly with only Cameron Smith, Tamou and Gallen added. The Cowboys with only Smith, Chambers and Cronk would defy the
best rep team to beat them. Storm with Glen Stewart, Tamou and Jamie Lyon would rattle any team made up of the rest.

A basic culture, understanding, camaraderie or any equivalent description of something hard to define but nevertheless extremely
tangible that drives the top club sides week after week being complemented by just a few champions would be harder to beat than
a concoction of 17 champions thrown together occasionally.