Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rnd 6 vs Raiders - Team List Tuesday - The Papalii Papali'i Cup

Experience is a word bandied about too much without meaning when it comes to composure.

Composure is about belief in your systems and you and your team mates ability to do their job. Belief comes from experience of that being the case, when your experience is of it falling apart, you get doubt, doubt overcomes belief, and you lose composure.

That's why success breeds success. And failure breeds failure

And that's a hard slog because to get to that point, you have to have success in spite of failure.

I reckon that's where we are right now, in the hard slog, and I think we are getting there.

Is it not logical to say that experience in several different situations helps develop composure, as it enables one to see instances from different angles, and develop plans accordingly?

If the term "experience" gets bandied around so much, it's most likely because the Eels' lack of experience (particularly when talking about Finals matches) has been evident for quite some time.

1. I’ve never blamed BA for the hoodoo. I said it’s a big test if he can get us up for this game. I actually agree and been saying for a long time BA can’t get us ready for games that matter.

2. I don’t buy it’s the cold and wind effecting us. We’ve been losing there for far too long. Surely there’s been a day where the weather was fine.

3. We seemed to handle travelling in 2020 just fine.

"Fine" weather in Canberra means something completely different than it does in Sydney.

Just because the sun is out, it doesn't mean that it's a "nice" day.

Canberra is notorious for being sunny, and having a chill in the air that bites.

Why can the team travel to Brisbane, or New Zealand, and win footy games, but struggle in Canberra?

I dare say nobody can tell for sure; however, out of all the destinations that the Eels may have to travel to in a given season, Canberra stands out as the outlier, in terms of its weather.

And I'm not sure that 2020 is a great example for demonstrating that the team travelled fairly well, what with it being affected by Covid and all.

This losing record in Canberra extends for a long, long time - it can't be the coaching, and it can't be the players, as they have changed significantly over the years.

So, what's the answer?

Like I said - it's unlikely we will ever know.

But the best educated guess we can make would be to deduce that we do not like the weather down there; combined with an extended lean period of success, which has helped to further perpetuate the hoodoo, we have a real issue on our hands.

I think there is a distinct difference between rainy weather, and chilly weather.

Canberra has a cold that can eat right through your clothing, to your bones; it is different to simply wet weather.

Every kid who grew up playing footy in Sydney has played footy in the wet; but I'd be surprised if many have played in the icy conditions of Canberra, while playing in Sydney.

Bandwagon

Is it not logical to say that experience in several different situations helps develop composure, as it enables one to see instances from different angles, and develop plans accordingly?

Yes it is,

If the term "experience" gets bandied around so much, it's most likely because the Eels' lack of experience (particularly when talking about Finals matches) has been evident for quite some time.

Yes it has.

That's all part of what I was trying to say, perhaps poorly.

If we measure experience solely in terms of the number of games played ( which we do ) we don't differentiate between good or bad experience. I mean other than learning that they probably shoulda made better life choices, what benefit are say players at the dogs gaining from each game worth of experience they're collecting right now?

So it's not just experience that's important, it's the type of experience as well.

What if we come out firing the week after the Canberra game?
Against the Donkey’s??? Will just show even more we are flat track bullies. The Dragons have shown everyone else how to beat us. Play physical, through the middle and get up in our faces in defence. Besides Papa and Nrown pretty much the rest of the pack disappeared that first half. I have no doubt Ricky will have his big pack playing exactly the same way Saturday night.

Yes it is,

Yes it has.

That's all part of what I was trying to say, perhaps poorly.

If we measure experience solely in terms of the number of games played ( which we do ) we don't differentiate between good or bad experience. I mean other than learning that they probably shoulda made better life choices, what benefit are say players at the dogs gaining from each game worth of experience they're collecting right now?

So it's not just experience that's important, it's the type of experience as well.

I agree, mate.

You make great points.

Against the Donkey’s??? Will just show even more we are flat track bullies. The Dragons have shown everyone else how to beat us. Play physical, through the middle and get up in our faces in defence. Besides Papa and Nrown pretty much the rest of the pack disappeared that first half. I have no doubt Ricky will have his big pack playing exactly the same way Saturday night.

That's true, mate - but for some reason, the team didn't get off the bus against the Dragons.

I reckon that had we fought fire with fire (our greatest strength is our pack, after all), we may have made a contest of it.

I had to use a tube of ANUSOL during Easter stint. I was working 12hr days. 12days straight. A bit too much chilli and a sweaty anus along with ladder climbs just was not pleasant. The anus chaffed. Lucky I had a tube of anusol at home just incase.
<stabs eyes with a pen>

84 Baby

The Dragons have shown everyone else how to beat us. Play physical, through the middle and get up in our faces in defence.
No they didn’t. Gould was harping on that was the way to beat us all of last season. And yet somehow we wound up with a winning record. BECAUSE THATS HOW GOOD TEAMS PLAY AGAINST EVERYONE FFS!!!
How often does the team with the game plan of play softly, go round the edges and be lazy in defence win?

No they didn’t. Gould was harping on that was the way to beat us all of last season. And yet somehow we wound up with a winning record. BECAUSE THATS HOW GOOD TEAMS PLAY AGAINST EVERYONE FFS!!!
How often does the team with the game plan of play softly, go round the edges and be lazy in defence win?

Well don't keep me hanging. Answer the question.

How many teams have the pack to go through us?? The Storm, Roosters, Penrith and probably Canberra. I wouldn’t of though Saints did until Sunday night. But they did, winding up with a winning record in this competition is hardly anything to get excited about. The comp gets weaker every year but somehow we are going to find another 30 players for another side. And it’s amazing that the game plan go softly, go around the edges and be lazy in defence happens quite a bit, especially when another side puts it on us..........

I never said the season will be over. I said we’re making up numbers. We could make the 8 and still be making up the numbers

He has also attacked me a few times 84 baby. But I enjoy the banter. And I reckon most the time I deserve it also. But I still tell him to f**k off cause I am a merkin

What if we come out firing the week after that?

How many teams have the pack to go through us?? The Storm, Roosters, Penrith and probably Canberra. I wouldn’t of though Saints did until Sunday night. But they did, winding up with a winning record in this competition is hardly anything to get excited about. The comp gets weaker every year but somehow we are going to find another 30 players for another side. And it’s amazing that the game plan go softly, go around the edges and be lazy in defence happens quite a bit, especially when another side puts it on us..........
I don’t see a lack of effort in those instances. They just play dumb and lack composure.