But not to worry... I mean when was the last time we went into a match with a ball-playing halfback?I'm all for being surprised - it's just that he's never shown any ability as a ball-playing halfback.
You've gotta love that quote:
"I want first crack at halfback"
Mate, I'D love to play halfback for the Tigers. Problem is, I don't have anywhere near enough ability to do it. Neither do you.
He has all the talent in the world and will recieve rookie of the year noms this season.
So will I.
What's with the whole "oh we won heaps with Moltzen at half thing"?
Did you guys pay any attention to who we played and at what stage of the year (the same time we always win, when everyone is taking a break in the lead up to the business end)? Let alone their performances on the day? The only time we were ever tested was for a few minutes when Watmough started having a crack by himself and almost did us in single handedly. A few of us said a week or two into the run that we'd win until we played Parra (a good team) when we'd be shown up regardless of how well we played.
By the same logic Danny Galea should be starting for us still ahead of Heighno (something that wouldn't disappoint me, I must admit)
What's with the whole "oh we won heaps with Moltzen at half thing"?
Did you guys pay any attention to who we played and at what stage of the year (the same time we always win, when everyone is taking a break in the lead up to the business end)? Let alone their performances on the day? The only time we were ever tested was for a few minutes when Watmough started having a crack by himself and almost did us in single handedly. A few of us said a week or two into the run that we'd win until we played Parra (a good team) when we'd be shown up regardless of how well we played.
By the same logic Danny Galea should be starting for us still ahead of Heighno (something that wouldn't disappoint me, I must admit)
What you say has some merit, but winning form is good form, you can only beat what`s put in front of you. Moltzen like Lui is definately not a natural halfback, but they both have a touch of class about their attacking play and I belive either one of them can be transformed into a top class halfback just as Scott Prince was. After all how many natural top class halfbacks are ther running around these days ??? It`s a bit of a dying breed unfortunately as the junior reps are now dominated by big, strong, powerfull polynesians who don`t need anyone to put them into a hole they just get the ball and streamroll the opposition which is all well and good until they reach first grade where plenty of them drop off through not having a great deal of skill. Not all, but the majority are like this and the coaches of the junior reps want to win to boost their credentials like anyone else, therefore they don`t care too much about a natural halfback these days !!!
A few of us said a week or two into the run that we'd win until we played Parra (a good team) when we'd be shown up regardless of how well we played.
ahh it was 4 tries all and we lost both our wingers in the first 20 minutes. i hardly see how this is being 'shown up'
also if a certain brain dead prop hadnt have given away an 8 point try then it would have been all locked up with 10 to go
Come on mate - I was sat there watching it already deciding what to do with my winnings on the punt. I've watched the club pull the same stunt that many times before you know what's going to happen. We were just never a realistic chance of going on with it. We played very well - our best even - but it wasn't good enough without a halfback to seal the deal. Or a fullback for that matter.
Totally agree Westie,and also agree on Gibbs,he does a mountain of work to cover for others who bludge or can't cut it.It was my favourite match of the season. But Parra had firepower we just couldn't call on. When push came to shove, they lit the fuse and we were left standing under the posts. Benji put on what I think is the best thing i've ever seen on a footy field... but he was doing it alone. Which is the point of this thread. Lui and Moltzen just couldn't get up to speed.
There are blokes older than him ? :sarcasm:
:lol: Post of the year...already!!!!! had me pi$$ing myself. Got to agree, mate he looks like he's 40 married and has 5 teenage girls.....hahaha.
Great post mate.