Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Robson desperate to stay an Eel

Robo (or Jeffo to his mates) is in a hiding to nothing, he'll be the first to be slammed and ridiculed (with Lowrie) after our next loss whilst everyone else will be spared the abuse...

in terms of value, he's probably the best performer at the club but I guess in the scheme of things that doesn't really matter.

yy_cheng

Robo (or Jeffo to his mates) is in a hiding to nothing, he'll be the first to be slammed and ridiculed (with Lowrie) after our next loss whilst everyone else will be spared the abuse...

in terms of value, he's probably the best performer at the club but I guess in the scheme of things that doesn't really matter.

Nope I'd say Jarryd. Although he is on alot.

We are getting great value out of him.

Nope I'd say Jarryd. Although he is on alot.

We are getting great value out of him.

well he's one of the highest paid players at the club and has in the past few months played to his worth...Robo on the otherhand is on 50K and people still expect Thurston like performances from him.

Hayne has simply (finally?) been giving us a return on investment for most of this season... I don't think he's giving us value added, since his contract is already quite high.

Robson on the other hand at 54K or whatever has given us double the value imo. With Finch spitting the dummy, and KK and Mateo injured, we'd be f**ked if Robson wasn't around. And Albert Kelly is a myth...

And Lowrie sometimes deserves some flack, for when the attacking movement or momentum breaks down in his hands. Robson is better value than Lowrie, even if they both turn in a bad game. Of the two I'd rather re-sign Robson as a prioity.

Hayne has simply (finally?) been giving us a return on investment for most of this season... I don't think he's giving us value added, since his contract is already quite high.

Robson on the other hand at 54K or whatever has given us double the value imo. With Finch spitting the dummy, and KK and Mateo injured, we'd be f**ked if Robson wasn't around.

And Lowrie sometimes deserves some flack, for when the attacking movement or momentum breaks down in his hands. Robson is better value than Lowrie, even if they both turn in a bad game. Of the two I'd rather re-sign Robson as a prioity.

I reckon Robson could do well as a lock. Needs to put on about 5kg in the off season.

Yep, an old style nuggetty tackling lock, with a few extra skills.

If Mateo prefers five eighth (and he loses some kgs) then we could have a good swap, with KKeating/Mortimer at 7/14.

yy_cheng

Barty, for me, not saying that we are doing that well on the table but without Hayne, we would be probably alot further down the table.

Even though we are where we are, it brings up team moral and a brighter future for the players, coaching staff and all involved.

Other off the ball value that Hayne brings includes : Possibly higher gates sales, possible sponsors, other players (I recall he had a word in Poore's ears at SOO), sales of the #1 jersey, better media response, more Parra games on TV which is good for Pirtek, inspiring others such as INU, etc

If Robbo was not in the team, what he has contributed would go unnoticed.

I know, I wouldn't pay to watch robbo.

This is not an attack on the man. He does bring value but not all the intangible values that Hayne brings.

yy_cheng

IMO he was like that for his entire centre career, but towards the end of it he was playing well and beating the man more often than not...

Not only beating the man, he would pass to INU !!!

INU has to learn to use Burt and not be so selfish as Tahu did.

Gasnier went himself alot, be he also knew how to use his wingman.

Barty, for me, not saying that we are doing that well on the table but without Hayne, we would be probably alot further down the table.

Even though we are where we are, it brings up team moral and a brighter future for the players, coaching staff and all involved.

Other off the ball value that Hayne brings includes : Possibly higher gates sales, possible sponsors, other players (I recall he had a word in Poore's ears at SOO), sales of the #1 jersey, better media response, more Parra games on TV which is good for Pirtek, inspiring others such as INU, etc
Fair enough. Was only thinking of on field play etc, not the added extras.

This is not an attack on the man. He does bring value but not all the intangible values that Hayne brings.
Yep, he doesn't have the flair that people pay for or notice, that's for sure. But he is underrated/undervalued imo, while Hayne's value benefits from a fair bit of media/commentator hype.

I do believe Hayne has given us more value off the field than he has in previous years, Hindy used to be our "go to" man in advertising and marketing campaigns but this kid has the potential to bring it to a new level, especially when the club finally begins it's membership drive in the future.

sorry mate, I only just noticed this post before i made my last one...fully agree.

Utey

I do believe Hayne has given us more value off the field than he has in previous years, Hindy used to be our "go to" man in advertising and marketing campaigns but this kid has the potential to bring it to a new level, especially when the club finally begins it's membership drive in the future.

Any idea when this will be? (in regards to combining Footy club and leagues club membership)

Casper The Ghost

Im lost in this thread, have we signed someone or re-signed someone?

Yep Ian, Kimmorley, Pearse, Marshall, Soward, Prince, Thurston & Orford have been given immediate releases from their respective clubs. They have all agreed to become the Eels 3rd tier halfbacks behind KK, DM & GR.

Also Brett Finch
0,5001,6571998,00.jpg

has been released by the Storm and has agreed to become the Eels 10th tier halfback or 5/8 playing with the over 60's.

The Reason for these sudden player movements???

Paul Osborne!!!!!!.......
492845-paul-osborne.jpg

everyone wants to play for Paul Osborne.

Stay tuned because soon Paul Osborne as both their CEO & player manager, will announce to the global media that he has signed up all NRL and ESL players and has put in place a new rugby league competition that will sweep the earth. The Center of this new global game called "Love" With A Bit Of Bash And Biff, will be Parramatta Stadium and the Eels Leagues Club. Paul will be known by everyone as "The Messiah".

:lol::lol:

Booooooooooo Casper:lol: