Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rock is dead

Eelementary said:
They're good, eh! I love those guys.

Also pretty fond of DragonForce. Kirk Hammett reportedly described them as the fastest guitar players he's ever seen.
they're about the fastest i've seen.. previous fastest would probably be children of bodom.

my music taste has somewhat mellowed out over the years.. heaps into progressive stuff these days.. and other technical sh*t.
shadow gallery, dream theater, avenged sevenfold, shadows fall and tool cover a great deal of my regular playlist.

CC_Eagle

ledzep said:
If you want to listen to some very good new rock, check out "The Answer"

F*ck yes.

Saw them twice earlier this year, opening for Eagles Of Death Metal and their own sideshow at the Annandale.

Ron, you MUST have this CD.

The Answer - Rise.

CC_Eagle said:
F*ck yes.

Saw them twice earlier this year, opening for Eagles Of Death Metal and their own sideshow at the Annandale.

The Answer - Rise.

Saw them on Channel [V] the other day. They reminded me of AC/DC - which is not a bad thing at all.

Unless I'm thinking about someone else altogether.

HevyDevy

Mong said:
I am surprised you like Lateralus but not 10000 days.. I find them to be very similar albums.

I had the opposite with 10000 days.. I was forcing myself to stop listening to it so i could have a listen to the older stuff. I love undertow but am mostly still prefering to put 10000 days on.

I still rate Aenema as No.1. Absolute masterpiece. But Danny Carey really shines on Lateralus so I have to listen to that a fair bit too. Freak.

10,000 days is okay but I agree it doesn't have the same longevity.

HevyDevy

salivor said:
That's fine but this is a thread about how rock is dead due to the fact that there's no talent or originality in the music anymore. Lifehouse is the exact type of band that typifies this with their bland generic style. If you've heard Lifehouse you've heard a million other bands, it's like citing Nickleback as a reason that rock is still alive and kicking.

The early to mid 90's was the last great generation of rock music with the grunge scene in particular. Since then we've had an invasion of this soft c**k rock invading the airwaves that bores me and others to tears.

That's exactly right Salivor.

Then again, the key is not to listen to the radio because quality music is everywhere BUT on the radio. Music by it's very nature must be crap in order to receive airplay.

But if you go looking elsewhere then there is decent rock out there ... and even better metal!!!

By the way, Devin Townsend is God.

HevyDevy

perverse said:
they're about the fastest i've seen.. previous fastest would probably be children of bodom.

my music taste has somewhat mellowed out over the years.. heaps into progressive stuff these days.. and other technical sh*t.
shadow gallery, dream theater, avenged sevenfold, shadows fall and tool cover a great deal of my regular playlist.

You reckon Bodom are fast? Man, you have to listen to The Berzerker. That sh*t will rip your head off.

Who mentioned King Diamond before? Amazing stuff. The voices he does are incredible - especially the little girl's voice on Them.

salivor said:
That's fine but this is a thread about how rock is dead due to the fact that there's no talent or originality in the music anymore. Lifehouse is the exact type of band that typifies this with their bland generic style. If you've heard Lifehouse you've heard a million other bands, it's like citing Nickleback as a reason that rock is still alive and kicking.

The early to mid 90's was the last great generation of rock music with the grunge scene in particular. Since then we've had an invasion of this soft c**k rock invading the airwaves that bores me and others to tears.
Couldn't agree more.

mongoose

HevyDevy said:
I still rate Aenema as No.1. Absolute masterpiece. But Danny Carey really shines on Lateralus so I have to listen to that a fair bit too. Freak.

10,000 days is okay but I agree it doesn't have the same longevity.

I like 10,000 days more than lateralus. Lateralus was too prog and arty for me. 10,000 days is harder and has better lyrics imo.

HevyDevy

Prog is good. If a band has the musicianship, I want to hear it. If I can walk down to the local pub and hear some local band of teenagers play it note for note then I would have no reason to buy the album.

That's not to say that 10,000 days is like that at all, but I like the intricacies of Lateralus.

salivor

HevyDevy said:
That's exactly right Salivor.

Then again, the key is not to listen to the radio because quality music is everywhere BUT on the radio. Music by it's very nature must be crap in order to receive airplay.

But if you go looking elsewhere then there is decent rock out there ... and even better metal!!!

By the way, Devin Townsend is God.

I haven't listened to anything other than sports radio in years. Not worth it. I think it's sad though that these days you have to dumb yourself down to get airplay. It shouldn't be the case and wasn't always the case. Go back to the 60's and 70's and see the great mainstream bands that dominated the airwaves, the likes of The Beatles, Led Zeppelin, The Who, Bob Dylan, Pink Floyds etc etc.

Re Metal. I can appreciate that the scene is thriving and you can't knock the musical ability on display but personally it's just not my thing. About as metal as I'm ever going to get is slapping on some old school Metallica. I just miss good old rock that used to push the boundaries. Manson said it best: "Rock, it's deader than dead, shock, it's all in your head".

ledzep

CC_Eagle said:
F*ck yes.

The Answer - Rise.
I saw them at the Annandale
Very, very tight gig

salivor said:
I haven't listened to anything other than sports radio in years. Not worth it. I think it's sad though that these days you have to dumb yourself down to get airplay. It shouldn't be the case and wasn't always the case. Go back to the 60's and 70's and see the great mainstream bands that dominated the airwaves, the likes of The Beatles, Led Zeppelin, The Who, Bob Dylan, Pink Floyds etc etc.

Re Metal. I can appreciate that the scene is thriving and you can't knock the musical ability on display but personally it's just not my thing. About as metal as I'm ever going to get is slapping on some old school Metallica. I just miss good old rock that used to push the boundaries. Manson said it best: "Rock, it's deader than dead, shock, it's all in your head".
:clap: :clap: The Music of today just makes me sick, thank f**k i have my Ipod.

HevyDevy

I actually prefer Blind Guardian but yeah Iced Earth are good. Have you heard Demons and Wizards?

HevyDevy said:

I actually prefer Blind Guardian but yeah Iced Earth are good. Have you heard Demons and Wizards?

blind guardian are good too :p

on demons and wizards ive heard of them just havent heard any of there music

And I must say - although they're not getting much love in this thread, I'm an unabashed fan of the Goo Goo Dolls.

If only most of the song-writing process was left up to Johnny Rzeznik (who I think is just as talented as many other great lyricists and song-writers), instead of letting that hack Robbie Takac write and sing...

HevyDevy said:
You reckon Bodom are fast? Man, you have to listen to The Berzerker. That sh*t will rip your head off.

Who mentioned King Diamond before? Amazing stuff. The voices he does are incredible - especially the little girl's voice on Them.

I mentioned King Diamond - he goes alright, eh?

Although he's no Angela Gossow. :sarcasm:

Eelementary said:
Opeth
Dimmu Borgir
Dark Tranquillity
The Haunted
Killswitch Engage
Chimaira
Strapping Young Lad
Daath
Katatonia
Beware The March Of Flames
Between The Buried And Me
Black Dahlia Murder
Kataklysm
Machine Head
Thunderstone
Eldritch
The Duskfall
Job For A Cowboy
Dream Theater
Dream Evil
Dragonforce
Hatebreed
I Killed The Prom Queen
it Dies Today
Kittie
Lamb Of God
Mnemic
Moonspell
Scar Symmetry
Soil
Soilwork
Sirenia
Terror
Threat Signal
Zao

Generic rock is dead, but metal, metalcore, hardcore, etc. is still alive and kicking...Thank f**k for Sweden!
really this is as far as i had to read in this thread. you know your sh*t. the only oddity i see in that list is soilwork but no in flames? please explain?

perverse said:
really this is as far as i had to read in this thread. you know your sh*t. the only oddity i see in that list is soilwork but no in flames? please explain?

:D Thanks, mate!

I left out so many bands...In Flames, for one...Aman Amarth...Finntroll...Helloween...So, so many bands! :lol: