Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 10 versus the Titans

I'm Hornby

Do you watch other teams play?
When we get the ball in good field position and run one out rubbish with no shape and no plan other than to complete the set, do you not think there is a problem with strategy?
Do you blame the players for running one out? Are they ignoring the coaches?
Watch a few other games today, we’d be the worst in the NRL for shape and strategy.
We don’t look like scoring, and this is just our attack, defence and discipline is another story. And yes, I blame the coach for our discipline and defence as well.
Hey Crush, I'm not saying I don't agree with anything you've said here, however my comment was purely pointing out the decoy running led to all of our tries last night and could've been a fourth had Bird used his brain a bit more!

Not every post has to be rail roaded to a 'we're shit anti coach agenda' and from what I understand not having been on this Forum for the same amount of time as you, that you were willing to give the last coach the best of 4 or 5 seasons until you became a critic.

Stange that this coach deserves less than half that in your eyes despite being the experienced coach from outside the system many were longing.

After feeling disappointed, angry and disillusioned after another loss to a shit team where we basically shat the bed
We showed we were up for a contest in that first 25 mins when all we did was tackle and kick line drop outs, yet we only allowed them the one try. Problem was it took quite a bit of the sting out of our attack so to kick back in the second like we did and actually look for the most part the better side, was a big positive. Like I said a cruel blow to be pipped on the post.

TruSaint

Lets not forget that Titans outfit is absolute rubbish, and yet..

Line Breaks in their favour 6 to 3.

They missed 27 tackles and we 50.

A win would have been nice in Golden point, but it would've just papered over the cracks.

As for our attack, is there a more boring / predictable side than us ?

Long season ahead.

R&WTILLIDIE

We showed we were up for a contest in that first 25 mins when all we did was tackle and kick line drop outs. Problem was it took quite a bit of the sting out of our attack so to kick back in the second half like we did and actually look for the most time the better side, was a big positive. Like I said a cruel blow to be pipped on the post.
I hear ya mate. Seeing them grind in the second half and hit the lead made me feel like this team has a never say die attitude. After Lomax missed that conversion, I had a bad feeling that we would fall apart. I was right. And I’m sick of being right like most supporters on this forum.

Crush

Hey Crush, I'm not saying I don't agree with anything you've said here, however my comment was purely pointing out the decoy running led to all of our tries last night and could've been a fourth had Bird used his brain a bit more!

Not every post has to be rail roaded to a 'we're shit anti coach agenda' and from what I understand not having been on this Forum for the same amount of time as you, that you were willing to give the last coach the best of 4 or 5 seasons until you became a critic.

Stange that this coach deserves less than half that in your eyes despite being the experienced coach from outside the system many were longing.
Mate, you’re right, I gave McGregor way too much leniency and time, I supported him for years. I think that’s why I am being critical of Hook, I honestly cannot see any improvement on the Mary years, it’s really concerning.

Trifili13

Totally agree with your comment about Bird taking the player out. He had ample time to run on his inside shoulder and it would have been a try for us. Some might say the players aren't coached properly or whatever, but these are first grade players earning hundreds of thousands each year, even a first game rookie or park footballer with that much time that Bird had should not have gone anywhere near running straight at the defender and knocked him over. Just another example of our dumbarse team.

Some might not agree with this but the first try, as the ball was going to land 2 to 3 metres short of the tryline, Lomax should have let the Titans player catch it and just smashed him. The Titans player would not have had the momentum from that far out to score. By jumping and missing it, he took himself out of the play.

And the incident where Tyrell stuck his foot out from the bomb and it hit Hunt for accidental offside just sums up our team. That was comedy gold.

BBTB

Totally agree with your comment about Bird taking the player out. He had ample time to run on his inside shoulder and it would have been a try for us. Some might say the players aren't coached properly or whatever, but these are first grade players earning hundreds of thousands each year, even a first game rookie or park footballer with that much time that Bird had should not have gone anywhere near running straight at the defender and knocked him over. Just another example of our dumbarse team.

Some might not agree with this but the first try, as the ball was going to land 2 to 3 metres short of the tryline, Lomax should have let the Titans player catch it and just smashed him. The Titans player would not have had the momentum from that far out to score. By jumping and missing it, he took himself out of the play.

And the incident where Tyrell stuck his foot out from the bomb and it hit Hunt for accidental offside just sums up our team. That was comedy gold.
But none of us are laughing.

BBTB

And the BIRD interference was just a lazy effort.

Trifili13

If Ben hunt keeps having to do EVERYTHING, he'll burn out. Then what? Will we finally give the kids the ball then? Stupid ass plan if U wanna make finals footy
I agree you don't won't to burn players out, but the problem is he does everything yet we end up with nothing.

IMO we have got nowhere near the value of what we paid for him. Whether he is on 900k or 1m+ is just splitting hairs. He is on a heap of money. I can bet you if it was someone like the Chooks they would have realised that if he is not the player to lead them to the premiership they would have moved him on like they did quick smart with Flanagan, freed up a heap of cap space and went and bought another halfback to do the job. We are simply not ruthless enough and don't have the winning mentality like the Dragon's of years gone by.

Lovemedragons

If this was European football Hook would be sacked today Flanagan appointed given an 18mnths contract w a mandate to make the 8 this year and next then a contract upgrade at the end of 2023. If Hook was sacked today the players would get the message. I think Flanno could do a job short term
sacking him today would bring forward the inevitable. A savvy club executive would've realised this a month ago and got Flannagan straight in with a clearly communicated agenda. The players would get the message on the spot with plenty of the season yet to earn their place in our future.

Alas we do not have a savvy executive and certainly not one with any spine so no doubt we will flounder around for another year or 2 under this stubborn relic, running out has beens each week in what was once the famous red V, destroying the confidence of talented youngsters and losing some real talent to junior hungry clubs.

redandwhite4evr

Sign andrew John’s to work on the attack
Anybody has to be better than the current attack coach. Many cringeworthy moments in attack last night but my nomination for the Academy Award was the 5 centimetre pass Amone gave/threw to (I think) Lawrie well before the line in the Titans red zone when Lawrie was running shoulder to shoulder next to him. Totally pointless.

Another simple fix would be to relieve Hunt of his short kicking duties. He can concentrate on his spiral torps and 40/20s where he has some expertise. He seems incapable of grubbering into the in goal without collecting someone's legs. Amone showed him how it was done.

rasaint

Hi All,

Someone has to lose a game each week. We lost in 2nd period of extra time. It was a massive struggle for both teams. I never like ‘golden point’ it’s deflating wether a winner or loser in my view. It almost always becomes a chaotic shootout with both teams charging early to block shots at field goal and refs letting anything go. I don’t blame them, for a penalty against either would bring massive criticism.

we were beaten by the vagaries of fortune yesterday, even the final put down for try by Titans seemed a 50/50 to me. Good luck to Titans.

Zac Lomax ( I have always said is an unremarkable player ) kicked a glorious sideline goal but then very narrowly missed the important final conversion. That’s how it goes sometimes.

I acknowledge Sloan made a number of mistakes yesterday. Yet I observed his speed actually troubled the defence. On a couple of occasions he was half through and went to ground with an overlap outside available. Then once tried to thread the needle with a pass outside and got intercepted. He does offer some variety and speed in basically a ‘slowpoke backline’.

The young hooker Sullivan looks pretty good. Amone tried hard.

we miss Sua a lot. He was a class recruitment and wouldn’t be surprised to not see him back this season. McGuire carried along with injury and then gonski 2nd half. Take the exceptional Hughes and Papenhuzen out of storm and they come back to ground fast. You need the top players on the park

The bottom line is we are heading for the bottom half of the ladder by season end if our coach continues with his present strategy of playing blokes out of position, holding onto under performing favorites, being coached to have little or no shape in attack and having to tackle ourselves to a standstill to stay in games due to our poor discipline..

Dragons4me

We keep him there , Sloan ,Sully, Amone ,they all need to be there , mistakes will happen they are playing in key positions ...... Dropping them wont help their development , we will be lucky to make the 8 with them or without them so give them every chance to make it ......

I agree. The team needs to gel around these three moving forward. They need to understand how they play and how to support each other. It then becomes a real work in progress and I'm more fine with losses with them than without. But one day it will click and when that happens, look out. For the first time, I'm wondering if Hook for all his knowledge is the right person to navigate this change.

OneEyedDragon

The Dragons look like going nowhere this season. I think it is time for Hook to bite the bullet and try to pick a team for the future. The fans know what they want so why doesn't Hook give it to them. If it fails spectacularly then at least it was tried and it might shut the whinging fans up for a while. You know what I mean - Hunt to 9, Sullivan to 7, Amone to 6 and Sloan to 1, and pick and stick for at least a few games. Who really cares if the Dragons finish 9th or 13th?

redandwhite4evr

Our dickhead coach decides to bring Sloane back on a wet track.
He can't use his speed or evasion skills. It was not the right week to bring Sloane back, it has just f#### his confidence more.
For this game Mbye should have stayed back at fullback and Sullivan to start at hooker.
Our coaches late changes never work.
Had exactly the same thought- he was sacked after playing in a gale and on a swamp at WIN and brought back in conditions not much better. He looked anxious-that he needed to impress Hook to keep his spot- and made numerous mistakes accordingly. I know he has to learn to play in all conditions but it will be easier if he's told that he's not just playing there due to Macca's injury and that he's going to get an extended run in the position and given extra training sessions in areas such as high ball and defence organisation. In the presser, Hook made noises about supporting him so maybe that message has already been sent.

I know that there will be those who will say that he was decisively outplayed by another young gun full-back in Jayden Campbell, but Campbell is actually 2 and a half years older than Tyrell. My fear, is if they drop 19 yo Tyrell again, his confidence may never recover.

Illusion

Gee I hate the Presser after the game ..... Hook and Hunt look like two lost souls ...... Depressing , again Hook comes out and says he was proud of the boys on thier defensive effort , FMD they missed 54 tackles and he is happy , attack is non existing Hunt looks like he is ready to cry ..... Own up start throwing things around the room show your disappointment , tell everyone its not good enough , change your stuctures and the way they play yell scream at the presser so we know you both are not happy ...... But no we get I'm proud of the boy's .......

Moose playing his 250th match. Congrats. He put in with a strong game in both attack and defense but his sin binning could've cost us big.
Like to see his and our other newbies weekly player stats for 2022 but unable to on this site as it shows former players so must be from a past season.. Pretty crap Fox Sports.