Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 10 vs. Titans Discussion + Voting

I thought Hunt did enough to keep his spot next week. Definitely better defensively then Prince and not that big a difference in attack. Took the ball to the line well, suffered from not having Hodges outside him and we attacked the opposite side of the field on tackles 4 and 5. Glenn was back to his old self, I thought Hoffman was a stand out offered a heap of cover on Norman this week too. PWall was okay he got the job done. Gillett was I don't know he played well in patches and badly in others. Thaiday looked good from when he came back on. I just don't think he is big enough to roll with the boppers in the middle when everyone is fresh, good try from him up front.

JWall and Hala were both really good off the bench, I thought JWall was a standout came on when everyone was tired and played like he was the only forward in the middle, making solid runs and sticking tackles. I am not going to go overboard about Granville, came on when the opposition was in disarray had some good touches made some quality runs, Baptiste was just as good in his debut and his second game was a shocker.

3. Parker
2. Thaiday
1. Glenn

Glad I'm not the only one who noticed that...

Apparently Reed has a suspected Eye socket fracture..even with Hodges back next week, we might not be rid of Maranta as hoped..

1. Norman
2. Hoffman
3. Kahu
4. Hodges
5. Maranta/Kemp

Kemp please.

Big Pete

Why not?

He clearly received more time than Hook intended, keeping him on the field when Macca came back on and all.

Eelpout

Hey guys congrats on the win. I didn't catch the game so would anyone be able to tell me if Norman spent some time at 5/8? If so how did he go? Thanks.

Country Bronco

Not overly impressed by result. Most concerned with Stagg injury. It's a deadset tragedy if acl causes the end of his career. He's been a great player for whoever he's played for and deserves to go out on a brighter note. He'll be sorely missed as his experience, workload and consistency were assets this year.

00digger00

Parker 3
Thaiday 2
Norman 1
Good all around the park. I don't know what's worse.... Listening to Hadly or Fatty call Broncos games!

Bretto

Hey guys congrats on the win. I didn't catch the game so would anyone be able to tell me if Norman spent some time at 5/8? If so how did he go? Thanks.

No time spent at 5/8 from what I could see mate.

More thoughts... I'll just break it down with stuff that stuck out to me.

Granville: Solid debut. Had to chuckle when the poor kid knocked on his very first touch in the NRL. From then on though, he was very good. His passing from dummy half was far better than anything Macca delivers up (is this just me?), and he's fast out of dummy half too. Like someone else mentioned, having a specialist Hooker come on and give Macca a rest really makes a difference. I really HOPE he gets more time because I think he has heaps of potential.

Hunt: Limited opportunity for Hunt. The play went to Wallace down the left pretty much every attacking opportunity we had. The limited opportunity he did have, he got a good ball out wide for the Reed try. He's also solid in defence. Usually when teams go down that right hand side, they get past Prince and someone has to come from the inside to clean up etc. Hunt just hits hard and does very well one on one. I think Chainshada mentioned it too, Hunt is exceptionally good at reading what the other team are going to do. Every time the opposition play maker thinks about kicking it, Hunt seems to know exactly where it's going before it goes there and he's able to clean it up well too.

Hala: Hala's form is really coming along. His impact off the bench is invaluable at the moment. He really bends the line with every run, and attracts 3 or 4 defenders each time he hits the ball up.

Overall, I think it was a very good team effort. Parker was huge again, Thaiday played very well and took the hard meters, Hoffman, Maranta and Kahu came in and offered good hit ups to give the forwards a break. Glenn was very good too. I think across the park we were solid.

I'm not gonna get carried away with that win though, particularly considering the penalty count in our favour (which was all the fault of how poor the Titans were).

So hopefully next week the team will look something like... (with Reed out and Hodges back)

1. Norman
2. Hoffman
3. Kahu
4. Hodges
5. Maranta/Kemp/Someone?
6. Hunt
7. Wallace
8. McGuire
9. Macca
10. Parker
11. Glenn
12. Thaiday
13. Gillett

14. Granville
15. Hala
16. J. Wallace
17. Anderson/Slyney ??

Votes have to go to the forwards. They really lead the way and dominated the game for us.

3. Parker
2. Glenn
1. Thaiday

GoTheBroncs

Obviously a massive improvement on the past couple of weeks so have to be happy with that. Won't challenge the good teams with that display but I don't think we will get to that level this year anyway. There was an element of the titans gifting us the game.

Wasn't it nice having an actual hooker as our replacement hooker? Us fans have been calling for this for some time now, and whilst it's only 1 game, there are some positive signs there.

As mentioned above I don't think that Hunt made the most of his opportunity. At least we didn't have to stress ourselves about having Prince in the defensive line up.

I'm glad someone had the sense to re-introduce Hala to the bench. His impact off the bench is invaluable.

I think that's the third time this season Maranta has not known where his feet are. He at least needs to get this very simple winger skill down pat or someone has else has to be brought in, underdone or not. I know it obviously didn't cost us the game but if the game was closer us fans would be up in arms!

3. Parker
2. Glenn
1. Thaiday

Mr Fourex

Granville was good, wasn't he. I wonder how Griffin will react from here on in. Hunt went OK.....

Norman continues to impress me from fullback. It was a beautiful ball he gave to Hoffman for our first try. Hoffman was great tonight as well.......

There's good signs here........write off Brisbane at your own peril. Consistency is what's f*cking us at the moment. If we can get that right we'll trouble any team.

3. Hoffman
2. Thaiday
1. Norman

p.s special praise to Thaiday as well. He has really started to turn his season around. He gets respect for that.

AceAv

Wow! That felt like a Broncos Birthday Party with the Titans gifting us the ultimate 1st half! I was amazed at how many high shots they planted on us and still got away with 2 of them! Can't ask for a better start than that and every 2 points taken put a huge smile on my face as they added up to a very healthy lead.

3main things to take out of this game:

1. Granville should be our 2d half hooker
2. We need to let Norman, Hunt and Granville (if he stays) to share the attacking kicks. Wallace just does the SAME thing over and over and though they were mostly effective at starting our set. Ultimately they lead to Mead getting away from Hoffman and causing the Stagg injury! -Not saying this was Wals fault. But when we mixed it up there was so much more danger about.
3. Parker needs to keep the conversion responsibilities

I would also like to see Hunt go to half back. Seems like Wallace is our safety playmaker and Hunt is the one who can improv.

The forwards of course deserve the big mention. They dug in all night and we never had a soft set.

Maranta needs some more time in QLD cup. He is slow, inexperienced and just lacks any flare.

Granville was amazing! -After watching the highlights video in this thread one of you kindly posted, I was very familiar with his game and he did everything right! -I get the feeling we may give him the Fullback spot next year until we can FOFF prince and give hunt the 6/7 and then put Granville in our hooker rotation. I don't think Macca is a threat to lose his spot, nor does he deserve to. He just needs some confidence back and to really show us he is trying. Defensively I rate him quite high. If anything drop him to the bench like Benji to make him realize your jersey isn't safe.

Gillet had a pretty decent game. A lot of those missed tackles were hard to stop.

Kahu is still yet to explode, but I like him in the side.

Hoffman and Norman had a great kick return game and I liked Norman's ability on attack again this week.

Hopefully we can keep Granville, Hunt and drop Maranta for someone else next week. Not sure who to tip yet -will need to see the dogs form.

XXXX Cap

Granville: Solid debut. Had to chuckle when the poor kid knocked on his very first touch in the NRL.

Amused by the "kid" tag that keeps getting used.

Jake Granville is 24 years old, made his Queensland Cup debut five seasons ago and has played 82 games for Wynnum in top grade (lost 18 months with a broken leg).

He is the incumbent Queensland Residents hooker, has been Player of the Year for the Queensland Cup, has won two Premierships playing at fullback and hooker (doubt anyone else has ever done that at any level) and was the Duncan Hall medallist in the 2011 Grand Final.

Jake is a very experienced footballer, playing at the peak of his powers this year. What you saw last night was no surprise to any Wynnum supporter.

GoTheBroncs

Jake is a very experienced footballer, playing at the peak of his powers this year. What you saw last night was no surprise to any Wynnum supporter.

Nor was it a surprise to many of us LU posters who do keep up with the QLD cup (who aren't necessarily Wynnum supporters btw). Many of us have been calling for a proper reserve hooker for some time now, whether that be Baptiste for the previous couple of seasons or Granville/Baptiste since Granville joined us for pre-season training. BP has even been following Granville's progress since I think he played under 20s for Broncs (please correct me if I am wrong there).

So whilst I sympathise with your annoyance at the ignorance of some on here, I think you can understand my returned annoyance of you throwing us all in the same boat. And anyway why should every Broncos supporter have to follow the QLD cup? I certainly don't hold it against anyone who doesn't.

Bretto

Amused by the "kid" tag that keeps getting used.

Jake Granville is 24 years old, made his Queensland Cup debut five seasons ago and has played 82 games for Wynnum in top grade (lost 18 months with a broken leg).

He is the incumbent Queensland Residents hooker, has been Player of the Year for the Queensland Cup, has won two Premierships playing at fullback and hooker (doubt anyone else has ever done that at any level) and was the Duncan Hall medallist in the 2011 Grand Final.

Not too sure how to take that post. Am I now ignorant because I don't follow Wynnum and referred to a guy 9 years my junior as "kid"? To be fair the guy looks about 19 :lol:.

I too watched the highlights package a couple pages ago and was impressed to be honest. I hope we see more of him because I like the way he plays - Plenty of speed out of dummy half, solid in defence and no nonsense.

Are you Jake by any chance or perhaps someone close to him?

Big Pete

GoTheBroncos said:
BP has even been following Granville's progress since I think he played under 20s for Broncs (please correct me if I am wrong there).

Indeed, although I only remember him in those days as one of the many replacement hookers Griffin tried to use. I was there for his debut game against the Dragons in Round 4 2009 (the evening where De Vere cameo'd for ten minutes and retired days later) and really can't remember him making much of an impression. All I remember about that game was how horrible Copley was at fullback and being absolutely stunned when he was given a shot against the Sharks later on. Mind you, I didn't recall Jake playing much NYC after that game yet apparently he came in around the mid-season and towards the end of that year.

I was completely surprised to see Jake playing for the Seagulls that year, thinking he was just a fringe NYC talent. However, he looked more than up to it and I (along with most Wynnum supporters I'd imagine) were baffled with the lack of NRL attention. I think I even wrote on here he was one of the Queensland Cup's best kept secrets.

I can understand the frustration from XXXX Cap. For years they've been talking Granville up and when he finally makes his debut you get the likes of Hadley and co. acting like he's this small time player and being blown away when he inevitably proves them wrong.

Granville's performance has generated a fair bit of hype. Hopefully it leads to Hook giving him more opportunities.

unbreaK

1. Granville
2. Maranta
3. Hodges
4. Kahu
5. Hoffman
6. Norman
7. Hunt
8. McGuire
9. P.Wallace
10. Thaiday
11. Glenn
12. Gillett
13. Parker

14. Hala
15. J.Wallace
16. Anderson
17. Dodds

Yep.

XXXX Cap

Not too sure how to take that post. Am I now ignorant because I don't follow Wynnum and referred to a guy 9 years my junior as "kid"? To be fair the guy looks about 19 :lol:.

I too watched the highlights package a couple pages ago and was impressed to be honest. I hope we see more of him because I like the way he plays - Plenty of speed out of dummy half, solid in defence and no nonsense.

Are you Jake by any chance or perhaps someone close to him?

I'm more than 30 years older than Jake so I'm certainly not him. I'm the bloke who has been following Wynnum since the early 60s and stands in front of the canteen at Kougari every game generally giving it to officialdom (and wearing a XXXX cap to keep the western sun out of my eyes).

I'm not blaming anyone on the forum, the "kid" thing was the connotation of the media who should know better (as if they would do any research).

Same thing happened when David Seage made his debut for Newcastle nine years ago and had a blinder. He had been Queensland fullback for four years and was a legend in the Queensland Cup. Listen to Warren and Gould and you would have thought he had never played football before.

Bretto

I'm more than 30 years older than Jake so I'm certainly not him. I'm the bloke who has been following Wynnum since the early 60s and stands in front of the canteen at Kougari every game generally giving it to officialdom (and wearing a XXXX cap to keep the western sun out of my eyes).

I'm not blaming anyone on the forum, the "kid" thing was the connotation of the media who should know better (as if they would do any research).

Same thing happened when David Seage made his debut for Newcastle nine years ago and had a blinder. He had been Queensland fullback for four years and was a legend in the Queensland Cup. Listen to Warren and Gould and you would have thought he had never played football before.

No worries. Appreciate your candor and hope I didn't come across as acrimonious. You wouldn't expect any Channel 9 commentator to actually do any research would you? Hadley only just started pronouncing Matt Gillett's name correctly last night after 2 years.