Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 11 vs. New Zealand Warriors @Suncorp (Magic Round)

The Realist

This time last year the Rabbitohs were the best team in the comp. April/May premiers. If we can win half our games whilst Nathan is out, I think we can still finish top 4 and start building in August for another finals push.

No need to go jumping off bridges in May

Mate, we could not get past a Warriors outfit who are woeful and who were missing more quality on the field (pre and during game) then we did.

What makes you think we are going to jag 4 from 7 from here on in?

Stinkfinger

How come we never get 6 against any more?
Why did the Warriors not get a player sinbinned for the 2 foul tackles?
How did we become the most penalised team in the comp?
It is becoming obvious we are reffed differently to everybody else. They are calling held early when driving back, late if there is a chance of an offload, never sin binning an opposition player, never giving a 50-50 Penriths way.
It seems 4 in a row isn't what the NRL wants!
Similar thoughts have crossed my mind.

Frankus

Mate, we could not get past a Warriors outfit who are woeful and who were missing more quality on the field (pre and during game) then we did.

What makes you think we are going to jag 4 from 7 from here on in?
I’m not disagreeing it was awful. Do you expect us to play that bad each week for the next 2 months? We needed that wake up call. Not sure when Schneider is back but we need him in the interim. Luai couldn’t organise a chook raffle.

And Cole - lol.

WestyLife

I’m not disagreeing it was awful. Do you expect us to play that bad each week for the next 2 months? We needed that wake up call. Not sure when Schneider is back but we need him in the interim. Luai couldn’t organise a chook raffle.

And Cole - lol.

Schneider is out 4 weeks so a few more yet.

WestyLife

Luai was excellent yesterday. I think people are just used to calling him bad at this point.

I don't have too many criticism. Think without all the discipline issues we're praising him. Probably hurt Cole a little as well even though I've been going hard on him.

martielang

Luai looked comfortable at 7, thought he took the right option more often then not and his attack was so much straighter and more deliberate. Only criticism I'd have would be that last set on their line, where we didn't fire a shot, which included that grubber on the last after he'd created that 4 on 3 out the back but he'd already premediated the kick as his play.

Beating a dead horse but Martin has to be taking the piss. He shouldn't be anywhere that SOO team on form. He shouldn't be anywhere near our starting 13 on form. Garner may not have huge numbers but he's at least trying to involve himself in the game.

Leota the same.

Going to be a tough couple of months but if we get out of it at 50% win rate, I think we'll get rolling when it counts.

Iamback

https://www.nrl.com/news/2024/05/19/warriors-v-panthers--round-11-2024/

Look at 1:22 and the sequence that follows. In particular take a look at 1:36.

Alamoti does not position himself well at all. Luai ended up copping the missed tackle on his stat sheet, and Alamoti nothing, yet that try is in part his fault. This is why the typical stat sheets we are presented with give us a distorted picture of what happens in games.

Alamoti needed to stay connected with the line and also be around 1.5-2 metres closer to Luai.

Sure the Warriors still could have scored with a longer pass to the fullback or a cut out to the winger, but both passes would be more difficult, and defence would have had more chance to initiate some contact as well as forcing the try closer to the sideline.

Ironically the Warriors ran a similar play on their try through Peachey. Peachey over corrected and stayed too close to Luai, but at least we got some contact on the ball carrier (To'o) - and also a tiny bit from Peach who is just too slow to recover.

For reference that sequence started at 3:36 on the same clip.

When they woke up Sat morning to fly up, Alamoti wasn't meant to play.

So an error that leads to a try when the side has 12 men, I am not sure is getting the hook worthy. Particularly for an overweight utility

WestyLife

Luai looked comfortable at 7, thought he took the right option more often then not and his attack was so much straighter and more deliberate. Only criticism I'd have would be that last set on their line, where we didn't fire a shot, which included that grubber on the last after he'd created that 4 on 3 out the back but he'd already premediated the kick as his play.

Beating a dead horse but Martin has to be taking the piss. He shouldn't be anywhere that SOO team on form. He shouldn't be anywhere near our starting 13 on form. Garner may not have huge numbers but he's at least trying to involve himself in the game.

Leota the same.

Going to be a tough couple of months but if we get out of it at 50% win rate, I think we'll get rolling when it counts.

Looks like Martin and Leota are playing injured.

WestyLife

When they woke up Sat morning to fly up, Alamoti wasn't meant to play.

So an error that leads to a try when the side has 12 men, I am not sure is getting the hook worthy. Particularly for an overweight utility

The lack of info is what's getting everyone. It was so out of the blue. If he is injured please no peach. Play McLean.

Iamback

The lack of info is what's getting everyone. It was so out of the blue. If he is injured please no peach. Play McLean.

I don't know how accurate it is

I was told there is a bug going around the squad.

That is why Laurie vanished as did a few in NSW Cup
Cole vomitted and Alamoti went off early.

Word normally gets out Monday arvo about injuries so I guess we find out soon.

Casey isn't old enough by NRL rules to play. Garner to centre it would be if Alamoti is out.

The club needs to shop around for some depth we already were light and May will be gone for the year

WestyLife

I don't know how accurate it is

I was told there is a bug going around the squad.

That is why Laurie vanished as did a few in NSW Cup
Cole vomitted and Alamoti went off early.

Word normally gets out Monday arvo about injuries so I guess we find out soon.

Casey isn't old enough by NRL rules to play. Garner to centre it would be if Alamoti is out.

The club needs to shop around for some depth we already were light and May will be gone for the year

Can't the other brother play centre or is he just a winger? Anything but peach for a week 😂

Everyone being crook would explain that game it was pretty bad.

John Hamblin

. The critics of Jack Cole hang your heads in shame. He is only a kid trying to ease his way into FG. I couldn't bag his effort. Not everyone hits the ground running when promoted to FG. Some of the games biggest stars took a while to find their feet. I hope he goes out next week and kills it. He deserves OUR support.

WestyLife

. The critics of Jack Cole hang your heads in shame. He is only a kid trying to ease his way into FG. I couldn't bag his effort. Not everyone hits the ground running when promoted to FG. Some of the games biggest stars took a while to find their feet. I hope he goes out next week and kills it. He deserves OUR support.

I did say I was meming a bit and the poor discipline would've made it hard for the halves. He seems alright with defence Tago wrongfully came in to much I thought.