Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 12 vs Souths Game Day Thread

Joshuatheeel

f**k!! Woods has averaged 150 plus metres and aprox 25 tackles a game this year and has pretty much averaged around 160 m and around 25-30 tackles a game for the 2015 and 2016.

I like Alvaro (and he has been great the last two weeks!!) and he has great potential, but he isn't even averaging 100m a game yet for any of the last 3 years, it may happen but he aren't no where near Woods class yet!! Or even close!!

Additionally Alvaro is only 2 years younger the Woods who has play approx 133 games to Alvaro's 35 or so

souths_reborn

Souths conceded one f**king penalty in the second half. In the first half they conceded four to our five. In the second half it was one to five. Bullshit one sided reffing in the second half.
Most of the penalties you gave away in the second half were legitimate or fifty-fifty at worst! I'd be more angry with the disallowed try and Alex Johnston's awarded try.

Basil Brush

You've hit the nail on the head. On paper Souths look one of the most formidable teams in the competition! You can add to that list arguable one of the best young back rowers in the competition in the Angus Crichton! Most teams would kill to have some of the players we've got. However, games aren't won on paper and the facts of the matter are that Souths simply aren't coming away with points during periods that they are dominating games. This has been the story of our season! You can look at last weeks game again Melbourne - we should have easily beaten the Storm given how much we dominated them in the second half yet we couldn't score a try!

I hate pin pointing one player but I think the buck stops with Adam Reynolds. The guy is lucky to be in first grade the way he is playing! Our forwards have been playing well for the most part, as has our hooker but Adam Reynolds is in the team to capitalise on their good work with his last tackle options and they are so bad at the moment its not funny. I mean the guy is putting kicks out on the full, bombing down the oppositions throat, giving away seven tackle sets, making errors when he gets his hands on the ball early in the tackle count...he isn't even standing in the right position on some of his last tackle players. I thought we played our best footy in the game against the Broncos with Cody Walker and Sutton in the halves and I hope we go back to that line up next week.
Good analysis on your team.

Reynolds looking very bad. However Sutton not much better. Souths biggest problem is their 1 dimensional play imo.

However, being an Eels forum, we deserved to win by much more. Refs were so bad that it wasn't even funny.

Most of the penalties you gave away in the second half were legitimate or fifty-fifty at worst! I'd be more angry with the disallowed try and Alex Johnston's awarded try.
I've got no problems with the penalties we conceded, it's all the ones Souths didn't concede that bothered me. They didn't suddenly become disciplined in the second half, they were rooted. The refs just let them get away with everything.

souths_reborn

Good analysis on your team.

Reynolds looking very bad. However Sutton not much better. Souths biggest problem is their 1 dimensional play imo.

However, being an Eels forum, we deserved to win by much more. Refs were so bad that it wasn't even funny.
I don't know what was wrong with the refs. As a Souths fan I know first hand given that they literally cost us the game against the Broncos a few weeks back! It will be interesting to see if Tony Archer comes out and offers clarification on those rulings or whether it is swept under the rug like most bad refereeing decisions.

Sutton isn't doing too badly. He is a steady half who is good at playing direct and straightening up our attack. I think what we need to do is play Cody Walker at halfback. He seems to play better without Reynolds because he is pretty much forced into being constantly involved. The guy is a real live wire because he can take the ball to the line with footwork and create space for those outside of him. John Sutton does the same thing but more so due to the fact that he is a big body; teams can nullify him though if they get numbers over on their right edge. Walker though can play all over the field and our point scoring potential increases when his involvement does.

souths_reborn

I've got no problems with the penalties we conceded, it's all the ones Souths didn't concede that bothered me. They didn't suddenly become disciplined in the second half, they were rooted. The refs just let them get away with everything.
Can you think of any incidents in particular? While we haven't been winning games this season, we have been pretty good when it comes to discipline and I certainly couldn't see too many infringements that we made. Maybe Sam Burgess crunching Mitchell Moses after a kick but aside from that I didn't think we did too much wrong with regards to ruck infringements.

Mate just holding down too long, moving before the ball is played, all the things we got pinged for in the ruck in both halves but Souths only got penalised for in the first half.

forward pass

I have to say, if Semi passes to Gunco after the break upfield - we win by plenty. Same with the forward pass. Terrible call I agree, but we seem to make a habit of being too close to the balll runner after breaks. Why don't the coaches do something to fix this. It is under 10 stuff it really is. 3 or 4 occasions this season.

Yeah we have done it a few times. You'd think though that it's the sort of thing you don't need to practice.

Anyway, our points differential is now -32 and that could be crucial to a team like us. I'm still pretty bloody cranky about the refereeing tonight.

Haha, I was gonna post this.

Souths have a bunch of "big bodies." A bunch of rep footballers. We killed them in the middle

So put a dirty egg on my face. That is 15% of my 85%. Alvaro was good. Better then Timmy.

Edwards is a dynamic footballer. Look how much we missed him early in the year. STFU with your dropping him rubbish

Broke 8 tackles. Dropped 2 balls at crucial times.
As I said earlier today. We are a dark horse - Bevans playing shit house. Semi is just getting into form . We have Norman-Brown-Jennings to come back and Tepai getting better each week with Kaysa. Taka also just come back. If we can get all the team fit and a few guys into form we can win it or give a dam good shake.

Alvaro was fantastic last week as well.

When Brown returns Mannah should be back on the bench.
You don't just want plodders on the bench any more than you just want impact players. You need balance in your middle forward rotation at all times - that means starters and the merkins on the bench.

Offside from general play ball many times when Parra made good charges. Maybr 6 or 7 mtrs behind.