Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 13 | Broncos 50-24 Knights @ Suncorp | Sun 3pm

Round 13 result :: Broncos vs Knights

If young Dane plays well at fullback does that mean we gamble and shift Darius to the 6. I mean theoretically why not the 7? The modern game difference between the 6 and 7 generally means who stands one pass or two passes wide anyway. On the ball he looks dangerous at the moment.

Johns Magic

His primary position is fullback.

I wouldn't be surprised to see Sau get the chop this week, even with Boyd and Uate out.

I expect him to get the chop as soon as they return, and I'd rather give a young guy a shot. Pete or Liki.

Joker's Wild

His primary position is fullback.

I wouldn't be surprised to see Sau get the chop this week, even with Boyd and Uate out.

I expect him to get the chop as soon as they return, and I'd rather give a young guy a shot. Pete or Liki.

TBH mate after watching him at the Dolphins over the last 1 1/2 seasons of QldCup, he is just as good in either position

He is a dynamic fullback, much like a smaller GI in the way he runs and fends. He brings that to his game in the centres too and also has one of the best in and aways I have seen in a long while.

Id be reluctant to move Darius to the front line just yet. Im not sure how much the extra defencive workload will effect his game and he is just starting to offer something from the back. Moving him could put him back to square one

TBH mate after watching him at the Dolphins over the last 1 1/2 seasons of QldCup, he is just as good in either position

He is a dynamic fullback, much like a smaller GI in the way he runs and fends. He brings that to his game in the centres too and also has one of the best in and aways I have seen in a long while.

Id be reluctant to move Darius to the front line just yet. Im not sure how much the extra defencive workload will effect his game and he is just starting to offer something from the back. Moving him could put him back to square one

Very true. The one big IF in addition to the defensive responsibilites of being at halfback or 5/8. Funny thing with Darius is when you put a QLD jumper on his back he will belt anything that comes near him. The ability is there. The application is the concern.

Nuffy

We have had problems with that sort of belief for years. It seems part of our culture that we can do well for the first half, or the second or the middle bit of the game or the first and last 15 mins but we really seem to have a lack of belief that ends up resulting in a lack of discipline.
If we get that sort of belief then this team is capable of giving us some great games and great entertainment and being able to show what they are made of. Long term we can get a culture of pride going that will see long term benefits. That type of belief is less about individual performances and more about team execution. Stick to the plan!
The Bus has got away from us. A push from the "supporters" and we might be able to catch up a bit.

We've been saying this for years and the club has been trying to fix this for years, I hope Bennett bucks the trend and can turn it around.

Rod

I think we should do everything possible to avoid moving Darius from fullback anyway, it looks like he's just got settled there.

Mr_Knightside

I'm just going to throw this out there, but maybe Wes to fullback while Boyd's out?

The reason I suggest it is that this was the position where he displayed most of his good run of form for us last year, and the Dragons even wanted to sign him as their long term fullback.

He won't have to make tackles in the front line, which we can all agree he was terrible at yesterday. And he's a strong ball runner on the kick returns.

Maybe that'd be the kind of position where he could get some confidence back too? Do some running off the forwards, well off Mason anyway who is just about the only one who can create an offload these days.

Then Kev or Pete to the wing in place of Aku.

I think we should do everything possible to avoid moving Darius from fullback anyway, it looks like he's just got settled there.

Boyd at times has looked like he doesn't fit in with the team much at all. House coming in for that penalty was a stupid move at a bad time in the game.
He came in to stick up for Boyd getting a facial though. In the long run that might have some positive influence because it shows Boyd is a player another wants to stick up for.
I reckon he is starting to show form at fullback. The more form he starts to show the more there are indications that he could possibly be a 5/8 choice.

Jobdog

Boyd at times has looked like he doesn't fit in with the team much at all. House coming in for that penalty was a stupid move at a bad time in the game.
He came in to stick up for Boyd getting a facial though.
In the long run that might have some positive influence because it shows Boyd is a player another wants to stick up for.
I reckon he is starting to show form at fullback. The more form he starts to show the more there are indications that he could possibly be a 5/8 choice.
Of course that's why he came in. But the simple fact of the matter is we had possession and had the Broncos on the ropes and then a brain fade like that basically costs us the game.

Jobdog

They did, but even allowing for those we still could have won the game if not for Houston's brain fart.

We still could have won the game in spite of Houstons brain fart had we tackled like men and not like kids who were just roused on by their mothers.

Joker's Wild

lol comon now JD, we were only 8 points down after they scored off that penalty. A team with a stronger constitution would have hung in and kept at them. Our boys however shut up shop with 17 min to go.

Single moments really dont cost teams games if your're fair dinkum. Pervy is spot frickin on

Speaking of penalties - I didn't agree with the one against us for the Mullen "accidental offside" after he had scored the no-try.
Sure, an offside is an offside but many "accidental offsides" go with a scrum and not penalty. Houston didn't seem to play at the ball (although he had his leg out).
A scrum to them so close to the line may have ended with a worse result though.

Jobdog

lol comon now JD, we were only 8 points down after they scored off that penalty. A team with a stronger constitution would have hung in and kept at them. Our boys however shut up shop with 17 min to go.

Single moments really dont cost teams games if your're fair dinkum. Pervy is spot frickin on
You're right re: teams with stronger mentalities would have hung in. But the fact of that is that we're soft mentally and need a lot of things, if not everything to go our way at the moment.

Wato

Speaking of penalties - I didn't agree with the one against us for the Mullen "accidental offside" after he had scored the no-try.
Sure, an offside is an offside but many "accidental offsides" go with a scrum and not penalty. Houston didn't seem to play at the ball (although he had his leg out).
A scrum to them so close to the line may have ended with a worse result though.

Yea annoying call but probably correct. The rule I hate is when a player is offside but deliberately makes a tackle to save a try i.e the one on Mckinnon. I am probably in the minority but I see that as no different to taking a player out and would award a penalty try. Look at the 99 grand final a deliberate high tackle results in a penalty try but why is a player tackling someone to deny a try from an offside position not a penalty try?