Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 2 V Rabbitohs

Fangs

Im just glad Peachey didnt come on and make a mistake trying to make something happen. Really hard to have an impact in limited mi utes like that. You risk doing the opposite.

He just has a knack of getting it right in that role. True super-sub. Has a great highlights reel.

Maloney isn’t playing that bad... I really don’t see what all the fuss is about.

Why certain people think he should slot straight in and be amazing is beyond me. He’s started the same way with every club.

We are also asking him to play second fiddle to Cleary, which he isn’t use too. He’s always been the dominate half. He’ll take a handful of games to click.

I thought he had some really good touches last night.

2nd fiddle too Pearce

Exsilium

Maloney is a great player, he’s highly critical of his own performances and I know he’ll come good. The pass he dropped from Cleary was at his head and in traffic but he’ll be better for it.

Merrin on MMM noted how important he’s been on the field. He’s been vital for setting up our forwards and has taken plenty of heat off Cleary. Vocal in keeping the boys heads up throughout the game and for all the criticism he’s copped about penalties and his defence he seems to have silenced that noise.

Also, credit where it’s due, Tamou did a lot yesterday.

35 Tackles, 10 hit ups, 90m (considering the heat), 4 tackle busts, no errors and one bullshit penalty. Notably he cover defended three crucial plays.

I also want to point out that Griffin interchange use was very good. I did however notice the ineffectiveness of RCG starting and having to weather the heat and the big Souths pack but overall I always felt our fitness and skill would get us home.

martielang

Bringing Kikau back with 10 left as well was a smart and positive. Peach could of got more minutes IMO but at the end of the day he brought him on & he immediately changed the game & got us the 2 points. Hard to argue with Hooks timing to be fair.

Is Hook starting to evolve as a coach?

Agree, I thought Tamou was excellent yesterday, lead from the front & played the first 30 straight in that heat. Really tightens up our middle defence as well.

mxlegend99

Dont recall which thread it was originally posted in. But the club has an injury update on Tim Browne.

https://www.penrithpanthers.com.au/news/2018/03/18/injury-update-tim-browne/

Panthers prop Tim Browne is recovering in hospital after undergoing emergency surgery for a ruptured bowel suffered in the Panthers ISP match on Saturday.

The 30-year-old is in a stable condition and is expected to make a full recovery.

Browne suffered the injury while being tackled in the first half of the Panthers win against North Sydney Bears at Panthers Stadium.

The club will provide further updates on Browne's recovery in the coming days.

OldPanther

Maloney is a great player, he’s highly critical of his own performances and I know he’ll come good. The pass he dropped from Cleary was at his head and in traffic but he’ll be better for it.

Merrin on MMM noted how important he’s been on the field. He’s been vital for setting up our forwards and has taken plenty of heat off Cleary. Vocal in keeping the boys heads up throughout the game and for all the criticism he’s copped about penalties and his defence he seems to have silenced that noise.

Also, credit where it’s due, Tamou did a lot yesterday.

35 Tackles, 10 hit ups, 90m (considering the heat), 4 tackle busts, no errors and one bullshit penalty. Notably he cover defended three crucial plays.

I also want to point out that Griffin interchange use was very good. I did however notice the ineffectiveness of RCG starting and having to weather the heat and the big Souths pack but overall I always felt our fitness and skill would get us home.

He seems to be having a go this year. He'll be good for us if he can keep up the effort consistently.

tripster

Abacus

I never said that he said it.

But its pretty f**king obvious what his motivation was. How does moving into the area contradict he left a $600k contract at Sharks for a 30%+ payrise with us?

He only left Sharks because he wanted more money and they didnt want to give it to him.

Sorry MX, my point was:

the real truth is something he has never said and only you know this?

You think you know more about whats going on inside a persons head than they do.

Im sorry. But his words about his motivations hold a lot more weight than your opinions based on absolutely nothing.

Pot, kettle, black.

mxlegend99

Sorry MX, my point was:

Pot, kettle, black.
It's a fact that Maloney wanted more money. Not an opinion.

Therefore its pretty obvious he came to us primarily for the huge payrise. He has never hidden that he's after a big fat salary. You're delusional if you think he left Sharks because he preferred us. And not because of the 30% payrise.

mxlegend99

A ruptured bowel is far better than a ruptured spleen as was suspected yesterday. It should heal pretty quickly. I reckon he'll be good to go within 4 weeks, although if he has a restricted diet during recovery he might lose a bit of weight.
I really had no idea how bad a ruptured bowel was. Bit of googling didnt help .

If uts only 4 weeks or so thats great news for him. Sounds painful as f**k though.

Abacus

It's a fact that Maloney wanted more money. Not an opinion.

Therefore its pretty obvious he came to us primarily for the huge payrise. He has never hidden that he's after a big fat salary. You're delusional if you think he left Sharks because he preferred us. And not because of the 30% payrise.
Mate, you're a hypocrite that wants to shit over the motivation of a current Panther and fight tooth and nail against anyone that does the same against one of your darling former players.

You're delusional if you can't see that.

mxlegend99

Mate, you're a hypocrite that wants to shit over the motivation of a current Panther and fight tooth and nail against anyone that does the same against one of your darling former players.

So Maloney wants a payrise at Sharks. They wont give it to him. So he wants out of the Sharks and then signs with us for a 30% payrise and Im a hypocrite on his motivations for signing with us?

Get your hand off it. Money was his primary concern. It's well documented.

Im not saying their weren't other factors. But the fact is he left Sharks because he wanted more money. If he was happy with his salary he doesn't leave. It's as simple as that.

mxlegend99

Like I said its clear he's here for money but that has never been a issue for him before
No but apparently we cant say that even though it's public knowledge he wanted out of the Sharks because they wouldn't give him a payrise.

Long before we ever had any interest in him.

OldPanther

Maloney did publicly complain about wanting more money.