Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 2 Vs Bulldogs [THE MATT BURTON CUP]- Bankwest Stadium 3pm Sat

Smug Panther

Have to agree. Couldn't find a place for Benji yet he basically got the Rabbitohs, a premiership contender, home last night.
Anyone who paid attention knows why Benji was punted. He was letting in 2 or 3 tries a game, the old fella is washed up

WestyLife

Haha Gus wasn't the coach you goose. He may have missed the mark a few times with resigning blokes etc. But one thing he got spot on was putting the emphasis back on junior development, the creation of the academy and country development paths.

Basically every junior we have brought through in the team now was part of the structures Gus put in place and were nutured by him.

Before he got here our team had hardly any juniors. Now everyone bar a few in 17 is. Coincidence... definitely not.

Without Gus the club wouldn't be where it is today. To say otherwise is stupid. His passion for the panthers and the younger blokes was more than most will know.

Had the privilege of hearing Gus speak at a few corporate nights and he honestly got emotional with how much he loved the club and nurturing the young kids.

Penrith is a development club..that is how we have always had success. So why should Staines be thrown to the wolves?

Yes he has talent, but talent only gets you so far. Just don't want to see the kid burnout and lose confidence because his been thrown in the deep end.

As I said, say what you want about Gus but his junior development and emphasis on that was top notch and has got the club to where we are at today.

Sir this is a Wendy's.

Is everyone forgetting Staines had a couple of gams last year then a full pre-season? He has been drip fed into grade already in the exact same manner as Crichton was.

Girds89

Gus didn't care if the team got past week 2. He looked good by them getting that far on a regular basis. One reason he had to move on.

Hahaha what a pathetic comment. Absolute dribble.

To even suggest he didn't care if we didn't get past week 2 is complete lunacy.

That's not an opinion that's just a trashy comment that has zero substance

Girds89

Sir this is a Wendy's.

Is everyone forgetting Staines had a couple of gams last year then a full pre-season? He has been drip fed into grade already in the exact same manner as Crichton was.

Not all players are the same mate. Some freaks clearly have the ability to slip right in.. critta was a naturally big body too.

Just because the process of development works for one player doesn't mean that's how it will work for someone else. Clearly player development isn't thst simple!!

Most of the boys in our team were eased in slowly. Yeo only played about 10 nrl games his first year in grade the rest nsw cup.

WestyLife

Not all players are the same mate. Some freaks clearly have the ability to slip right in.. critta was a naturally big body too.

Just because the process of development works for one player doesn't mean that's how it will work for someone else. Clearly player development isn't thst simple!!

Most of the boys in our team were eased in slowly. Yeo only played about 10 nrl games his first year in grade the rest nsw cup.

Staines first year he had 2 games in first grade, some reserve grade followed by a full pre-season. He's followed the development model you are asking for.

Girds89

Staines first year he had 2 games in first grade, some reserve grade followed by a full pre-season. He's followed the development model you are asking for.

Correct me if I'm wrong but didn't nsw cup get canned after rd 1... so he's gone from nyc 2019 to-
*1 reserve grade game 2020
No footy for ages
2 nrl games

Not quite the model mate.

betcats

Watching that game it really highlights why the dogs had to spend more on their forward pack. JAC and Burton wouldn’t of changed the result yesterday, they could barely get out of their own half. Our defence was just eating them up.

Jacks been a little disappointing so far, Averillo I barely noticed yesterday. Cotric is a handful but I still think he’s a Brian to’o style winger rather than a centre.

Girds89

I understand last year was tough for development for everyone but he's literally played 3 games against grown men.

Nsw cup and nrl is a lot different to nyc which is all about attack the defence is average and players aren't fully developed into their body.

Girds89

Watching that game it really highlights why the dogs had to spend more on their forward pack. JAC and Burton wouldn’t of changed the result yesterday, they could barely get out of their own half. Our defence was just eating them up.

Jacks been a little disappointing so far, Averillo I barely noticed yesterday. Cotric is a handful but I still think he’s a Brian to’o style winger rather than a centre.

Cotric should definitely be on a wing for them. Dwz will be off to super league in a year or 2 I reckon.

Girds89

He played 7 nsw cup games in 2019. Cleary has been great at bringing kids in to grade for a long time he knows what he is doing.

Fair enough. I agree ivan has done a good job with the kids. Definitely a model Gus really got going and IC has done well.

Like I've said previously I hope he will put Staines back down for further development if he keeps up the 4/10 performances because it will do nothing for his confidence.

Staines to me is very similar to JAC and it even took Bellamy a bit to get the best out of him.

Girds89

Only part watched nsw cup yesterday. Will watch rest today on kayo but Billy burns will be ready for a full season of fg next year and I think definitely ready to step into capes shoes if/when he goes back north. He's going to be a good player.

Luke Bowden

Really? What's he done to show that? He scored a few tries which were basically catch and score!!!

He has made mistakes both games this year which shouldn't have been made and has had very little involvement.

I have no doubt he's a special talent but he is raw and certainly looks like he needs a fair bit of time, development and more size.

Was only a few years ago r Jennings was scoring tries every week for the bunnies. Very underrated solid player. I have no doubt that if he was on the wing in the first 2 games he'd have done as good a job as Charlie with probably an extra 100m to his name

Charlie is defensively solid. Has great hands, both under the high ball and passing. He is also very smart footballer. He most obvious asset is his speed.

He’s been in our system for a long time and has more then proved himself.

He’s yet to be given a chance this season, the right edge is still a work in progress, once that sorts its self out, and it will, he’ll be scoring tries in the corner.

R Jennings is a slightly better version of MWZ. Good back up, but that’s about it.

Judging Staines on these first two games is silly, look at him at the half way mark.

franklin2323

I compare Staines to Addo-Carr or Papenhuyzen size wise. Both were slow burns and look at them now

franklin2323

Only part watched nsw cup yesterday. Will watch rest today on kayo but Billy burns will be ready for a full season of fg next year and I think definitely ready to step into capes shoes if/when he goes back north. He's going to be a good player.

Being captain will help him grow

franklin2323

Fair enough. I agree ivan has done a good job with the kids. Definitely a model Gus really got going and IC has done well.

Like I've said previously I hope he will put Staines back down for further development if he keeps up the 4/10 performances because it will do nothing for his confidence.

Staines to me is very similar to JAC and it even took Bellamy a bit to get the best out of him.

Size wise. Skill wise JAC is a good comparision