Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 21 vs. the SCUM

RedVDave

Their Was a set in the game with about 5 minutes to go that Andrew Johns described as the worst set in NRL history and I agreed it was very telling we were all bunched no one wanted to hit the ball no one put their hand up to do something It was just one out one out one out and then we dropped it it was truly pathetic with the game on the line (and some can argue the season) and THAT is what we dished up no enthusiasm no aggression no creativity and no clue.

We have no heart and desire anymore our forwards are soft and we have the worst hooker rotation in the comp making our attack slow and pedestrian as mentioned in an earlier post we have made playing dumb football and art form.

mickeylane

The solution is a combination of recruiting better quality players (at least 6 in our case) and a coach that has proven he can make positive changes when given an opportunity .. I must admit the Mick Potter option is looking like a goer after what he’s done w the once happless Bulldogs and Josh Hannay is also not a bad option.. I honestly wouldn’t mind either in 2023 more so over the predictable appointment of Shane Flanagan

Dragsters

We will never know whether the juniors can cut it in first grade until they play a dozen consecutive first grade games together under a coach that believes in them and has a game plan that includes attempting to attack the weaknesses of the opposition defence.

The last 20 minutes resembled a training session of a group of players who had just met.

You cannot judge the players based on Hook’s attacking structures and game plan.

At the moment the game plan is give the ball to Ben Hunt.

Thst of itself is not a game plan.

So much this.

Post of the thread imo...

Dragsters

Yep, I don’t think there is one supporter left that still believes Hook is the coach we need, unfortunately he has been a gigantic failure. Just no strategy, lack of foresight, inability to get the players playing to their potential. And a real lack of passion. He doesn’t seem to care or understand the club.
Looking forward to ending the Hook chapter, won’t be long now.

I still say we should have signed Shaun Waine at the time.

We will probably end up with Dean Young.

If so I really hope he has what it takes as he is unproven and I just don't know if we can survive another failure of a coach...

since77

Sloan dropped an uncontested bomb. I see that happen every 2nd or 3rd game each weekend. I also once watched some guy who now captains us drop an uncontested kick off to hand a grand final to the Cowboys. Some keyboard warriors just love to pile onto a guy who’s had his confidence shattered by this dinosaur of a “coach”.
The poor kid should have been on the wing all year getting used to first grade the same way the smart coaches blood their up and coming fulllbacks. Most modern fullbacks get introduced to first grade on the wing. Our coach throws them in to fullback, then drops them, then lets them sit in reserve grade for half a season, then gIves them 10 minutes off the bench, then sets them up for failure. And while he’ll pick exactly the same slow, error ridden, defensively pathetic forward pack that’s the laughing stock of the NRL next week, I’m betting he’ll punish Sloan for an unforced error and the whole cycle will repeat again….

be55

Who's my old mate supposed to be? Weren't you the one who said us 13+?

There's a few nonsense posts to filter through on an hourly basis here these days so it's hard to know who belongs to what.
My post was only a joke that i thought you’d find funny, but since you want to have a shot at me, let me respond...No it wasn’t me that said 13 plus. I wouldn’t back us to win 13 plus against a reserve grade team at the moment.

There's a few nonsense posts to filter through on an hourly basis here these days so it's hard to know who belongs to what.
I agree...I have to read these comments from these Hook dick lickers who refuse to remove his member from their mouths for 5 minutes and look around and acknowledge the complete trash we’ve dished up on the field since he’s been in charge. These deluded fools who mindlessly endorse everything he does, and think he’s some sort of coaching messiah. These posters who like seeing our juniors struggling because they see it as a win for Hook’s team selection philosophy when they do. All the while failing to acknowledge that their form and confidence has deteriorated under Hook’s watch, and ignoring the fact that a complete lack of attacking structure and game plan from our coach, might be adding to their struggles. These fools who watch us week after week, running around the field looking like we have no plan of attack and looking like we don’t even train together, but would prefer to blame our juniors when they make an error on last tackle, than place any blame on the coach whatsoever.

You know those fools don’t you mate?

THEY’RE THE NONSENSE POSTS I HAVE TO FILTER THROUGH

I'm Hornby

I agree...I have to read these comments from these Hook dick lickers who refuse to remove his member from their mouths for 5 minutes and look around and acknowledge the complete trash we’ve dished up
Wow I understand the frustration but the homophobic slur is a bit far buddy. Try to enjoy the rest of your weekend.

Kolum Kid

Sloan dropped an uncontested bomb. I see that happen every 2nd or 3rd game each weekend. I also once watched some guy who now captains us drop an uncontested kick off to hand a grand final to the Cowboys. Some keyboard warriors just love to pile onto a guy who’s had his confidence shattered by this dinosaur of a “coach”.
The poor kid should have been on the wing all year getting used to first grade the same way the smart coaches blood their up and coming fulllbacks. Most modern fullbacks get introduced to first grade on the wing. Our coach throws them in to fullback, then drops them, then lets them sit in reserve grade for half a season, then gIves them 10 minutes off the bench, then sets them up for failure. And while he’ll pick exactly the same slow, error ridden, defensively pathetic forward pack that’s the laughing stock of the NRL next week, I’m betting he’ll punish Sloan for an unforced error and the whole cycle will repeat again….
Quote of the thread. So spot on.

slippery5

Hey Guys. I am just a random Panther fan who watched the game on and off.
I understand your pain having Hook as your coach.

When he was at the Panthers his game plan was pretty much forwards bash the opposition. Hold onto the ball (completions) then have our talented players (at the Time we had players like prime Moylan and T.Peachey) improvise on the field when the opposition had been worn down.

Otherwise we looked like headless chooks. No set plays. No running different shapes, or deep back lines. Does this sound familiar to you guys at all?

His style of coaching does not cut it at NRL level. It is inexcusable to not have set plays and deliberate onfield tactics, rather than just hope a player does something brilliant.

The disciplinarian/Trainer/motivator coach might cut it at lower grades, or May even help a bottom 4-5 team get out of the dumps, but if you want your team to do more than merely compete for (the bottom) of a Top 8 spot, the coach has to do more.
Thanks, you have made me feel "worse" than I already do

Crush

Great post mate, I’m sure you’re right too, Sloan will be the scapegoat. Coach has NFI.

Draginzaaar

FFS, you really expect Sloane to turn the game when our whole game plan is cactus. OK he missed a bomb that he should’ve taken but our game plan is not conducive to him being involved in every play and turning a game. Get real. You can have Tedesco in the team and we still lose.
No, Tedesco would make 200-300 meters per game because he gets the ball every set. I think we would have won more games with Teddy.