Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 23 v Broncos - Game Day Thread

Obviously it would have been much closer Staggs but it does not excuse the minimal attacking options our team posess and our poor technique in defence and want to play the ball at speed.
When other teams decide to play up tempo footy we struggle.
Yes it actually does.Silly post.

No one said we were a chance of losing any of those blokes if Foran stuck around on $1.2 million under the salary cap for the next 3 years.

Why would we suddenly have been a chance of losing them if we lose Foran but pay The Plane exactly what he was on?
Once the NRL added Foran's TPAs we were a big chance of losing someone, most likely Norman.

But Hayne wouldn't solve our hooker or halves problem, plus he would make another contracted player (French or Gutherson) redundant.

phantom eel

Compare him to our other middle forwards.
Alvaro's "stats" look pretty good in comparison... 34 tackles, 12 runs for 104m. Wicksy had 35 tackles, 7 runs for 75m (high m per run than Tim.

So maybe Mannah was our third best middle forward being generous? He's bench mateial in 2017.

It wasn't as good but it didn't capitulate like it has every game Scott hasn't played. It's the same when Scott goes off. That's another criticism I have of BA, Scott is off for far too long considering he also gets the half time break.

I'm genuinely interested to know what win/loss ratio it would take to get you to change your mind?
It would only matter if we were comparing like for like situations. Scott has only missed three games and they have all been while the team was facing a multitude of other setbacks. You can't compare his impact with Watmough's other than to look at their individual stats. That's the most reliable method, and even those are tainted by occurring in two different years.

...and I said that Scott's contribution is greater, regardless of any attacking differences, which is increasingly becoming clearer based on our ability to win games without both players and our loss ratio with them playing.

Don't forget there were plenty of plodders playing last year as well in rounds 20-26 including Kelly, Jo Paulo, Pauli, Robinson, Lussick, Morgan, Faraimo and Toutai
Those guys were all playing before Watmough got injured as well.

Mate I would never consider Scott a key contributor to our team because he offers nothing in attack. Plays his limited defensive role extremely well though, and we do miss him in defence.

lol, tell us about how you knew Hindy was a weak on field captain and we'll tell you how we know Mannah is as well.
I didn't say Hindmarsh was a weak captain, I said he was a poor leader. The main proof (besides being a Brian Smith favourite) was his autobiography.

But he had a lot more natural ability than Mannah and a higher profile. So he should have been more influential.

forward pass

The Gutho experiment at five eighth has been a dismal failure in my opinion. First game there he was ok but all we have done is weakened our outside backs. Gutho should have been in the centres today, and Manu where he belongs. We weakened our back row, our halves and our centres by playing players out of position. I am not sure who should be playing 6 but surely it has to be specialist half - even if they young and inexperienced.

I trust BA - but I don't understand what's going on right now with selections.

So whom are you criticising for that?
whats wrong with saying IDG and Robson shouldn't be options next year ??? Jesus tap dancing Christ no one can have an opinion in here unless we fellate all put players no matter how shit they are. I'd rather go with some youngsters than watch the same over the hill plodders stink up the side.

Nobody wants guth at 6, having said that he's been strong since moving there! Do u ever stop whinging?? The entire team struggled tonight.
No, I never stop whinging. I love the Guth Bus he tries his arse off every week. But he's not a 6. Hasn't stopped people talking him up as an option in the halves next to Norman next season.

ash411

No, I never stop whinging. I love the Guth Bus he tries his arse off every week. But he's not a 6. Hasn't stopped people talking him up as an option in the halves next to Norman next season.
IF, and that's a big if, we can't get a half for whatever reason next year, and have to wait till the halves market opens up next year to get the half we need for the future, I wouldn't be opposed to giving Guth a run with Norman, but I think this new kid might be the better option though. The one from QLD. Jamal what-his-face

The Gutho experiment at five eighth has been a dismal failure in my opinion. First game there he was ok but all we have done is weakened our outside backs. Gutho should have been in the centres today, and Manu where he belongs. We weakened our back row, our halves and our centres by playing players out of position. I am not sure who should be playing 6 but surely it has to be specialist half - even if they young and inexperienced.

I trust BA - but I don't understand what's going on right now with selections.
Robson and Gutherson were the best options available today. Either would have been a lot better 'outside' our primary half Corey Norman.

Anyway, our attack will improve when we get key attacking players back. Our main problem tonight was defence, which wouldn't have been improved by fielding a specialist half despite lack of defensive ability.

IF, and that's a big if, we can't get a half for whatever reason next year, and have to wait till the halves market opens up next year to get the half we need for the future, I wouldn't be opposed to giving Guth a run with Norman, but I think this new kid might be the better option though. The one from QLD. Jamal what-his-face
As Forward Pass said earlier it just weakens our backline.

And I don't think it fair on him playing out of posistion I really think he should be our fullback next year and I reckon he would kill it.