Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 6 - Rabbitohs vs Bulldogs: Friday 15th April 4:00pm @Accor Stadium

Souths Till I Die

Its unfortunate latrells out because I would of liked to see.

Latrell
AJ
Taafe
Graham
Paulo/Milne

I think this should be our backline when Latrell returns unless we have one of our young guns step up and really perform.

callmack1

Happy Easter everyone!! The time of the year where everyone celebrates the Bunnies haha. Boy, aren't we in for an Easter treat tonight?! That's right, here we are, it's game day as we take on the Bulldogs in the annual Good Friday fixture today!! This afternoon is a huge occasion, as it always is on Good Friday. It's always one of the biggest clashes of the year for us. I always love this clash, one of my favourites that I always circle on the calendar. It's Easter and a long weekend so it always brings a large crowd which makes it a big game, as I said, a big occasion, and I'm sure this year will be no different.

On top of that, we're playing one of our biggest rivals in the Canterbury Bankstown Bulldogs. This rivalry has well over 80 years of history in it now and there's been some huge clashes over the years. Finals games, famous Grand Finals, plenty of incidents, it's had it all. Plenty of feeling in this one and I can tell you right now that I do not like the Bulldogs!

However, despite my dislike for them, I don't think this afternoon is as clear cut as some believe. Good Friday seems to bring out the best in both teams more often than not. Both teams seem to fire up for the occasion. Think back on all the Good Friday games since 2012, how many have we done easy? Only 2013 and last year, 2021, spring to mind. The rest have been very tough, pretty close contests and I'm expecting that today. The Dogs have been struggling a bit but I still think they're looking in better shape than this time last year and a big occasion like this could be exactly what they need. Therefore, I don't think we can under-estimate them at all because if we do, we'll get our pants pulled down. They still have some real stars in their team and some real strike but kind of like us, they've had lots of new combinations to get used to and that takes time. A team that contains the likes of Dufty, Addo-Carr, Burton, Vaughan, Jackson and Thompson is not a side to be scoffed at. If they get things right, they can fire. As always, they'll be super fired up for a Good Friday upset and we need to be wary of that.

I'm sure the occasion will get us up for this game too! If it doesn't, well then nothing will! We need to win this game, there's no two ways about that. We just have to. If you want to be top four, then these are the kind of games you should be winning. I think the boys will know that and for that reason alone, there is no room to be complacent today. I want to see the lads go out there, fired up and focused on getting the job done. We need to show some real signs of improvement today. For me, it all starts with that completion rate. Still, we've only really put it together in one game so far this Season so that really needs to be fixed this arvo. Get it up around 80%. If we can do that and continue to keep our defence tight, then the rest will flow off the back of that. We can win this one if we put it together and get things right.

Time to start climbing that ladder hopefully, we need to win today!! The big Good Friday clash, the big Easter showdown. I'm confident the boys can get the treats and come away with the chocolates. Let's all get out there and cheer the boys on!!! Bring it!!!

southsport

Its unfortunate latrells out because I would of liked to see.

Latrell
AJ
Taafe
Graham
Paulo/Milne

I think this should be our backline when Latrell returns unless we have one of our young guns step up and really perform.
Taaffe is too small to play centre for mine.

Well here we are guys one of the games we look forward too at Easter time Happy Easter everyone. Yep our Good Friday Arvo Easter game is here against fierce rivals the Bulldogs. Last year was a blowout in our favour but apart from that when we play them it’s always a battle and fairly close and the Dogs love to aim up against us and turn it into a scrap and I’m sure they’ll come to play hard today. At times last week against Penrith when they moved the ball around they looked good so we need to be on alert. They have some quality players in Addo Carr, Burton, Young Flanagan with a point to prove and a strong pack with TPJ and Max King etc.... who love to offload which can be very dangerous. So yeah they’ll be desperate today for that win but so will we we have to want it more.

For us it was a take of 2 halves last week did good in the first half and in the second half put some pressure on ourselves by making far too many errors. So yeah our biggest focus needs to be our completion rate first and foremost we can’t afford to drop cheap ball otherwise the Dogs will make us pay. We need to win that battle in the middle and put pressure on them. I’m hoping Cody can get his hands on the ball a bit more, we sure need him to step up. Losing Trell is a big blow but we all know Taaffe can do the job. I’m excited to see young Tass debut today he’s been going well in reserve grade and deserves his chance. If Arrow is out that’ll be a blow but it’ll be a next man up mentality and we still have enough troops to get the job done.

Also surely we get a better turnout from our members and fans today 24C and Sunny a perfect day to take the family to the Easter Show and then come to the footy. Lets hope the stands are dominated by Red and Green lets make sure the Bulldogs know this is South Sydney home turf and a South Sydney home game. I’ll be there with Dad our voices are fully loaded to get us that extra 6 again or penalty. Also no doubt the Kennel will be making noise so we need to get that South Sydney chant up and going!

SOUTH SYDNEY CLAP CLAP CLAP

Ok as we look down the tunnel here at Accor Stadium we can see the boys from Belmore starting to making their way down the tunnel. Rabbitohs members and Rabbitohs supporters please give a warm South Sydney welcome to the Canterbury Bankstown Bulldogs.......

10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1.............

OK RABBITOHS MEMBERS AND RABBITOHS SUPPORTERS ITS TIME ONCE AGAIN TO GET ON YOUR FFFEEETTTTTT! SHOW THE COLOURS CLAP YOUR HANDS STAMP YOUR FEET AND SCREAM YOUR LUNGS OUT HERE THEY COME YOUR SOUTH SYDNEY RABBITOHS!!!

LETS MAKE PLENTY OF NOISE FOR THE FULL 80MINS LETS GO RRRAABBBIITTTOOOHHHSSS!!!

We must go 3 and 3 so yeah we have to urge the boys home

Souths Till I Die

Taaffe is too small to play centre for mine.

In my opinion size doesn't matter when you have the tackling technique. Look at lachy illias. He's a machine on defence. Taafe has what we need on offence he would just need to impress in defence. I think he'd be sweet.

Veracity14

If you play Taafe in the centres it’s similar to what the sharks were doing with Connor Tracey, it centres around slotting your best players in where you can, Taafe strikes me as pretty versatile, it could work

Souths Till I Die

If you play Taafe in the centres it’s similar to what the sharks were doing with Connor Tracey, it centres around slotting your best players in where you can, Taafe strikes me as pretty versatile, it could work

It would only be a temporary solution until we find a long term centre through development or recruitment.

southsport

In my opinion size doesn't matter when you have the tackling technique. Look at lachy illias. He's a machine on defence. Taafe has what we need on offence he would just need to impress in defence. I think he'd be sweet.
There's a lot of talk that Tass has the ability to nail down a centre spot today.......let's hope he has a big game.

Veracity14

There's a lot of talk that Tass has the ability to nail down a centre spot today.......let's hope he has a big game.

Ive seen very little from that lot
The thing I have seen is inconsistency
If you think first grade are frustrating you’ve seen nothing until you’ve seen reserve grade
Most have played very little footy for over two years, I’d want to see some real strong performances week in week out before I put them in
Too me Tass is no better or worse than Sauce & Gagai & I think Karapani has more upside

southsport

Ive seen very little from that lot
The thing I have seen is inconsistency
If you think first grade are frustrating you’ve seen nothing until you’ve seen reserve grade
Most have played very little footy for over two years, I’d want to see some real strong performances week in week out before I put them in
Too me Tass is no better or worse than Sauce & Gagai & I think Karapani has more upside
I haven't seen him at all but I'm hoping that he is the goods.

Veracity14

Reserve grade obviously copped a rocket last week & they’ve come out fired up & playing very well, just scored the first try, they look like they’re very focussed, expect a big performance if they don’t switch off

Veracity14

And there we have it, some obvious intent & an altered mindset & we’re up 26-6 at half time, finally showing their true ability
Maybe Kennar & Tass were the problem, our defence is certainly better

Veracity14

Friggin Buddy Gordon in the bin, the only reason he’s there is to provide guidance & help the young blokes & he goes & leaves us a man down & the Shonky Bluebags score a meat pie