It was 'having a dig' but that's all it was and that should be a given anyway. Full marks to Dufty for his two nice passes. The bloke has major deficiencies in his game but you cannot argue with his talent or footy smarts. ATM he's the only player capable of creating a line break. The way he's starting to use the ball he might even be worth a crack in the halves before too long.
That was the good stuff.
– There is no quality to anything we offer structurally in attack. Passes are behind the man, not out in front. The shifts are sluggish, there's no width to any of the passing. It's like pass the parcel, left and right. No switches of play, run-arounds, anything remotely resembling football.
– Not enough vigour or footwork in the forward running. Too many of them stop and turn into tackling bags, happy to take their 7m. Where is the mongrel? There never seems to be anybody prepared to wind up for a really big run anywhere on the field. No Saints forwards in the top 10 for run metres.
– That goes for coming out of our area too. Not enough second phase support play. It's all one out. They seem afraid to link up with one another.
– No imagination in set play or with last tackle options. Boring and ineffective. We must be one of the few teams who still put up bombs with the view to them being an old-fashioned lottery. Rarely to we see 'attacking' kicks. There is no plan to get the ball back and no support when we do. Other teams have players jumping in pairs and sweepers wrapping around in support. We are flat out just getting one guy into the contest.
– Defensive line looked like a dog's hind leg all night. Blokes rushing up, others staying still. Saab had a shocker but you can't throw the kid away after one hit-out. JP and Ravalawa have been forgiven for more than one stinker. Show some faith.
– We have one of the most 'static' middles in the game, there's just no line speed in there apart from the skipper. Watched and waited for JWH, Cordner et al to get to the advantage line all night. Could not stop their momentum at any point. Constantly failed to wrap up the ball and kill off the tackle. 17 offloads to the chooks. Some poor second efforts from defenders generally not working in unison.
– Worst team in the comp for pressuring kickers. It was non-existent tonight. Miss Tariq here.
– We are never in control of a game, even when in front we play like we are behind. No plan, discipline or composure.
– Don't know what's wrong with Hunt but he would be well served to study Keary ... forget dishing off to somebody standing flat and just get the ball and run it.
– Unfortunately Clune needs a bit more time to settle in. Can't quit on him now but I'd like to see him get more involved, particularly on 5th tackle plays and kicks. Heaps better kicker than Norman in the attacking zone and generally a better option-taker.
– Corey Norman. Two words. Park footballer.