Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 7 v Roosters

redv13

Are you kidding? He was barely included in the game plan. It's a joke how much ball Norman (dreadful player) gets compared to him. They force him to stay exclusively on the left side and then Hunt/McInnes just exclusively shift the ball right. It's disgraceful.

Mary was forced to pick him by the selection committee and this is how he counters it.

I don't know how more people can't see this.
Clune was fine tonight, Norman quite the opposite

Belta

How depressing was that? In fact the only thing more disappointing than the inevitable loss is the fans who write off some of our players. IMO not even a miracle would of saved us from defeat. The league have allowed the gap between the top teams and bottom teams to be so great that bottom teams have no chance and yeah replacing the shit coach is one good idea but without another ten rep players won’t achieve much, but what would I know,

My take aways form the game
  • Easts front rowers played 80 minutes & 76 minutes respectively and still had some left in the tank when it counted. Such effort and dedication allows an effective bench rotation even when you are 2 down for most of the game.
  • If not for Dufty's attacking input we would be in even worse shape than the diabolical mess we are already in.
  • Mc Innes now starting to show signs of fatigue as has every other back rower we have tried to get to play 80 minutes. He is trying his guts out but errors will gradually increase with the fatigue.
  • Hunt & Norman completely ruin our attack and despite changes around them they demand the ball and get it and then f**k it up. They have to be dropped for the sake of letting our attack flow and the likes of Mc Innes, Clune, Dufty (and Sailor of he is picked) to shine.
  • Dufty should give passing lessons to our halves as he is just sublime at picking the moment and then hitting the target. His ability is not just limited to the bullet like nature of the pass but also the position he delivers to in front of the player which allows that player to pick the angle of his run.
  • Hunt & Norman simply pass the ball somewhere between the knees and the shoulders and somewhere from a foot in front of the player to just behind their hip. All too slow and casual.
  • Kerr is really improving and starting to poke his nose and shoulders though the line but not a support player in sight so if we are not careful shortly he will get disheartened as his efforts are not being utilised.
We need to gake into account the coach's game plan and instructions to players. I've always thought Dufty would make a good 6 if he could improve his defensive skills and although he did some good things in attack last night, his positiong in defence was poor.

Dragonslayer

Several times last night, Clune ran around to the left to create the extra man giving us a 4 on 3 situation. Hunt ignored him everytime. One in particular, poor Cluney threw his hands up in the air.

It's obvious to me Hunt wants his #7 jersey back.

And speaking of Hunt, why did he take the kick for touch (which ultimately didn't find touch) when it should have been Norman or Clune? Answer, see point above (also check his body language after that failed kick).

TruSaint

Yep, Im not gonna be too harsh on Clune, as its seems his role has been limited and playing very conservative.

Norman has been with us for a while now, and just offers nothing.

Not a bad effort overall, but we are a way off. Tedesco would have had a field day as our players fatigued in that game.

The Friz

It was 'having a dig' but that's all it was and that should be a given anyway. Full marks to Dufty for his two nice passes. The bloke has major deficiencies in his game but you cannot argue with his talent or footy smarts. ATM he's the only player capable of creating a line break. The way he's starting to use the ball he might even be worth a crack in the halves before too long.

That was the good stuff.

– There is no quality to anything we offer structurally in attack. Passes are behind the man, not out in front. The shifts are sluggish, there's no width to any of the passing. It's like pass the parcel, left and right. No switches of play, run-arounds, anything remotely resembling football.
– Not enough vigour or footwork in the forward running. Too many of them stop and turn into tackling bags, happy to take their 7m. Where is the mongrel? There never seems to be anybody prepared to wind up for a really big run anywhere on the field. No Saints forwards in the top 10 for run metres.
– That goes for coming out of our area too. Not enough second phase support play. It's all one out. They seem afraid to link up with one another.
– No imagination in set play or with last tackle options. Boring and ineffective. We must be one of the few teams who still put up bombs with the view to them being an old-fashioned lottery. Rarely to we see 'attacking' kicks. There is no plan to get the ball back and no support when we do. Other teams have players jumping in pairs and sweepers wrapping around in support. We are flat out just getting one guy into the contest.
– Defensive line looked like a dog's hind leg all night. Blokes rushing up, others staying still. Saab had a shocker but you can't throw the kid away after one hit-out. JP and Ravalawa have been forgiven for more than one stinker. Show some faith.
– We have one of the most 'static' middles in the game, there's just no line speed in there apart from the skipper. Watched and waited for JWH, Cordner et al to get to the advantage line all night. Could not stop their momentum at any point. Constantly failed to wrap up the ball and kill off the tackle. 17 offloads to the chooks. Some poor second efforts from defenders generally not working in unison.
– Worst team in the comp for pressuring kickers. It was non-existent tonight. Miss Tariq here.
– We are never in control of a game, even when in front we play like we are behind. No plan, discipline or composure.
– Don't know what's wrong with Hunt but he would be well served to study Keary ... forget dishing off to somebody standing flat and just get the ball and run it.
– Unfortunately Clune needs a bit more time to settle in. Can't quit on him now but I'd like to see him get more involved, particularly on 5th tackle plays and kicks. Heaps better kicker than Norman in the attacking zone and generally a better option-taker.
– Corey Norman. Two words. Park footballer.
Agree with this. 100% spot on assessment.