Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 8 vs Eels

Saint_JimmyG

Insanity, as defined by Einstein, is repeating the same action in anticipation of a different outcome.
Ergo, old Copy/Paste will trot out the same team v the Eels unless injury forces his hand.
If I could force his hand, I would drop Trundles (Latimore), Turnstiles (Aitken) and Butterfingers (Pereira) so that they can spend a bit of time in the second tier getting their acts together.
My 17, for what it's worth (Pi$$ing in the wind is my favourite hobby) would be :
1 Dufty 2 Ravalawa 3 Z Lomax 4 Lafai 5 Pearson 6 Norman 7 Hunt
13 Host 12 T Sims 11 Frizell 10 Vaughan 9 McInnes 8 Graham
14 Lawrie 15 Leilua 16 Ford 17 Field
McInnes does a lot of work and could probably do with a 15 minute spell. I would shift Hunt to dummy-half and run Field at half-back while he has a breather to come back for a final 15-20 burst.
From what I've seen of Ford he is absolutely ready for First grade.
I'm also a big fan of Lawrie, but I would play him as a prop, in rotation with Vaughan and Graham.

Ravalawa? Seriously? Must we endure more frustration at the hands (pardon the irony) of a rookie who is simply not up to first grade? Maranta (with Pearson) is the only way to go. Mind you, this is the stupid path the club has to tread when “management” doesn’t adequately recruit during the off-season.

Also, Lawrie is too small as a prop. Better to keep him as JDB’s replacement...he is doing a fantastic job.

Elsewhere, there should be more posts containing “ergo” (aka. therefore). I was watching Hot Seat with Eddie M. during the week, and some ignoramus got a question asking for its meaning.

Feeling frustrated, I wanted to throw a brick at the telly...sadly, one couldn’t be found.

Show me the money!

getsmarty

‘I’ll be spraying them’: Norman relishes contest against old Parramatta Eels teammates
Dragons
  • April 27, 2019 6:27pm
  • by Scott Bailey
  • Source: AAP
7d48e1151f736f4cd1af5a1323aceb2f

Corey Norman will face his former club this weekSource: Getty Images
St George Illawarra playmaker Corey Norman has never been one to bite his tongue.

One of the straightest shooters in the NRL, the 28-year-old had already let his mind wander to next Sunday against his old Parramatta teammates within an hour of full-time on Anzac Day.

“Yeah, I’ll be spraying them,” Norman laughed.

Round 7
“I will be throwing a bit of lip on the field but I’ll be getting some back too.

“No doubt I will be seeing a bit of traffic and I’m looking forward to the competition.”

Norman spent all of the past two seasons hearing about what the redeveloped Western Sydney Stadium would be like.

728010_640x360_large_20190425202808.jpg

Chooks too good for Dragons

3:44
But come next weekend he’ll run out there a fortnight after the rest of his ex- Eels teammates have, and wearing the Dragons’ Red V.

The Queenslander’s exit from the Eels wasn’t clean cut after a five-season stay there.

He had a year to run on his contract and it came after rumours of him being shopped around by Parramatta for the majority of 2018.

Norman also spent the back half of last season moving between fullback and five- eighth, as his halves partnership with Mitchell Moses never gelled.

727639_640x360_large_20190422184011.jpg

Ouch! Eels obliterate Tigers

2:07
But in his first game up against his old team, Norman insists he won’t be going out there to make a statement.

“There’s no point to prove, it is what it is. I have left there … it’s rugby league and people get moved on,” he said.

“I’m happy now, they’re happy now. It’s just going to be a great game at a new stadium.” Norman watched the Eels’ stadium-opening flogging of the Wests Tigers as closely as anyone.

He recognised the emotion surrounding the club’s return to their Parramatta base, and the excitement But while he knows the ground will continue to provide some kind of advantage for his old club, he doesn’t expect the Eels to maintain the same type of rage.

“That was always going to happen with the new ground there, but I’d be very surprised if they do that again,” Norman said.

“No doubt they will start well again, but the way they started last week was pretty crazy.

“We’ve probably got to step our first half up because they will be coming out firing.”

https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...s/news-story/81d6db10535732d8a42f2ca9aa6f85ec

slippery5

Insanity, as defined by Einstein, is repeating the same action in anticipation of a different outcome.
Ergo, old Copy/Paste will trot out the same team v the Eels unless injury forces his hand.
If I could force his hand, I would drop Trundles (Latimore), Turnstiles (Aitken) and Butterfingers (Pereira) so that they can spend a bit of time in the second tier getting their acts together.
My 17, for what it's worth (Pi$$ing in the wind is my favourite hobby) would be :
1 Dufty 2 Ravalawa 3 Z Lomax 4 Lafai 5 Pearson 6 Norman 7 Hunt
13 Host 12 T Sims 11 Frizell 10 Vaughan 9 McInnes 8 Graham
14 Lawrie 15 Leilua 16 Ford 17 Field
McInnes does a lot of work and could probably do with a 15 minute spell. I would shift Hunt to dummy-half and run Field at half-back while he has a breather to come back for a final 15-20 burst.
From what I've seen of Ford he is absolutely ready for First grade.
I'm also a big fan of Lawrie, but I would play him as a prop, in rotation with Vaughan and Graham.
If you think your halves are not good enough to play the whole game in their position then don't play them at all.
That idea was shown how stupid Mc'Noidea was in the first 2 rounds, until Widdop's injury.

Crush

Hail Parramatta. Up the mighty Eels :kissing:
Eels looked pretty ordinary today mate, NRL is a funny game, one week you're on next you're off.
Dragons with 10 day turn, I always feel we are flat with a long layoff. We play our best footy on 5 day turn arounds for some reason.
Anyway, may the best team win.

Eels looked pretty ordinary today mate, NRL is a funny game, one week you're on next you're off.
Dragons with 10 day turn, I always feel we are flat with a long layoff. We play our best footy on 5 day turn arounds for some reason.
Anyway, may the best team win.
I felt our players were showing signs of fatigue over the past couple of games and so I'm glad we have the 10 day trun around. I just hope Mary doesn't floog them too hard during this 10 day turn around.

I'd like to be surprised with some selection changes and better bench management for the game against the Eels; we can live in hope!

Crush

I felt our players were showing signs of fatigue over the past couple of games and so I'm glad we have the 10 day trun around. I just hope Mary doesn't floog them too hard during this 10 day turn around.

I'd like to be surprised with some selection changes and better bench management for the game against the Eels; we can live in hope!
4pm Tuesday.
Expect the expected!

Frank Facer

You do know he’ll still be there OT, even when Korbin comes back, not to mention JDB???.
I’m thinking L plate will probably drop Luc &/or Host. If he does this I’ll take his L’s off him.:weary:
I would have thought you were right, but Mary actually brought Lucky on before halftime and left him out there for the start of the second half. Latimore was only brought on mid second half. That may indicate that Lucky has moved ahead of Latimore, in Mary's opinion. I hope so. I am hope so.

Mary had Lucky playing in the middle on Thursday. I hope he gives him a lot more game time in the middle and I hope that Lucky can develop into a top line prop over the next few years. I will also add that Lucky looks to be in great shape physically. He has really put the effort in to losing weight and getting a good body shape. That tells me that he had the right attitude and will to succeed. He has got the talent. I just think he needs a confidence boost.

Glenn012

I think we need 3 middle forwards on the bench. At full strength including DeBelin, I would have Lucky, Lawrie and K Sims on my bench.
What about Host? Forgot about him or leaving him out? But I think you are you right. No way Host should be in the ISP but that is the L'Embarras des richesses we have in the forwards.

Knights exposed holes around the ruck... trust Mary will see this and that McInnes will exploit

I hope that he does also Mark D , but then again I have this image of the maestro trying to align the colored squares of a Rubick’s cube . :rolling_eyes: