Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 8 vs Roosters

The Damo

Incorrect. In 2015 we started 6-1 as well (that's 3 times out of last 4 seasons) and bowed out in game one of the finals. Today is so crucial I believe for the trajectory of the team this season, for McGregor's coaching career and for our faith as fans. Are we going to have a repeat of years gone by or are we going to drive the advantage home and stand up in this competition?

The Dragons need to seize the day. They are the favoured team heading into the ANZAC clash, and on form should win this game with a dominant and confident display after a loss last week. I for one will start fretting if the challenge of today defeats us, and we come up against a genuinely well coached, skilful and professional outfit next week.

No doubt Roosters will use some of the Warriors tactics. What Plan B has McGregor and the halves come armed with? Think of the hundreds of press conferences where Widdop and Mary were 'disappointed' after 'we weren't good enough'. There hasn't been one disappointing performance in 2018 and our wins have been due to great footy, not just weak opposition or grinding displays. Today I feel will either be our first real disappointment OR we will choke these chookies and stand tall as the competition's best team.
5-2 actually, went 6-2 after beating roosters in 2015. 3 of those wins by 2 points and one by 8. Also had a 7 game losing streak that year.

Anyhoo forget those traumatic times. Today we dine on roasted, flattened and shredded chickens.

5-2 actually, went 6-2 after beating roosters in 2015. 3 of those wins by 2 points and one by 8. Also had a 7 game losing streak that year.

Anyhoo forget those traumatic times. Today we dine on roasted, flattened and shredded chickens.
Or get pecked to death.

As long as Ferguson dosnt score, hate that guy.

Going to play a drinking game.

Have one drink for every time JWH funds into the defence with his elbow up.
And another for every Napa shoulder charge.
Bet your blind by halftime.

Dragons 09

I've never needed a sporting event to motivate me on ANZAC day to remember and commemorate those that have given their all to give us our freedom, I've been paying my respects since i was a little tacker and long before the ANZAC Cup was introduced. But without doubt, since 2002 when this clash commenced, the day has definitely taken on a new significance for me.

For the last 6 years i have taken my young fella to my towns local ceremony, where he has marched proudly and is one of our next generation who will ensure the tradition is never lost. In the first of those 6 years, i came across an old timer proudly wearing his medals, marching with his head held high beside his mates and sporting a Roosters pin in his beret. I wished him luck, but not too much luck, and he replied with "luck helps, but the team who believes in each other and what they are doing the most, will win the game and of course, that will be the Chooks". I've seen old mate every year since then and we have shared a few quick quips and wished each other well for the game.

Today was different, old mate is getting on a bit but still as proud and resilient as ever, but today's banter was deeper and seemed to have a different message attached to it. When i asked him if he was feeling confident he replied "Every year this game just gets better and is fast becoming as memorable as the day itself for us league tragic's at least. You know son, i shed a tear at full time last year and i reckon i have only done that about 3 times in my life. You make sure your young bloke watches the game today and understands what it is all about and next year when he marches, make sure he finds another Roosters supporter in uniform and continues the rivalry with them, this game and what it represents needs to continue and remain strong. Best of luck to you today and to you too young fella (as he patted my son on the head) and if you don't see me next year, the game itself will ensure you remember me and that's what it is all about, remembering!"

With that, old mate shook my hand and headed off in the direction of our local RSL club with his mates. I seriously had goose bumps and felt a bit confused at the same time. I'm now back home and have had a chance to digest it and although i now have a nervous churning sensation in my gut, i couldn't be more ready for this game even if i was playing in it.

To all those men and women who have served and through their sacrifices have given us the opportunities we are afforded today, THANK YOU!

Go the Dragons! and let's get this show on the road. Damn i'm excited.

SBD82

I've never needed a sporting event to motivate me on ANZAC day to remember and commemorate those that have given their all to give us our freedom, I've been paying my respects since i was a little tacker and long before the ANZAC Cup was introduced. But without doubt, since 2002 when this clash commenced, the day has definitely taken on a new significance for me.

For the last 6 years i have taken my young fella to my towns local ceremony, where he has marched proudly and is one of our next generation who will ensure the tradition is never lost. In the first of those 6 years, i came across an old timer proudly wearing his medals, marching with his head held high beside his mates and sporting a Roosters pin in his beret. I wished him luck, but not too much luck, and he replied with "luck helps, but the team who believes in each other and what they are doing the most, will win the game and of course, that will be the Chooks". I've seen old mate every year since then and we have shared a few quick quips and wished each other well for the game.

Today was different, old mate is getting on a bit but still as proud and resilient as ever, but today's banter was deeper and seemed to have a different message attached to it. When i asked him if he was feeling confident he replied "Every year this game just gets better and is fast becoming as memorable as the day itself for us league tragic's at least. You know son, i shed a tear at full time last year and i reckon i have only done that about 3 times in my life. You make sure your young bloke watches the game today and understands what it is all about and next year when he marches, make sure he finds another Roosters supporter in uniform and continues the rivalry with them, this game and what it represents needs to continue and remain strong. Best of luck to you today and to you too young fella (as he patted my son on the head) and if you don't see me next year, the game itself will ensure you remember me and that's what it is all about, remembering!"

With that, old mate shook my hand and headed off in the direction of our local RSL club with his mates. I seriously had goose bumps and felt a bit confused at the same time. I'm now back home and have had a chance to digest it and although i now have a nervous churning sensation in my gut, i couldn't be more ready for this game even if i was playing in it.

To all those men and women who have served and through their sacrifices have given us the opportunities we are afforded today, THANK YOU!

I wish I could like this twice. Your post has captured a part of what Anzac Day means to me, and the part that our club plays in showing respect to all service men and women past and present.

ALSGI

Thanks for sharing Dragons 09, one the best posts I’ve read on here. Hope you update us all next year.

Mickthedragon

Been to the Dawn service early and now on the way in with the family and pumped. Hope the pre game is as epic as it usually is. From the last few it seems the nrl has cut back on a few things though. No more jets flyover or trophy delivered by chopper unfortunately. Still a great day though.

Saint_JimmyG

Boags.. Seriously St Jimmy, I popped into Dan's last night and the place was like Armageddon. Got myself a case. Good drop, and if I over drink the stuff it'll be because It'll be a repeat of 2017 or, we win. Hoping for the latter ;)

Well, it is a good 'drop'.

What can I say?

I'm about to depart for the footy...Armageddon outta here!

Get it?

Haha...I could laugh at myself all day.

Go the Dragons!

Drag Queen

seems to me Jimmy the last few years we struggled against the weeker teams so 6/7 against the Weeker teams not that bad ......let's see what happens the next couple before we reach for the brandy
Win, lose or draw, I'm giving the brandy a miss. That shit should only be used on Xmas pud and even then I can't stand it :)

Ha, I lived through SOME of the 1956 to 1966 era, 9 yrs without a loss at Jubilee.....imagine 9 years without a home loss.

And winning % of around 85% across 11 years.

Imagine that Frank.

That also explains some of my need for success.

But support this great club.

I sure do!

Yea, those were the days my friend. Sitting on my Grandad's lap at Kogarah, SCG or on TV, we always expected the Dragons to win and were very surprised and disappointed when they lost. I was born in 1954 and so have seen some great Dragon sides.

With a good coach we could be up there again..

Smack

Yea, those were the days my friend. Sitting on my Grandad's lap at Kogarah, SCG or on TV, we always expected the Dragons to win and were very surprised and disappointed when they lost. I was born in 1954 and so have seen some great Dragon sides.

With a good coach we could be up there again..

Mary isn't good enough. Didn't plan for Sharks danger man Fifita by limiting his offloads, didn't change anything at the half against the warriors after watching his side get molested by their pack.

If we get off to a bad start, I feel like it could be quicksand.

1 premiership over 39 years. 1.
Do you really think anyone here should be doing cartwheels over winning the first 6 games of the season.
That's even without considering the debacles we have seen over the last 8 years.

It's called realisim and managing expectations.
Will we be playing the same old game plan? 'Power Play' in attack and compressed defence when we don't have the ball. If so, we don't have a hope in hell. The Rooster's coach saw the game against the Warriors and so we know what he will do.