Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 8 vs Roosters

The Damo

Maybe he should have someone cosulting with him during the game, perhaps they could have whispered in his ear during the Warriors game "gee, those high balls ain't working, maybe we should try something different?"
This is true, but I also doubt he told our representative halves “Dont you dare try a grubber”. Hunt and Widdop were a bit off, kicking especially and the onus has to be mostly on them to spot that in game.

TruSaint

1 premiership over 39 years. 1.
Do you really think anyone here should be doing cartwheels over winning the first 6 games of the season.
That's even without considering the debacles we have seen over the last 8 years.

It's called realisim and managing expectations.

THat's all well and good but I say enjoy the journey.

Yep, we have folded in years past.

But so long as we compete at the level we are now and hang tough in each game, then there's not much more we can ask for.

Happy where we are at, and hope it continues.

ouryears

This is true, but I also doubt he told our representative halves “Dont you dare try a grubber”. Hunt and Widdop were a bit off, kicking especially and the onus has to be mostly on them to spot that in game.

True mate, but some direct telling helps!

As in.....
Go and tell Gareth and Benny to put some bloody kicks behind.

And ask them what they are waiting for?
The game to be over?!!

That would help.

kit66

Half of 2011

My grand son is almost 7 now,

And he hasn't seen a good 3 months out of our team since being on planet Earth.

That explains the apprehension

And fear / doubt / negativity

The first 7 years of my life we were Premiers every year. Luck of the draw mate.

Saints 13+

Saint_JimmyG

This game concerns me on a couple levels:

1. a short turnaround

2. the Chooks have a quality line up - it won't be long before things improve for that club.

(Hopefully it won't commence tomorrow)

And then there's Melbourne, which SGI always struggles against.

As I said last week, the Dragons' season actually started against the Warriors.

Frank Facer

1. a short turnaround

2. the Chooks have a quality line up - it won't be long before things improve for that club.

So according to you, we started the season on 12 points and ahead of every other club.

Saint_JimmyG

So according to you, we started the season on 12 points and ahead of every other club.

If you had the ability to read between the lines, you'd understand that my above remark refers to;

a) the draw - up until the Warriors game - had been exceptionally kind pitting Saints against average to substandard sides,

and b) an acknowledgment that four out of the first six matches have been at home.

It's not too difficult to fathom.

Frank Facer

If you had the ability to read between the lines, you'd understand that my above remark refers to;

a) the draw - up until the Warriors game - had been exceptionally kind pitting Saints against average to substandard sides,

and b) an acknowledgment that four out of the first six matches have been at home.

It's not too difficult to fathom.
So do you want us to win our next 4 games?

Drag Queen

Sele played to the coaches instructions of mistake free footy:rolling_eyes:[/QUO
Sele played to the coaches instructions of mistake free footy:rolling_eyes:

1. a short turnaround

Concur. Kearney did his homework and exposed our weaknesses. Not guaranteed, but Robinson would have looked at that game and taken notes. Still looking forward to it though. Tough games will start now.

Frank Facer

Concur. Kearney did his homework and exposed our weaknesses. Not guaranteed, but Robinson would have looked at that game and taken notes. Still looking forward to it though. Tough games will start now.
We have already had tough games against Souths and Crounlla, and we beat both of them.

Sheridan Stand

Well if it's not burnout what is it?
What happened last year when we lost so many games with the season in the line.
You can't blame Widdops injury because even when he came back we kept losing.
Why do we start seasons so well and end up going backwards?
The grand final is not won in March.

The great teams build momentum through the year and peak come finals time. They usually start steady, have a bit of a lag during rep season then come home like a bull at pampolona.

Saints start the season like it is semi final time and we win a few early while teams are getting their groove. We have lacked the experience and depth to go long in September. This year we look far better but I still have my doubts that we have a coach to inspire confidence when the real season begins post SOO.

Time will tell - I hope I am wrong.

Sheridan Stand

And if I am cynical it is a ploy by macidiot to get himself extensions - start season well and get a new deal then complain later - he is a magician at deflecting the losses to anyone but himself - he would blame the guy selling peanuts in the hill if he could

Drag Queen

We have already had tough games against Souths and Crounlla, and we best both of them.
You're right, Not sure that's a great comparison though. These were the games we have won (which could have gone either way) , Don't forget complacency Frank.