Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 8 vs Roosters

ouryears

We have already had tough games against Souths and Crounlla, and we beat both of them.

Yes Frank 100% mate, and the Broncos beat Warriors....but they didn't beat us.... ohh, and we beat Cronulla twice.

We have beaten our share of decent teams.

The draw hasn't been any kinder than it has to other teams.

ouryears

Concur. Kearney did his homework and exposed our weaknesses. Not guaranteed, but Robinson would have looked at that game and taken notes. Still looking forward to it though. Tough games will start now.

We were in it till the 80th minute on their home ground.

You are giving Kearney too much credit, he could not have improved that much as a coach, he has always been pretty average at it.

See how he goes in round 2 VS us. I reckon he would be counting his lucky stars....for now.

Drag Queen

We were in it till the 80th minute on their home ground.

You are giving Kearney too much credit, he could not have improved that much as a coach, he has always been pretty average at it.

See how he goes in round 2 VS us. I reckon he would be counting his lucky stars....for now.
Nope. Did you actually watch the game? Shut down McInnes and Dufty in one foul swoop. I'm not even a Kearney fan. There you have it. We are too bloody predictable. It wasn't rocket science OY.

Overseas dragon

This game concerns me on a couple levels:

1. a short turnaround

2. the Chooks have a quality line up - it won't be long before things improve for that club.

(Hopefully it won't commence tomorrow)

And then there's Melbourne, which SGI always struggles against.

As I said last week, the Dragons' season actually started against the Warriors.
seems to me Jimmy the last few years we struggled against the weeker teams so 6/7 against the Weeker teams not that bad ......let's see what happens the next couple before we reach for the brandy

The Damo

The grand final is not won in March.

The great teams build momentum through the year and peak come finals time. They usually start steady, have a bit of a lag during rep season then come home like a bull at pampolona.

Saints start the season like it is semi final time and we win a few early while teams are getting their groove. We have lacked the experience and depth to go long in September. This year we look far better but I still have my doubts that we have a coach to inspire confidence when the real season begins post SOO.

Time will tell - I hope I am wrong.
Not really, the storm traditionally start very strong, have a dip around origin, then finish strong. Las t year they wer 7-1 after 8 and the year before 6-2. And it’s only last year we started strong then crashed. The year before we were 4-4 after 8 and were garbage all year.
If we can keep our bad games looking like the warriors one, we’ll do very well indeed. If we can improve on our good games then we’ll be right up at the pointy end.

dragonssamy61

If you are going to the game like me.
The gates open 1pm
1st game Australian combined services v NZ combined services
at 1.15
After that the memorial service and the nrl.

Don't forget if you want to watch the ISP v penrith live on nine Saturday.
1pm

Hope everyone has a memorable ANZAC day.
And go the dragons

MilanDragon

Funny that people say we haven’t played the ‘tough’ teams or haven’t beaten anyone in the top 6 (except Souths is 6th and we beat them). The flip side is we haven’t played anyone in the bottom 5 yet either.

Our season won’t be defined on today’s result.. more important than the result will be how we approach the game and how we play.

Drag Queen

If you are going to the game like me.
The gates open 1pm
1st game Australian combined services v NZ combined services
at 1.15
After that the memorial service and the nrl.

Don't forget if you want to watch the ISP v penrith live on nine Saturday.
1pm

Hope everyone has a memorable ANZAC day.
And go the dragons
I've got the ISP booked in. Hope all you guys and girls have a memorable ANZAC day Samy and Co.

Saint_JimmyG

seems to me Jimmy the last few years we struggled against the weeker teams so 6/7 against the Weeker teams not that bad ......let's see what happens the next couple before we reach for the brandy

Or, a James Boag's.

As indicated, I'm a bit concerned that 2017 is about to repeated.

Time will tell.

rednwhites

... it’s only last year we started strong then crashed. The year before we were 4-4 after 8 and were garbage all year.

Incorrect. In 2015 we started 6-1 as well (that's 3 times out of last 4 seasons) and bowed out in game one of the finals. Today is so crucial I believe for the trajectory of the team this season, for McGregor's coaching career and for our faith as fans. Are we going to have a repeat of years gone by or are we going to drive the advantage home and stand up in this competition?

The Dragons need to seize the day. They are the favoured team heading into the ANZAC clash, and on form should win this game with a dominant and confident display after a loss last week. I for one will start fretting if the challenge of today defeats us, and we come up against a genuinely well coached, skilful and professional outfit next week.

No doubt Roosters will use some of the Warriors tactics. What Plan B has McGregor and the halves come armed with? Think of the hundreds of press conferences where Widdop and Mary were 'disappointed' after 'we weren't good enough'. There hasn't been one disappointing performance in 2018 and our wins have been due to great footy, not just weak opposition or grinding displays. Today I feel will either be our first real disappointment OR we will choke these chookies and stand tall as the competition's best team.