Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 9 vs Storm

Dragon David

Panthers are a level below the Storm then there is Parramatta, Cronulla and maybe NQ or an inform Manly who are on the next level below that.

If you had to do a points system

Storm 10
Panthers 9
Parra etc 8.

Teams can deviate 1 to 1.5 point in performance which is why you can get a Parra vs Storm type upset occassionally but if they are play their best, nobody even the Panthers touch them. I am saying this as a Panther Diehard.
I agree and it is just amazing. OK they did put massive scores against Newcastle, Warriors and now the Dragons (which are not world beaters) but they also have won convincingly against other teams to achieve a mammoth point scoring total in the first 9 rounds breaking the record set 85 years ago I've read.

The Storm set up has been discussed infinitum on nearly all forums etc. What more can be said?

Dragon David

I’m talking about 2023 onwards there’s no light at the end of the tunnel
Mickey, I was thinking the same today. Trying to find that light at the end of the tunnel for years to come will be our problem not only in 2023. We just cannot compete like the Panthers and Storm and others who are up there. We compete OK with the also rans and that's about it.

The only way we can maintain a higher level on the ladder every year is by making massive changes which means getting a far better coach, getting far better players and paying good money for them and ridding the club of players who are just making up the numbers all across the park.

Dragsters

Panthers are a level below the Storm then there is Parramatta, Cronulla and maybe NQ or an inform Manly who are on the next level below that.

If you had to do a points system

Storm 10
Panthers 9
Parra etc 8.

Teams can deviate 1 to 1.5 point in performance which is why you can get a Parra vs Storm type upset occassionally but if they are play their best, nobody even the Panthers touch them. I am saying this as a Panther Diehard.

Let's see at seasons end.

After 25 rounds I reckon the Storm and Panthers will be 10 points clear on the ladder from 3rd.

There is a clear delineation in class imo...

Dragon David

I agree and it is just amazing. OK they did put massive scores against Newcastle, Warriors and now the Dragons (which are not world beaters) but they also have won convincingly against other teams to achieve a mammoth point scoring total in the first 9 rounds breaking the record set 85 years ago I've read.

The Storm set up has been discussed infinitum on nearly all forums etc. What more can be said?
Sorry, 87 year old record.

Pro Dragons

well we just witnessed a professionally coached side playing great attacking footy compared to a side that is coached to have some sort of power play and no attacking eyes up football, if this isnt a wake up call that the game has changed and our attacking plays which are non existent need to develop with the players in the right position i dont know what is. i dont care if sloan has defensive issues he can work on them in the nrl, not ressies, sullivan at 7 mbye 9 hunt 6 and amone 14 , change it anyway you like but having currently what we have will get us nowhere and im not prepared to accept hoping to make the 8 for the next 2-3 years, if we dont bounce back against the titans having learnt a lesson, then you can write this season off.

be55

Its taken Sully to run then for Amone to come out of his shell ..... Hook does restrict his players from taking chances thats they way I see it .....
I’ve wondered that myself as to how much we are structured to be risk averse
I nearly fell of the lounge when they interviewed Hook before the game on Fox. They asked him about Amone and he made the comment that "he's got a good step on the right hand side of the field and he's a strong runner and we don't need him to do much ball playing"

It makes you wonder if our coach is drilling that into him all week at training. You can see it in him that he is always thinking run and step first and not playing eyes up as to where the space is and looking to promote the ball.

I endorsed Hook as coach when we signed him, but he's now been at the club since November 2020. The attack we've produced over the last two seasons is every bit as unimaginative, uninspiring and lifeless as the battering ram trash we dished up during the McGregor years. Most of the time we look like we have absolutely no tactical plan as to how to pull apart a defence.

I don't pay much attention to what Gould says, but i think it was him who made the comment that Griffin coached the football out of the players at Penrith.

Judging by our efforts in attack, unfortunately I'm starting to think he may be right...

Pro Dragons

If Sloan has defence issues what have the rest of the team got when they have 42 point scored against them. Most punters agree Sloan is far too good a player not to be in 1st grade. Hook, with his persistent controversial selections, playing players out of positions which is destroying the team’s confidence. So is he still up to NRL coaching or has he gone past his use by date?

Lovemedragons

The NRL have done a wonderful job over the years of evening out the competition hey, just look at the Melbourne roster of 13 representative players, with the 2 best 9s in the world in Grant and Smith in the same team is just one example of how the system they have in place now is a joke. Feckless management at all levels of the NRL and also at our once great club,

Lovemedragons

Nah - I reckon we have to shift Hunt to 9, Bud to 7 and Amone to 6. Ramsey should get another crack at FB, with Mybe dropping to the bench and Bird into the backrow.
Next weekend - Ramsey; Feagai, Suli, Lomax, Rava; Amone, Sullivan; JdB, Bird, Sims, Molo, Hunt, Woods + Mbye, McGuire, Fuimaono, Lawrie.
Wishart looked great out there today. If we thought he wasn't ready - or wasn't good enough - we are kidding ourselves.
Amone is simply not firing at all in the current setup yet I believe he is a potential star once he finds his spot, which doesn’t seem to be on the spine at this stage. Mbye would do ok at 6, Sullivan 7 and Hunt 9., Sloan back in 1.

Pro Dragons

The NRL have done a wonderful job over the years of evening out the competition hey, just look at the Melbourne roster of 13 representative players, with the 2 best 9s in the world in Grant and Smith in the same team is just one example of how the system they have in place now is a joke. Feckless management at all levels of the NRL and also at our once great club,
The way it has gone they could have 2 competitions the top 6 with relegation and then the rest. At least every week you could go to the game believing your team has a real chance of winning.

Jeremy Dragon

The way it has gone they could have 2 competitions the top 6 with relegation and then the rest. At least every week you could go to the game believing your team has a real chance of winning.

Coffs dragon

Our recruiters, Pathways directors & all coaching staff need to get on the same page and get with the program of the modern game.
We just need a solid forward pack of workers and a backline with speed to burn. We have a decent half and captain, but seriously lack strike and speed in the dummy half and a lack of creativity.
No point signing senior sluggish players with experience as they just bring bad habits to a team.

Get it right you flogs and build the right foundations and not just a cheap Band-Aid solution.

Blood Shot Eyes

Just got home after Mothers Day committments.....after reading these comments wont bother watching the game...then again sadly I knew what todays result would be last week......thought around the 40 mark....wasnt far off......as we all know we arnt within a bulls roar of the top teams...beit lack of coaching, players ability or whatever, todays game just doesnt suit our profile.......sorry but to name just a few players the likes of McCullough, Woods, Burgess Sims etc just wont produce the goods week in week out ......we all know we need the services of a couple of elite players but thats not going to happen in the forseeable future ......yes we ground out gutsy 3 wins on the trot recently but if we are going to get bashed everytime we run into some class opposition then for petes sake lets get some attacking throw the ball around devil may care young blokes in the team and if we get smashed then at least we will know we are in the development stage and not propping up some used by players superannuation fund