Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round three vs The Storm

Panther Pete

The issue is it was on a guy standing still being held by two guys unable to defend himself. Ref should've called held by then.
I didn’t like the look of the his tackle either and although it could be argued it’s not in the spirit of the game I don’t think it’s illegal.

WestyLife

They can charge him with a 'Dangerous Tackle'. That's a good catch all charge.

It was a nasty looking tackle, and not something I like seeing (especially by our players). I reckon he'll be charged - and if so the club should plead No Contest to wipe out any carry-over points. Give him a forced rest to get the knee right, and give Sorenson or Hopgood a run.

Yeah they also have a "contrary conduct" charge. NRL loves a vague catch all rule.

age.s

What’s the take on Momirovski for you guys so far? I thought he played pretty solid and was good defensively last night

annoyed we let him go because we could actually use him right about now but still happy we got Laurie in exchange

Some people aren't convinced. I'm a fan though. Has had some very good moments in a position we're pretty light on. I think the trade has been great for both clubs.

age.s

I didn’t like the look of the his tackle either and although it could be argued it’s not in the spirit of the game I don’t think it’s illegal.

You could hear the ref saying there was nothing wrong with the tackle through the mic. Not sure you can charge someone when its been so thoroughly scrutinised and cleared on the field.

Agree with the sentiment though. Didn’t look great. If an opposition player put one of our guys out with a tackle like that I'd be calling him all sorts of unpleasant things. OTOH that's footy.

BxTom

You could hear the ref saying there was nothing wrong with the tackle through the mic. Not sure you can charge someone when its been so thoroughly scrutinised and cleared on the field.

Agree with the sentiment though. Didn’t look great. If an opposition player put one of our guys out with a tackle like that I'd be calling him all sorts of unpleasant things. OTOH that's footy.
If they concoct a charge against him, then they will have to charge the Munster grub, and the NRL don't want to upset their mate Bellamy...

Luke Bowden

Rubbish. Plenty of great 5/8s have been main kickers, especially out of own end. Fitter, anasta, campese, locky. Absolute Rubbish.
Why would you make such a strong comment and then name four 5/8’s who weren’t the main general play kickers for the team?

WestyLife

If they concoct a charge against him, then they will have to charge the Munster grub, and the NRL don't want to upset their mate Bellamy...

The hip drop Munster did is actually an illegal tackle. There was a thing about it a few years ago. They were trying to hurt Lenui.

Speedy Gonzales

Some people aren't convinced. I'm a fan though. Has had some very good moments in a position we're pretty light on. I think the trade has been great for both clubs.

Yeah he’s a good club man to have. Still basically a rookie in the NRL aswell (even though he’s what 24? Lol)

You wouldn’t think he’s much chop with his tall, lanky frame but he has a knack of sniffing out a try or two

snickers007

Burton is simply to good to leave out. Once Dyl is back Momo drops out imo

The problem is that Burton (and likely Naden) are gone for next year - while Momo is contracted for 2022. Unless he is having shockers, he will be in the team.

For the record, I think he has been good, without being great. Our right side has been starved of quality ball all season, so it's not surprising that both he and Staines have seemed a bit underwhelming thus far.

They've still scored more tries than the left side though. And Momo has Crichton covered in every attacking metric thus far as well.

Funnily I don't see you death riding Critta a dozen times per thread...

MugaB

I don't even understand what the charge would be? Wasnt late (not held), wasn't high or at the knees... Probably unnecessarily hard but I don't think that's against the rules.
I agree with you, but as far as the match review committee, they might be inclined to charge both Leniu and Munster, on some trumped up charge to set an example, which i would totally be fine with, but only if both are charged and leniu is carrying an injury

betcats

So happy after that win still this morning. Any questions over whether we can back up again this year are now gone. Dogs and Cows are bottom four sides we did what we should to those teams but beating the storm with the challenges we had last night is a real confidence booster. After three rounds I can confidently say our defence has improved again on last season, at this rate it could all time.