Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round two vs the Dragons.

Smug Panther

When he left Sharks to go to Parra Rothfield wrote an article stating how big a loss he was & how he’s a 200 game nrl star. Let’s hope that comes out in him. I too think there’s a footballer in there.
He's far too slow. He is a career reserve grader and there's nothing wrong with that

chrisD

Nup.. i think its pretty clear the club and ivan is showing some faith in soni.

Given hes injuries and age i really think ivan is looking at him as apis replacement. Just needs to get through 12 months of footy. The resigining on a mukti year deal indicates as much
There’s no way Ivan wants to push Soni into starting hooker at the start of next season. That’s not the way an Ivan Cleary development timetable works.

Soni is very possibly the preferred long term option and him being first choice next season may happen if Ivan’s hand is forced, it’s probably a fall back option in his mind, but no way it’s the preferred path.

Kilkenny

The class of our side makes games givens

take tonight

45% possession

No Cleary or Leota to start
To'o and JFH didn't finish the game

I thought Yeo was quiet yet Made 150m and 43 tackles

Defence is too good for most sides
We didn’t win this game because of the class of our side. There really was no difference in class, a little bit of good fortune and yes top notch defence got us home.

A crucial two points in the end. Could have gone either way But we did enough so I’m happy.

Girds89

If Kenny and Api spend a significant amount of time on the field together this year I will eat my hat, if they do and it makes us a better side I will stop posting completely, it’s an absolute fantasy you’ve lost the plot. They were on the field for a decent amount of time tonight, it did not make Api run more or be more creative, it did not improve our go forward and it certainly didn’t stop us being dominated through the middle. It’s just rubbish.

They were on the field for a decent run yess....

Without fish. Kiks was off.. too went off injured..edwards had his worst game in 12 months...no nath. Our whole team made mistakes, leota out.

Lets just get something clear.... i dont think kenny is the messiah... id rather tmay over salmon and kenny... but your dealt the cards your given. I was calling us to sign connor watson 2 years ago, 12 months before there was even a sniff from the chooks i was saying he was the number1 #14 in the game.

All im saying is we cant carry both..

They are too slow..tbh i dont give an eff who is 14.... they just both cant be on the bench..

If by some chance we get 3 injuries in a match you just have to deal with it. To carry salmon on the bench all year as he can fill in at 10% will smith levels in the backs if theres an injury is nuts..

Play your best blokes. If theres an injury..suck it up lads. Kenny covers 8-13..

We lost the forward battle tonight because ivan picled a weak bench and kept fatigued blokes out there. Throw c. Smith in and its probs even

Girds89

Keep clinging to that cause everything else you have said has been hot garbage, talking about what Bellamy does with smith and grant as if that is relevant to us and whatever the Madge thought process is.
Hop, skip, jump.

Get kayo betcats. Just dont tell me salmon was involved again when he clearly wasnt lol.. its hard to take posts seriously after that

Girds89

There’s no way Ivan wants to push Soni into starting hooker at the start of next season. That’s not the way an Ivan Cleary development timetable works.

Soni is very possibly the preferred long term option and him being first choice next season may happen if Ivan’s hand is forced, it’s probably a fall back option in his mind, but no way it’s the preferred path.
Soni isnt young.... its next year or nwver chris

Iamback

We didn’t win this game because of the class of our side. There really was no difference in class, a little bit of good fortune and yes top notch defence got us home.

A crucial two points in the end. Could have gone either way But we did enough so I’m happy.

How many teams can win with 45% possession?
Missing their starting front row?
No rep halfback and losing the best winger in the comp?

Plenty went against us and we got the 2 points. As elite teams do

Girds89

Salmon 53 mins.
5 Tackle breaks ( Kiks had 4 )
31 Post Contact metres ( Kiks 27 )
9 runs ( Kiks 8)

The eye only sees what it wants.
3 positions got covered and numbers were better then a $800k player
14 tackles
3 misses
Worst percentage of the team...
Dont leave out all the stats mate.

As ive been saying. He bever covered half.... he touched it once off a luai bomb when sos was off..

Stop kidding yourself

Iamback

14 tackles
3 misses
Worst percentage of the team...
Dont leave out all the stats mate.

As ive been saying. He bever covered half.... he touched it once off a luai bomb when sos was off..

Stop kidding yourself

your argument was he never touched the ball. So I posted his attacking stats

Add defence ok.

he had 82% tackle rate

Kiks with 32 tackles. 5 missed is 86%

Again not seeing a better option

betcats

Hop, skip, jump.

Get kayo betcats. Just dont tell me salmon was involved again when he clearly wasnt lol.. its hard to take posts seriously after that

Hard to take anything you say seriously when you think playing Api and Kenny on together Is way forward and comparing it to harry grant and Brandon smith, or when you think we can’t carry Kenny and salmon but can carry Kenny and may.

Being wrong about how many touches he had for ten minutes doesn’t change the fact he offered a lot more than Kenny tonight, more metres, more tackle breaks, more go forward. We can’t carry both I agree so get rid of Kenny and bring in another forward, salmon offers more running and go forward then Kenny ever will. Without injuries either 1 is only going to play 10 minutes with injuries salmon is much better cover than Kenny. All this crap about playing kenny and api together being the way forward is just insane.

Girds89

your argument was he never touched the ball. So I posted his attacking stats
Lol. No i made it quite clear.
You and others thought he played 7 when sos went off.

I just pointed out...in that 12 mins sos was off
...he had one touch... a knock back off luais bomb which charlie put dead.

He didnt play 7. Didnt fill in there. At all.

Girds89

Hard to take anything you say seriously when you think playing Api and Kenny on together Is way forward and comparing it to harry grant and Brandon smith, or when you think we can’t carry Kenny and salmon but can carry Kenny and may.

Being wrong about how many touches he had for ten minutes doesn’t change the fact he offered a lot more than Kenny tonight, more metres, more tackle breaks, more go forward. We can’t carry both I agree so get rid of Kenny and bring in another forward, salmon offers more running and go forward then Kenny ever will. Without injuries either 1 is only going to play 10 minutes with injuries salmon is much better cover than Kenny. All this crap about playing kenny and api together being the way forward is just insane.
Thats fine.

If you think thats the way forward all good. Your opinion is fine.

Bit salmon offered nothing tonight when sos was off amd i objected to that..that is all.

Sorry if i got hasty betcats.