Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rugby league in dire straits in NSW as Queensland leads the way

ANZ Stadium holds 82,500. Let's look at recent attendances:

2008: 80,388
2007: 81,392
2006: 79,609
2005: 82,453

That's right: it has been four years since something looking like a sell out for the grand final in Sydney. Pathetic.

Tool. another 2622 last year would have sold out. Also got 391 short of 80k for two teams from interstate. Penrith v Manly GF at Suncorp would get 70k?

Try holding more games than Melbourne you tool! :lol:

12 games a year :lol: Piss poor.

Sam I Am

Tool. another 2622 last year would have sold out. Also got 391 short of 80k for two teams from interstate. Penrith v Manly GF at Suncorp would get 70k?

Try holding more games than Melbourne you tool! :lol:

So the best justification for not being able to sell out a grand final in the self-declared heartland of Australian rugby league is that you host more games than Melbourne?

Face facts: Sydney can't sell out Grand Finals. Can't sell out Origin. Maybe you should move your big games to Orange.

Maybe if we only played 12 games a year in Sydney, like gutless Brisbane, league starved Sydneysiders would find the few hundred to add to the sea of league fans that Brisbane has never seen.

Your argument is based on 200 people ffs :lol::lol:

Sam I Am

Maybe if we only played 12 games a year in Sydney, like gutless Brisbane, league starved Sydneysiders would find the few hundred to add to the sea of league fans that Brisbane has never seen.

Your argument is based on 200 people ffs :lol::lol:

The last time that Sydney got a crowd the size of last night's for an international was 1992.

Heartland? Wasteland.

Sydney has had literally thousands of empty seats at Grand Finals in the last few years.

Heartland? Wasteland.

The very best drawing Sydney teams are lucky to average half of what Brisbane does.

Heartland? Wasteland.

I am happy for Brisbane to prove me wrong, get another 3 sides to play out of Brisbane and lets see how the crowds go.

Fiji haven't played in Brisbane.

Interestingly, however, a World Cup in which Australia didn't even play on the same weekend got 10,000 more in Brisbane than one in Sydney involving Australia did. Says it all really.

ANZ Stadium holds 82,500. Let's look at recent attendances:

2008: 80,388
2007: 81,392
2006: 79,609
2005: 82,453

That's right: it has been four years since something looking like a sell out for the grand final in Sydney. Pathetic. Time to move it north of the border!

Thanks for quoting that. Brisbane got almost double what Sydney did - and you pathetic southerners actually had the incentive of getting along to see Australia. Pretty ordinary!:lol:

The last time that Sydney got a crowd the size of last night's for an international was 1992.

Heartland? Wasteland.

Sydney has had literally thousands of empty seats at Grand Finals in the last few years.

Heartland? Wasteland.

The very best drawing Sydney teams are lucky to average half of what Brisbane does.

Heartland? Wasteland.

This is not about what each team draws. This is about the percentage of the population that goes to games - in other words, the market.

Sydney dwarfs Brisbane almost 2-1 in this regard.

Sydney also hosts over 100 NRL games per year. Brisbane, pitifully, hosts 12. Brisbane fans turned up last night because they are League starved. Simple.

Why is there not another Brisbane team?

lockyrulz

Why? Sydney siders are quite happy to maintain a number of unprofitable sydney clubs, why should brisbane be any different.

I'm sure if the Greenslopes giants are booted by the NRL we can have a massive street march to get them back in.

Pigskin

This thread started out a pretty decent read ... and as usual, courtesy of the standard few, has just developed into a slanging match which just enhances the reputations of those involved - morons of the highest order

If only I had a couple of days to play with this response, but alas ... an important game of footy starts in 15 mins ... the first game of any interest/importance this weekend

a few quick points and I have no time to expand

1. Who gives a crap about Test crowds - Gus and co can talk it up all they want, but International RL has been dead for 30 years and on last night shows no signs of revival

2. Could that excellent historian guy "RL1908" or whatever his nic is please inform the morons here of some facts regarding the BRL before Broncos ... club football in Queensland has just as much pride and history as any comp involving NSW teams - its head in the sand stuff to think otherwise (go on, shout this down and increase your idiot factor by 10)

3. The BRL died essentially because of money. Our premier at the time, the criminal that he was, banned pokies - social responsibility anyone ? ... we had no cash to compete ... yada yada yada ... all codes and sports becoming national or bust ... yada yada yada ... today

4. Brisbane people followed the NSWRL back in those days for simple reasons. People moving north in droves, continues today ... they bring their club support with them. "Our" best players get pilfered, thanks to the then loved poker machine ... so Brisbane people follow their fav players to follow their progress ... its not rocket science

5. You guys wonder why Queenslanders have a chip on their shoulders and can't understand/acknowledge the Queensland spirit. Yet you all know the reasons and how deep it goes. But just a really fast recap. Queensland player A becomes a good player, NSW team buys, player then comes to Lang Park in a blue jumper and flogs us for 30 years. Pretty funny considering player pool sizes, number of clubs, populations how we are now at almost 30 years of Origin, yet Qld still maintains a lead overall ... not a big lead, but against all the odds - a lead. Suck on that.

One last thing ... Qld beat NZ on Friday night ... and there is a very real chance NSW will not win a game this weekend. Oh wait ... City :lol: ... does that count as a game ?

Oink !

So because of fans/players/administrators of a previous era, the fans/players/administrators of this era have to put up with your sh*t?

Suck it up and move on.

1. Who gives a crap about Test crowds - Gus and co can talk it up all they want, but International RL has been dead for 30 years and on last night shows no signs of revival
Wrong. Not dead at all. Strong - getting stronger.

But if you think it is dead, you are not on your Pat malone. Therefore, do not attack poor test crowds in Sydney because people have the same beliefs as you.

2. Could that excellent historian guy "RL1908" or whatever his nic is please inform the morons here of some facts regarding the BRL before Broncos ... club football in Queensland has just as much pride and history as any comp involving NSW teams
Is anyone denying that?
- its head in the sand stuff to think otherwise (go on, shout this down and increase your idiot factor by 10)
Not for the first time in your post, you follow an excellent fact with a chance to bag NSWelshmen - when you complain that the thread is degeneration gecause of personal attacks.

3. The BRL died essentially because of money. Our premier at the time, the criminal that he was, banned pokies - social responsibility anyone ? ... we had no cash to compete ... yada yada yada ... all codes and sports becoming national or bust ... yada yada yada ... today
Umm, you never had pokies.

Brisbane people followed the NSWRL back in those days for simple reasons. People moving north in droves, continues today ... they bring their club support with them.
I thbink you'll find NSWelshmen moving north were more likely to go to the Gold Coast.
"Our" best players get pilfered,
No, they went of theoir own accord. No one got stolen. This is a typically stupid statement from Queenslanders.
thanks to the then loved poker machine ...
which you lamented a few quotes ago that QLD didn't have
so Brisbane people follow their fav players to follow their progress ... its not rocket science
No, but not all your players went, did they.

5. You guys wonder why Queenslanders have a chip on their shoulders and can't understand/acknowledge the Queensland spirit.
No we don't. We have the same spirit - we just don't crap on about it.
Yet you all know the reasons and how deep it goes. But just a really fast recap. Queensland player A becomes a good player, NSW team buys, player then comes to Lang Park in a blue jumper and flogs us for 30 years.
Common practice among all sports at the time. No QLDer ever whinged at signing Allan Border.
Pretty funny considering player pool sizes, number of clubs, populations how we are now at almost 30 years of Origin, yet Qld still maintains a lead overall ... not a big lead, but against all the odds - a lead.
Yes, with a bit of help from New Zealand, PNG and NSW. Of course, it's ok when you do it.
Suck on that.
You continue to contribute to the degeneration of this thread - as you whinged about. Will you berate yourself?

One last thing ... Qld beat NZ on Friday night ... and there is a very real chance NSW will not win a game this weekend. Oh wait ... City :lol: ... does that count as a game ?

LOL. Tests don't matter. But continue to bag NSW sides - proves that your excellent post is really just a front for you to bag NSW.

Brisbane, with 12 games a year, is hardly heartland. Why did you lot let your game sink so low?

Oink !

Ladmate

Ok lets see a GF of Penrith Panthers vs Cronulla Sharks.

I bet it wouldnt draw 30k at suncorp.

Sam I Am

Ok lets see a GF of Penrith Panthers vs Cronulla Sharks.

I bet it wouldnt draw 30k at suncorp.

As if Cronulla are going to be around long enough to play in the grand final by the time it moves north. Their pathetic support and parlous financial state will see them extinct long before that happens.:D

Ladmate

As if Cronulla are going to be around long enough to play in the grand final by the time it moves north. Their pathetic support and parlous financial state will see them extinct long before that happens.:D

Lets just say. The crowd of 79k was two out of state teams and only 4k below a sellout.

Do you think that Penrith and Cronulla will get 48k? Answer the question.

Sam I Am

Yes, with a bit of help from New Zealand, PNG and NSW. Of course, it's ok when you do it.

Help from NZ? Get a clue, chump! Carroll and Thorn were both raised in Queensland and played for Queensland before playing for a NZ team.

And while we are talking about it, let's remember that David Barnhill, Graham Mackay, Willie Mason and Luke Ricketson have all represented other countries. Strange how you cockroaches forget that.