Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumoured and Confirmed Signings - XXV

Chipmunk

I read about this on the TripleM website.. Get a load of this garbage.

The headline was "Former Eel Busted in UK"

They then proceed to talk about Smiths DUI, and that he had a breakout season in 2005, then after problems, left the eels in 2008, and has been in the UK since 2012. No mention of anything else, So apparently, the Eels marketing thing from a year or so ago is true, once you are an Eel, you are one for life, as long as you're doing something wrong that garners publicity. Like, if you're gonna call him a former member of an NRL team it'd be the sharks, right? That's who he played for last, no?

Source:
http://www.triplem.com.au/sydney/sport/nrl/news/2015/9/former-parramatta-eel-tim-smith-arrested/

In fairness to the article, if you walked up to 100 rugby league followers from other clubs and asked them what club did Tim Smith play with, the majority would say he is a former Parra player. I'm guessing if they were then told he also played for Cronulla their response would be "Really?"

i agree

I must be in the majority

T.S Quint

Tim Smith hasn't been an Eel for almost 8 years!
Headline should read "Wakefield Halfback", not "Former Parramatta Player."

I think we can all agree that Tim Smith has again proven himself to be a f**kwit.

Benji missed out on NZ squad.

Did he root SK's misses ?

Not sure if benji rooted poupou or not but I definitely would have had him in the squad.

He did pick up an injury last game though.

I'd say that injury he copped last week might keep him out for a while in any case.

Bang on merkins.

FOX SPORTS News ‏@FOXSportsNews 3m3 minutes ago
.@NRL_Dragons halfback Benji Marshall will meet with specialists to see if surgery is required following injury in Elimination Final #NRL

oldmancraigy

Not sure if benji rooted poupou or not but I definitely would have had him in the squad.

He did pick up an injury last game though.

Hang on, i think you are saying poupou is Morgs mum, who was having a torrid affair with SK (which lead to Ryan playing 1sts), but it ended when she banged Benji - which was at the time Benji was first dropped from kiwis.

It all works.

Chief from the other site isn't one to bullshit. He reckons that Cornish and Tanginoa are done deals and that we will be pleasantly surprised by the centre acquisition who will inevitably replace Hopoate. Assuming this all comes to fruition I reckon our recruitment will be the best it has been since 2005 when we signed Stringer, Morrison, Riddell, PJ Marsh and Tahu.

Chief gets all his scoops from here or from the telecrap.

TheRam

Foran
Gordon
Scott
Moss
Tanginoa
Cornish
Mystery Centre

Other then Foran, the rest are average or well passed it. The kicker though is that our team is so below average that even these acquisitions will improve us by heaps.

And by that I mean Foran.

84 Baby

Just mentioning who we have signed groover. I'm not excited about Hassan and O'Brien but I am happy with King.

He could be a good player but surely he is currently number 4 in pecking order and barring more long term injuries to Peats & Pritchard and IDG retiring he won't see another jersey except for Wenty's?

Parra47

He could be a good player but surely he is currently number 4 in pecking order and barring more long term injuries to Peats & Pritchard and IDG retiring he won't see another jersey except for Wenty's?

I believe King is a better player than both DeGois and Pritchard. Not sure how he has recovered from his injuries though.

The Dyldam Parramatta Eels are today proud to announce the re-signing of a Memorandum of Understanding with Parramatta City Council through to the end of 2016.

The agreement will see the Eels and Council work together on strategic initiatives for growth in areas including rugby league and healthy lifestyle programs, multicultural community involvement, and business and economic development.

The Eels signed an historic Memorandum of Understanding with Council in 2014, formalising a relationship that has existed for many decades.

“Combined with the new stadium for Parramatta scheduled for completion in 2019 and our football side moving to a dedicated high performance and community centre in the heart of Parramatta, the connection between the Eels and Council is stronger than ever,” Chairman Steve Sharp said.

“Parramatta is experiencing a crucial period of growth and it’s important that we continue to support Council in making our home great.”

The partnership will promote the Eels’ rugby league development efforts by supporting school visits, a girls in sport program, and school holiday clinics throughout the year.

The Eels will also be more involved in Parramatta City Council’s key events calendar, to capitalise on the growth of Western Sydney and its diverse community.

“We’re very proud of the work we do with Parramatta City Council, and I’m looking forward to working much more closely with Council over the coming year to help benefit both our club and our region,” Acting CEO John Boulous said.

“It’s exciting to be able to show our support for Council by increasing our community involvement while also expanding rugby league.”

The Eels Educate classroom program will support many of the MoU’s education initiatives, and is proudly funded by the Parramatta Leagues Club’s ‘Club Grants’ scheme.

The Parramatta Leagues Club Group contributes more than $1 million to 60 organisations in need of support, with the majority based in the Parramatta area.

The Club Grants program is proud to support many grassroots sporting teams and codes in the Parramatta local government area, as well as provide ongoing support to key community organisations.

“Parramatta Leagues Club works closely with Parramatta City Council in a number of areas and our Memorandum of Understanding supports this relationship,” Parramatta Leagues Club CEO, Bevan Paul said.

“We really value the responsibility we have in supporting organisations and individuals who provide a positive contribution to our community, and this MoU will continue to strengthen that.”
http://www.parraeels.com.au/news/20...tml?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter