Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumoured and Confirmed Signings - XXV

In other words you know f**k all about it. "Plenty of old video", eh? :lol::lol:

Yeah video. It's how I follow the modern game as well. We can't all afford to attend games though if you think they still use inside centres it's obvious that watching the game live isn't helping your understanding.

You're funny. You know all I've been saying is that: 1. the 'split halves' idea is not a new invention, and: 2. that we still have specialist five-eights in the game. But if you want to keep making shit up, that's fine by me.

I'm sure you're right mate. For as long as there have been big blind sides there would have been halves on opposite sides of the ruck. But looking at old footage it doesn't seem like the big blinds were intentional like they are now. As you say, the game was less structured back then. But the default was obviously all long shifts from near the sideline. Halfback, five-eighth, inside centre, etc. Just like they still do in union.

As for specialist five-eighths, I guess we would agree that Morgan couldn't play Thurston's role. But neither could Cronk, Hodkinson, Pearce or DCE. IMO.

lingard

Yeah video. It's how I follow the modern game as well. We can't all afford to attend games though if you think they still use inside centres it's obvious that watching the game live isn't helping your understanding.

How come you can't just say, "Yeah, you're right about that, mate"? Is it really that hard? Do you fair dinkum refute the fact that the concept of 'split-halves' has existed for many decades? And do you fair dinkum believe that there is no such thing as a five-eight in the modern game?

lingard

I'm sure you're right mate. For as long as there have been big blind sides there would have been halves on opposite sides of the ruck. But looking at old footage it doesn't seem like the big blinds were intentional like they are now. As you say, the game was less structured back then. But the default was obviously all long shifts from near the sideline. Halfback, five-eighth, inside centre, etc. Just like they still do in union.

As for specialist five-eighths, I guess we would agree that Morgan couldn't play Thurston's role. But neither could Cronk, Hodkinson, Pearce or DCE. IMO.

I'm afraid you're wrong about that. Creating a big blind side was an often used tactic - going way back for as long as I can remember (the sixties).
As for specialist five-eights: you can't see a difference in the way Adam Reynolds and John Sutton play? Or Sandow and Norman? Or Sandow and Sef Paulo? Or Robson and Bird? Or Cronk and Green? Or Hunt and Milford?
Or Hodkinson and Reynolds? Really?
Just because halves play on opposite sides of the field more often than they used to, doesn't mean that the five-eight role has become extinct.

I'm afraid you're wrong about that. Creating a big blind side was an often used tactic - going way back for as long as I can remember (the sixties).

Well mate, now it's the only tactic. Hence the split halves.

As for specialist five-eights: you can't see a difference in the way Adam Reynolds and John Sutton play? Or Sandow and Norman? Or Sandow and Sef Paulo? Or Robson and Bird? Or Cronk and Green? Or Hunt and Milford?
Or Hodkinson and Reynolds? Really?

Can you see a difference in the way Walker and Auva'a play? Or Hopoate and Takairangi? Or Morgan and Toutai? Or Leutele and Beale?? Or Chambers and Mann?!!???! Or Reed and Hodges??!!??!?!?

You get the picture.

lingard

Well mate, now it's the only tactic. Hence the split halves.

Can you see a difference in the way Walker and Auva'a play? Or Hopoate and Takairangi? Or Morgan and Toutai? Or Leutele and Beale?? Or Chambers and Mann?!!???! Or Reed and Hodges??!!??!?!?

You get the picture.

I get the picture that you're grabbing at straws again. They are all centres - and if you're trying to pretend that I think we still have inside and outside centres, just because you can't bring yourself to admit I have a point ........... then I've won (again) I'm afraid.

Fanbase

Why would any of you try to talk sense to Pau? Waste of time is it not? Blokes a cracker and by that I mean he is crackers lol. Thinks he knows footy, he just shows over and over he does not.

yy_cheng

Mate he really know his footy man. Probably the most knowledgeable here.

He just likes to stir and see how people react

oldmancraigy

Well it is, because it determines how much players ask for. If they're only made one offer and there are no offers from elsewhere they aren't going to turn their nose up at it.

The place where players are most likely to be overpaid is at the talent levels where they stand out with good-but-inconsistent form, and therefore where there is some demand. Players like Mortimer, Loko, Sandow, Lussick and Hopoate.

They don't walk in anywhere until they're made an offer. This is why the highest demand players get all the money and everyone else gets peanuts.

Lussick and Harrison were playing regular footy for the defending premiers, so of course there was demand for those two. Ryan was playing reserve grade, so he wouldn't have been on much more than minimum salary.

Do you think Beavis f**ked us on the Hayne re-signings?

The only players who hurt you cap wise are those in the top 25 who shouldn't be, and those earning a couple hundred grand more than they're worth. The rest come out in the wash. Counterintuitively, Kieran Foran is more likely to hurt our cap than is Ryan Morgan.

As for Tighe and Reddy, why would you want centres not good enough for the NRL to fill your third (and potentially second) centre slot?

So much head scratchingly circular logic (again). You state that a player won't turn their nose up at an 'only offer', - and why would they? But that doesn't mean a solo offer is made by a good talent evaluator or a good negotiator. Basically you are just saying that to try and get back around again to your (weird) thesis - but that is in no way proved by saying a player wouldn't turn their nose up at a solo offer...

As far as your statements on Tighe/ Reddy. No there is no way I would sign either bloke. But I wouldn't sign Morgan either. They are all about the same level: Tighe/ Reddy are the more accomplished players currently. But saying you wouldn't sign a guy to be a backup is very confusing given your love of supporting the signings of crap backups....

You are back to ranting again today like you are off your meds again or something. Get some help!

PS can you just reply for me to your reply, i have had my monthly fill.

Fanbase

Mate he really know his footy man. Probably the most knowledgeable here.

He just likes to stir and see how people react

No man he really does not. I have been reading his stuff for ages and no mate he thinks he does but he is the dumbest poster on here. He has no clue about the game just relies on stats and watching videos lol.

yy_cheng

If he doesn't try to stir he makes some very good posts and insights. It's all the crap and babbling that he posts that gets people offside and have a preconceived idea of his posts.

I like hj's posts as well

If he doesn't try to stir he makes some very good posts and insights. It's all the crap and babbling that he posts that gets people offside and have a preconceived idea of his posts.

I like hj's posts as well

Yeh, Pou's ok. Just avoid the arguments that can't possibly have an answer. It's easier.