Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumoured/Confirmed Signings and General Drivel XV

jono

Gorgeous George Rose-and-a-half.......
From his photo he looks better suited to Rugby Union prop but then again I don't know what his mobility is like. Must be OK if he's playing 60 minutes in A grade.
Happy with the likes of Terepo Paolo and Pauli to step up for the next 5-10 years

Maroubra Eel

We don't need to buy anyone. If we keep going the way we are going we will need to upgrade heaps of contracts.

What areas do you want to buy? Are you happy with our 1,6,7,9?
Are you happy with our centres? Hollywood this is a very good team.All it needs is time too ferment like a fine wine.

I don't see too many bad areas other than players not at there peak. Maybe Sio spot but he is ok. We buy than be prepared too loose guys like Kelepi.

Who in the team is at there peak? Id say Hayne-Sandow -Mannah-Tonga-Peats

Norman will slowly improve as will Hoppa.Who I don't think BA is using in attack yet till he is fit.
Lussick would be close but not at peak. But guys like Semi-Jnr Paulo-PauliPauli-Mau-Edwards-Joe Paulo( changing his game)-Terepo-Tanginoa are still learning there game in first grade.By mid year they will be way a lot better and than theres Mossop to come in and LOKO.

Where is Loko? I had big hopes for this kid.

jono

Do we cut him loose? Never thought I'd say this.
But if he doesnt come back this year or gets another serious injury. we may have to.
I would groom him for left centre to succeed Willie Tonga......imagine a pairing of Locomotive and Semi Trailer

Do we cut him loose? Never thought I'd say this.
But if he doesnt come back this year or gets another serious injury. we may have to.

Definitely not. I made a thread about him on the interstate forum last year marking him as a future origin star. In a horrible parra outfit last year, he was one of the few gems in the side. I'll never forget that try he scored against the Broncos last year when he was up against hodges.

The kid is only 21 or something, we need to give him time. Willie Tonga was basically injured for 2 years and we gave him time.

Noise

I would groom him for left centre to succeed Willie Tonga......imagine a pairing of Locomotive and Semi Trailer

Unlike Tonga he is not great at setting up his outside man and passing to him. Semi would see a heap less ball. Great ball runner though

Noise

We don't need to buy anyone. If we keep going the way we are going we will need to upgrade heaps of contracts.

And we'll need to let a heap of merkins go too just to try and fit the upgrades in. I'd be surprised if we are not already over the 2016 cap.

Unlike Tonga he is not great at setting up his outside man and passing to him. Semi would see a heap less ball. Great ball runner though

I kinda felt that way to, he was just hogging that ball down the left edge but I think he was actually instructed by Ricky to either run it or kick it.

eels81236

For what it's worth, I reckon David Gower has to stay. I know he is getting paid next to nothing but he offers more than next to nothing. I love an honest toiler.

Forty20

hey stagger
how has tepai Moroea been playing in the 20's?

I'm not Stagger but I can tell you he is putting in strong games every week, mate. He has bounced between the edges and the middle due to mid-game injuries and various promotion/selection factors among other squad members and it hasn't fazed him.

Looks like a complete footballer at this stage and would make the jump to the NSW Cup easily in my opinion. I don't think it will hurt him by staying with this NYC roster for the majority of 2014 as they are building very nicely.

Imagine Semi rarely getting the ball in space.... Loko is big, fast and strong but rarely sets up his outside man.

Loko is a very good player when fit got however decisions need to be made and with Morgan, Davis and even Folau or Moeroa in the lower grades if he was to be let go - he will want and get big coin - it allows us to strengthen other areas. His fitness does not warrant him being a priority at this stage. He has missed almost three seasons since his debut.

Bigfella

Moera really does look like being something a cut above even the other very good young players we have coming through.

The success of our season IMO will come down to how much kelepi,
Mau, Pauli, Edwards, and terepo can add on a consistent basis.

If they play at nrl level or higher we will go deep into the season.

If not we will struggle to stay on the pace.

Our top players are very competitive. We are fielding the best spine we've had for a decade. The question is whether out squad players can actually play at the top level. At the moment the signs are very encouraging.

Semi has taken a leap to a new level. If blokes go with him, we might just see how good jh really is.

I don't think he's even shown the whole package yet

Maroubra Eel

JH has already shown his best, 6 seasons ago. Can't expect him to play at that level forever, especially now he's coming to the twilight of his career.