Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumoured/Confirmed Signings and General Drivel XV

lingard

I don't remember them mate, they all left shortly after I joined up.

Apparently they were pretty good though.

No, I wouldn't say that. But there used to be a lot more talk about football. And there were quite a few ladies who used to post here, which seemed to raise the tone of the place. It's a shame they left. More important things to do, I guess - like raising families and stuff.

cooking, cleaning, ironing and mowing the lawn

I wonder if the Eels were winning more games back then?

I think you might have identified a contributing causal factor. Remember how many Dragons fans there were in the NRL forum a few years ago? There must have been f**king heaps of Eels fans from '05-'09. And because we were mostly winning and not trying to find scapegoats, this place would have been much friendlier.

emjaycee

A lot of the old posters left because they couldn't stand the arguments that PouPou Escobar used to always want to have.

I should've just turned up and agreed with their misguided assessments.

"I ABSOLUTELY agree the team's problems are all the fault of one or two people!"

emjaycee

"I ABSOLUTELY agree the team's problems are all the fault of one or two people!"

LOL - one or two people who aren't club greats that cannot be spoken badly about you mean.

for the wrestling fans, ultimate warrior (who looked and sounded like he was on his way out on raw yesterday) passed away earlier today.

was good to see him at least get to say what he needed to to his fans before passing.

:(

He was awful, but he was the man back in the day.

yy_cheng

He was pretty one dimensional. Always the lift over his head or the clothes line.

Our indoor cricket team used to be called Legion of Doom copied from wwf

parra pete

Bigfella

I think you might have identified a contributing causal factor. Remember how many Dragons fans there were in the NRL forum a few years ago? There must have been f**king heaps of Eels fans from '05-'09. And because we were mostly winning and not trying to find scapegoats, this place would have been much friendlier.

The thing I find funny is that back then virtually every poster seemed to hate Brian smith because we never won comps. He was always texting people and using whiteboards and sabotaging local juniors.

Now those same people seem to think those were the golden years.

lingard

The thing I find funny is that back then virtually every poster seemed to hate Brian smith because we never won comps. He was always texting people and using whiteboards and sabotaging local juniors.

I think you're wrong there, mate. I don't think Brian has too many fans here. Sure, when things are bad, people tend to miss the relative success of those days - but I don't think they miss him.

oldmancraigy

You were right and they were wrong.

1 or 2 people couldn't have played a major part in anything bad happening at our club. Especially not coaches - it isn't their responsibility to teach people how to play footy, it is their responsibility to do some other job.
It's great that you can share these pearls with us, despite having no clue about strategic management in footy, nor any experience in coaching.

I'm not sure any of what I just said is true - but I'm trying to build a straw man to start an argument, that someone else can pick up on, in the hopes that someone will leave (insert name here). Or did they go already?

:sarcasm:

IFR33K

I certainly wouldn't be labelling our years under Brian smith as golden. What he did do however was put us back on the rugby league map after years in exile.

Also, it goes without saying, that 2011-2013 are probably the worst we've been in modern times. Poorly run, bad decisions, in house fighting and so on, which resulted in f**ked up on field results.

1997-2006>>>>>2011-2013 by a county mile.