Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumoured/Confirmed Signings and More Crap XX

Incorrect

Johns keeps calling Hindy out for not winning a premiership, just for once I'd love hindy to say back that at least he didn't cheat on his wife in front of 20 team mates

Nah. Hindy should just say to him -

"When did you when your comp Matty? 1997? Wasn't that the year that half of the best league players in Australia were playing in a different comp to you? So in other words, you won half a premiership."

And Fletcher won his premiership the year the Dogs were done for cap rorting and couldn't play the GF... much like Melbourne should have been in 2009, and then Hindy would have got that premiership he deserved

Nah. Hindy should just say to him -

"When did you when your comp Matty? 1997? Wasn't that the year that half of the best league players in Australia were playing in a different comp to you? So in other words, you won half a premiership."

And Fletcher won his premiership the year the Dogs were done for cap rorting and couldn't play the GF... much like Melbourne should have been in 2009, and then Hindy would have got that premiership he deserved

He should also add that some of his team mates also tested positive to a banned substance after that game...

Kornstar

I don't really have an issue with them ribbing a mate about not winning a premiership, what annoyed me Monday night was that they specifically referenced Melbourne! That is when Hindy should point out that they were cheating!

Forty20

HE was clubless at the start of the year and recruited by Parramatta coach Brad Arthur in Bali, but Brad Takairangi is close to securing his future.

The rug was pulled out from under the Cook Islands international when he signed a contract to transfer from Gold Coast to Wests Tigers this year, only for the joint venture club to renege.

“I just signed for one year but hopefully I can get it sorted sooner rather than later,” Takairangi tells League Week.

“Brad Arthur is awesome, he’s such a good coach. I learn something new every day under him. You hear a lot of people talk about how good he is but you don’t understand until you’re actually coached by him.

“I know I had one of my best pre-seasons.”

Takaraingi admits it’s a relief to be away from the Titans given all their pre-season dramas.

“Definitely – I feel a bit sorry for the boys up there but in saying that I’m loving my footy and glad to be back home in Sydney,” he says.

“I still keep in touch with them. I’m hoping (they overcome everything). My brother-in-law is up there, Eddy Pettybourne. I speak to him all the time and I do hope they can come through this.”

The former Titan says everyone has taken on more responsibility at the Eels since the departure of Jarryd Hayne.

“I’m only new to the team but Normy (Corey Norman) and Chrissy (Sandow) had a massive pre-season and they really stepped up,” he says.

“They are leading the boys out there on the training paddock and it proved (against Manly) when it got tough that they controlled the team.

“Our shapes benefit my sort of play. We’ve got forward who will lay a platform and halves who know how to feed the outside backs. It’s only up from here.”

While rucks are quicker, Takarairangi says it’s not making much of a difference to the Eels.

“I don’t really notice it, to be honest,” he says.

Clicky

it would be fine if it was just that but Johns has repeatedly gone after Parra on TV, radio and now in print

Delboy

Don't like 'Matty Johns, don't watch his show, have met him at a couple of sports functions , the phrase " how far up yourself can one person be" comes to mind

His claim of BA being on thin ice is a f**king joke. In fact I'd say that his job is one of the most secure of NRL coaches.

Dickhead.

BoneyBlake17

His claim of BA being on thin ice is a f**king joke. In fact I'd say that his job is one of the most secure of NRL coaches.

Dickhead.

Thats the thing that has annoyed me the most is that he has been saying that for 2 weeks know. BA actually did an exclusive interview with lara pitt on monday for HIS SHOW to explain what the foran signing meant for the club. And straight after the interview telling hindy that BA wont be the same coach he was at manly cause he is no longer assistant and questioning his credentials as head coach.

TheRam

Dickhead.

Mate, if the team puts in as well as they have been for most of the season, win, lose or draw and the players keep rapping him the way they do, King Arthur, is as safe as the Queen Of England. He'll have the gig as long as he wants it.

sludge guts isn't happy http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/ne...t-keep-to-kieran/story-fngr8iii-1227271345150

The promise Parramatta can’t keep to Kieran

Peter Peters
Manly Daily
March 20, 2015 3:01PM

If EELS coach Brad Arthur has told Manly’s Kieran Foran he will be in charge of Parramatta for the next four years, history shows it is a promise he cannot deliver.

Since Brian Smith finished up mid-season in 2006 there has been a revolving door for Eels coaches.

The axe has come down on seven coaches in the past eight years.

Parramatta has been a graveyard for coaches as the club craves success in the NRL.

Here are the names on the gravestones since 2006:

■ 2006 Brian Smith

■ 2006 Jason Taylor (caretaker)

■ 2007-2008 Michael Hagan

■ 2009-2010 Daniel Anderson

■ 2011-2012 Stephen Kearney

■ 2012 Brad Arthur (caretaker)

■ 2013 Ricky Stuart

■ 2014 Brad Arthur

In recent times, two years is about the average term of a Parramatta coach, with the club having no problems replacing them mid-season.

Foran has been open and up front about his admiration for Arthur, forged during a two-season stint he had as an assistant to Geoff Toovey at Manly.

Herein lies a vital point in Foran’s announcement this week that he would sign with Parramatta for four years, from 2016-19 inclusive. Foran has two of the smartest operators in player management in George Mimis and Paul Sutton, from SFX sports management.

I don’t believe they would have allowed Foran to sign a deal without a get-out clause concerning the coach.

It would be that if Arthur is sacked, then Fozzie could walk out.

Parramatta chief executive Scott Seward has denied there is such a clause.

Only Foran and his management know the truth but if Parramatta are telling porkies, that will already be leaving a sour taste in Foran’s mouth.

So where does that leave Foran and, indeed, Daly Cherry-Evans?

They both have until round 13 – 10 weeks away – to change their minds on their multimillion-dollar deals with Parramatta and the Gold Coast respectively. Their decisions to leave have been, by their own admissions, very tough to make.

Leaving the Sea Eagles, the lifestyle, the community and the avid fans isn’t easy.

I recall in 1987 Ronnie Gibbs made a mid-season decision to leave the next season for the Gold Coast.

He went on to play outstandingly for the rest of the season under coach Bob Fulton as Manly won the last grand final at the SCG.

At the end of the season, Gibbs openly regretted his decision to leave but there was no cooling-off period in those days.

His career never really reached great heights after he left a powerful club with culture to go to a club with no culture or real success.

That must be weighing heavily on the minds of both the young playmakers.

Cherry-Evans was as good as I have seen him last Saturday night against Melbourne Storm.

Looks like the propaganda war has begun. Manly will be planting the seeds of doubt in Foran's head and mind f**king him for another 10 rounds.

Merkins.

emjaycee

Good one Peters... Arthur was only assistant to Toovey for one year (2013) not the two you claim... or has your absence from Manly from when you got sacked made you confuse the dates?

Manly, Mathew Johns, Peter Peters, all applying the pressure. Manly will be taking it to the wire trying to get Foran to change his mind. It's already started.

Regarding the get out clause, as I've said in a previous post... I reckon Parra at the last minute inserted the BA get out clause as Foran was having doubts. They put it in to re-assure Foran that weekend before the signing.

I really believe it's not over yet.

Looks like the propaganda war has begun. Manly will be planting the seeds of doubt in Foran's head and mind f**king him for another 10 rounds.

Merkins.
http://www.theaustralian.com.au/spo...ve-to-parramatta/story-fnca0von-1227267048157

Kieran Foran says there?s no going back on move to Parramatta

News Limited
March 18, 2015 12:00AM

DEPARTING Manly five-eighth Kieran Foran yesterday insisted he had the utmost respect for Sea Eagles coach Geoff Toovey but claimed the club would be wasting its time attempting to convince him to backflip on his decision to join Parramatta next season.

A day after confirming he would take up a lucrative four-year deal with the Eels from 2016, Foran also spoke about his decision to reject overtures from Canterbury coach Des Hasler for the second time in his young career.

Foran, currently sidelined with a hamstring injury, has endured weeks of whispers that his decision to depart the Sea Eagles was related to Toovey?s coaching.

However, he went some way towards putting those rumours to bed yesterday when he spoke of his admiration for Toovey, a club icon as a player who has taken Manly to the finals in his two years in charge.

?I want to clear something up ? I am very happy with the coaching here,? Foran said. ?I think the results speak for themselves with what Tooves has been able to do with this group over the last two years.

?He is a quality coach, his assistants in (David) Penna and (Steve) Georgallis are quality assistants as well. I think they have done a great job.

?I am very disappointed in (the rumours) because I don?t think Tooves and the coaching staff deserve it. I honestly believe the results speak for themselves. I think Tooves is a quality bloke and a quality coach.

?I get a bit disappointed and down about those sort of rumours because I have the utmost respect for everyone involved in this organisation. Like I said, Tooves and his coaching staff are some of the best in the league.?

So is Hasler, although that wasn?t enough to convince Foran to join his former mentor at the Bulldogs.

The 24-year-old has rejected the opportunity to link with Hasler on two occasions since the premiership-winning coach left Manly at the end of 2011.

?I have a huge opinion of Dessie,? Foran said. ?I think everyone knows that. He is a lovely bloke and it was flattering to have the interest from him.

?At the end of the day, I made my decision and I am comfortable with it.?

So comfortable, he has ruled out changing his mind ? under NRL rules, Parramatta are unable to lodge a contract with Foran until round 13.

?I have made my mind up, I have made my decision and I will stick to that,? Foran said. ?I don?t think I will be doing a round-13 backflip. I?m comfortable in my decision so I want to focus on this year with Manly and have the best year I can possibly have.?

In the short term, Foran?s hamstring injury is likely to keep him out of the Bulldogs encounter on Friday night at Brookvale Oval.

?I?m doing my best to get the hammy right but I don?t think I am any chance of playing this week.?