Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumoured / Confirmed Signings

Cheese sandwich

The problem it isn't a straight shoot out, I would guess Ronnie wants more then Katoa.
He actually could be chasing the combined amount Katoa and if we resign Stonestreet is on
Possibly, it's probably all academic if our million dollar man doesn't deliver too. That's the $ that could make or break us the next couple of seasons.

bluefox68

Thinking about Mulitalo in a Broncos jersey - he’d fit right in with the arrogant attitude of pretty much all their outside backs.

But what have they actually achieved?!?

Chimp

If you take personality out of it, there’s very little between our 2 wingers - Katoa definitely offers better bang for bucks, and as such, is the best value for money.
If 1 winger has to go, it would be Ronnie I’d let go (begrudgingly).
Anyhow…. How on earth can Brisbane afford him in their cap… unless they’re losing both Staggs and Cobbo…

Special K

I hope he stays, I like Katoa but if it's a straight shoot out between keeping 1 of them it's Mulitalo every day.
I'm probably the other way. I'd like both. But Katoa is cheaper and statistically he and Raimen had the best edge defence in the NRL. If you look at the data for where we concede points it is fairly or unfairly smack bang placed on Ronnie.

Every day of the week I am keeping Ronnie. He is the glue of a club. I'd love to see him go beyond third on the list and build a connection that is unbreakable with the Sharks. I do however understand if another club offers him something we can't match and we let him go. I don't want that to happen but I get it.

Sione, I reckon would re-sign next year when off for a modest deal while Stonestreet grows beyond him. Rooster management style.

2012....Sharks Year

I'm probably the other way. I'd like both. But Katoa is cheaper and statistically he and Raimen had the best edge defence in the NRL. If you look at the data for where we concede points it is fairly or unfairly smack bang placed on Ronnie.

Every day of the week I am keeping Ronnie. He is the glue of a club. I'd love to see him go beyond third on the list and build a connection that is unbreakable with the Sharks. I do however understand if another club offers him something we can't match and we let him go. I don't want that to happen but I get it.

Sione, I reckon would re-sign next year when off for a modest deal while Stonestreet grows beyond him. Rooster management style.
If I remember it was Ronnie that was spruiking a few years ago that he and the boys needed to take a little less to keep together. How times have changed if his management is shopping him around. That's if that's actually the case as portrayed by the telecrap.

Chimp

https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...y/news-story/89e1cc426940133539d8b16f9ea8af65

Look at the state of the ‘journalism’ here…. If you take this article at face value, there are 3 main messages in it;
- The Sharks are shopping Ronnie to Brisbane (therefore must want him gone before the start of this season, as he’s free to join them in 26)
- That it’s proof Ronnie wants to test his value (yet it’s the Sharks, not Ronnie that are shopping him)
- but he’s expected to re-sign with the Sharks

Every single point contradicts the other 2 points. Idiots..

DJDL

Quality research in that article:
"Mulitalo is an international winger who knows where the tryline is, having scored 56 from 70 NRL games."

He's played 110 games, and scored 83 tries.

Katoa is "better value for money", but Stonestreet is better value for money than Katoa.
WK won't be re-signed. If he is, it will be on reduced money.
Use some of that to retain Ronnie.

As @Special K said, Ronnie is the heart and soul of the club.
Pay attention in group huddles. Who's talking?
Cam, Teig and Ronnie.

Ronnie is the voice amongst the backs.
If he goes, who?
WK?
Katoa?
Ramien?

All of them are as quiet as a church mouse.

Iro? Maybe, but he's < 30 games in.
Stonestreet? Nowhere near ready to lead them.

No effing way am I letting Ronnie walk.

R-15-3

I’m not sold on Stonestreet, he has looked good in his few games in first grade.
But has looked very clumsy and plenty of poor defensive decisions for the Jets.

DJDL

I’m not sold on Stonestreet, he has looked good in his few games in first grade.

This time last year, plenty in here were saying similar things about Iro.
But put him in better company and he excelled.

I reckon Stonestreet will be similar.

Katcan be clumsy and prone to defensive shockers as well.
Not to mention the obligatory clanger he seems to come up with at crucial moments, or in big games.

He’s peaked, Stonestreet is coming into his prime.
Time to make the change.

Inferno

The Broncs have some decent backs on their books and just signed Grant Anderson.

The idea that we're 'shopping' Ronnie is laughable.

That said I think he has family in Brisvegas.

And so did Iro.
The jets team chops and changes each week, different combinations all the time

If you are talking poor defensive reads, the player he is potentially going to replace is 100 first grade games in and still making those reads wrong

What a difference now in respect to Ronaldo, years back forum may have gone it meltdown if we had a player like him leave.
Now if he goes we will just say can be replaced and move on.
Thats what we want if we lose someone they are replaced and the nothing to see here approach

shadowboxer

What a difference now in respect to Ronaldo, years back forum may have gone it meltdown if we had a player like him leave.
Now if he goes we will just say can be replaced and move on.
Thats what we want if we lose someone they are replaced and the nothing to see here approach
Completely agree Stake. And that should be business as usual.

He still needs to learn how to do the kick returns better. Looks real weak with those. Not sure of his hands as well. But the he sure can run.