Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumoured Targets 3

Knight Tales

Should a coach be openly told that they have to play Sandon at 9? Cos that is what Toohey is implying.
After last night it is even more obvious where he should be playing.

Rod

Sandon Smith.
"With the Canberra Raiders pulling out of the race for his signature earlier this week, the battle for Smith has come down to the Newcastle Knights and North Queensland Cowboys, with the former looking the likelier destination after tabling a four-year deal.
That was, until, the Cowboys made their own offer, tabling a whopping $1.3 million deal to lure the rising star to Townsville, according to the Courier Mail."
I lost the link. Cows want him as a half. Deal was for 3 years.
A "whopping deal" at slightly above the comp average wage.

Apey

Yeah I mean Toohey said we've offered him an extra year (4) and more money than we originally did too so we're probably paying a similar amount.

HarVeeGee

Yeah no, especially since we have Gagai for another year.

I don't want another Sione Mat on our hands. We need to keep Sharpe in 1 position a stick to it
I think there’s a bit of a difference between having a guy repeatedly put on weight to play in the pack then lose it to play in the backline & asking a fullback to play centre. Centre (and wing) is a very common “crap, we have two fullbacks, what do we do with the second one?” position. His fitness regimen wouldn’t change much at all.

Knight Tales

It is a great headache for us to have that spine. If Smith signs. Those four players will give us hope every week if they stay together and grow together.

Knight Tales

Sounds like he’s going to North Queensland.
So basically he’s likely signing with the other mob cos we are stubborn and as per usual cannot see the opportunity open to us. It was always a hard sell at hooker. The timing of the coach has not helped.

I think there’s a bit of a difference between having a guy repeatedly put on weight to play in the pack then lose it to play in the backline & asking a fullback to play centre. Centre (and wing) is a very common “crap, we have two fullbacks, what do we do with the second one?” position. His fitness regimen wouldn’t change much at all.
Was more referring to Sione playing wing/centre/fullback and never getting a chance to settle into FG in any of them. They are all outside backs but they all have different and particular aspects to them that require time to develop. Centre especially can be demanding defencively.

I don't want him jammed into the centres just because we are trying to fit pieces elsewhere. It didn't work for AJ Brimson at the Titans and I have no faith it will work for Sharpe

HarVeeGee

Yep Brimson can’t play well at centre or wing. Has to play 6 if not 1. Cool. One data point.

Here are players who’ve been able to perform well at both fullback and centre: Joey Manu, Nick Meaney, Reuben Garrick, Latrell Mitchell, Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow, Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad, Roger Tuivasa-Sheck, Dane Gagai, Greg Inglis, Jake Averillo, Jarryd Hayne… probably missing some.

The reality is that being able to make the transition between fullback and centre and perform well in both positions is just as if not more common than doing so between the halves and fullback.

Sione’s biggest issue was that he wasn’t that talented, might be time to just let that one go.

PhilGould

There's a guy on the other forum who's saying he'll go to the Cows. He's given plenty of "insights" before, and some have proven to be right, but plenty more have gone nowhere and never been mentioned again.

He also says the Knights are offering in the vicinity of $2.4m over 4 years while the Telegraph reports the Cows are offering $1.3m over 3 years which doesn't really pass the sniff test. Reckon the Knights could get him here to play prop if that was the difference.

There's a guy on the other forum who's saying he'll go to the Cows. He's given plenty of "insights" before, and some have proven to be right, but plenty more have gone nowhere and never been mentioned again.

He also says the Knights are offering in the vicinity of $2.4m over 4 years while the Telegraph reports the Cows are offering $1.3m over 3 years which doesn't really pass the sniff test. Reckon the Knights could get him here to play prop if that was the difference.
We're not exactly a desirable destination mate. The only reason he's thinking about it at all is because of the lopsided offer. Come to the backyard dunny of the NRL to play a position you don't want to play for some more cash, or back yourself? It's not that easy a decision.

Is Smith worth paying ridiculous overs for to play a position he doesn't want to play? Absolutely not for mine. But neither was Dylbro - unless it pays off in some abstract hypothetical future way down the line. We're still in our O'Sullivan-is-God era around here though, so I'm sure a bunch of better educated posters will be along shortly to tell me why I'm wrong. I'll be happy to miss out on this deal.

Woody90

I must have missed something, how do we know the deal is lopsided? Toohey’s reported we’ve offered more than the Cows but that could mean anything.

I’m happy to let the cards fall where they do for Smith. He’d be very handy considering he can play hooker and cover halves considering both Cogger and Arthur will be gone, but at the same time if he doesn’t come I don’t really care either.