Back to wing in place of MarzhewThe problem is our attack
Fletcher hasn't really done anything in the halves that he couldnt do on the wing/fullback
Ideally Smith should be in halves with Brown as this seems a more settled established attacking unit ,
So where to put Fletcher is the question
Yeah no, especially since we have Gagai for another year.Centre
A "whopping deal" at slightly above the comp average wage.Sandon Smith.
"With the Canberra Raiders pulling out of the race for his signature earlier this week, the battle for Smith has come down to the Newcastle Knights and North Queensland Cowboys, with the former looking the likelier destination after tabling a four-year deal.
That was, until, the Cowboys made their own offer, tabling a whopping $1.3 million deal to lure the rising star to Townsville, according to the Courier Mail."
I lost the link. Cows want him as a half. Deal was for 3 years.
I think there’s a bit of a difference between having a guy repeatedly put on weight to play in the pack then lose it to play in the backline & asking a fullback to play centre. Centre (and wing) is a very common “crap, we have two fullbacks, what do we do with the second one?” position. His fitness regimen wouldn’t change much at all.Yeah no, especially since we have Gagai for another year.
I don't want another Sione Mat on our hands. We need to keep Sharpe in 1 position a stick to it
So basically he’s likely signing with the other mob cos we are stubborn and as per usual cannot see the opportunity open to us. It was always a hard sell at hooker. The timing of the coach has not helped.Sounds like he’s going to North Queensland.
Was more referring to Sione playing wing/centre/fullback and never getting a chance to settle into FG in any of them. They are all outside backs but they all have different and particular aspects to them that require time to develop. Centre especially can be demanding defencively.I think there’s a bit of a difference between having a guy repeatedly put on weight to play in the pack then lose it to play in the backline & asking a fullback to play centre. Centre (and wing) is a very common “crap, we have two fullbacks, what do we do with the second one?” position. His fitness regimen wouldn’t change much at all.
Where'd you hear that?Sounds like he’s going to North Queensland.
I think he’s coming to that conclusion based on the fact that they’re offering him a halves spot.Where'd you hear that?
Ahh okay. You'd think we'd be the favourites considering he'd be much, much closer to family here.I think he’s coming to that conclusion based on the fact that they’re offering him a halves spot.
Ahh okay. You'd think we'd be the favourites considering he'd be much, much closer to family here.
Who's to say he won't be played at 9 up there anyway? They have lost Robson after all.
Ahh sorry, I forgot he was going up there lolAnd what position would Reed Mahoney end up playing?
We're not exactly a desirable destination mate. The only reason he's thinking about it at all is because of the lopsided offer. Come to the backyard dunny of the NRL to play a position you don't want to play for some more cash, or back yourself? It's not that easy a decision.There's a guy on the other forum who's saying he'll go to the Cows. He's given plenty of "insights" before, and some have proven to be right, but plenty more have gone nowhere and never been mentioned again.
He also says the Knights are offering in the vicinity of $2.4m over 4 years while the Telegraph reports the Cows are offering $1.3m over 3 years which doesn't really pass the sniff test. Reckon the Knights could get him here to play prop if that was the difference.