Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumoured Targets 3

Old dog

Or is it a case of when he kicked he should have run or when he run he should have kicked, when the kick was poor like out on the full should he have run, when the run was poor should he have kicked. WILL WE EVER KNOW. Hindsight wonderful thing pity we can’t see it before it happens.
Mann is much better at 9 than 6, could be better at 14 but he is what we have until new signing and injuries are overcome

Knight Vision

Parra v Souths last night...

Moses - 15 of 18 kicks

Reynolds - 18 of 23 kicks

Pearce v Cowboys - 18 of 23 kicks.

The teams best kicker should kick most of the time.

Problem for us is that for some reason Mitchell Pearce is always seen as being under 'too much pressure' yet most halfbacks see this as their job.

Adam Reynolds kicked the life out of Parra last night with a huge VARIETY of quality kicks that we will never have at the club with Pearce.

The real issue is that Mitchy is not real good at it. And only costs us a million a year for that major shortcoming - just one of many.
I agree to an extent. But they also have valid options at 5/8 that can boot a ball which puts the opposition in 2 minds.

I dare say most of the 5/8's on that list could ( and have done ) steer their team to victory on their own if need be where as I think that's a bit beyond Mann..

Spot On

I agree to an extent. But they also have valid options at 5/8 that can boot a ball which puts the opposition in 2 minds.

I dare say most of the 5/8's on that list could ( and have done ) steer their team to victory on their own if need be where as I think that's a bit beyond Mann..

No doubt KV.

Pearce needs a lot of help unfortunately. His kicking is second tier at best, too often. And from a salary cap point of view, that is becoming a heavy cross to carry.

Frederick

Tooheys news summary:

Kieran Foran not on the radar, never has been, never will be.
There is money in the cap for another playmaker, but not marquee money.
If Lino performs though he could fill that gap
Club also looking for another prop

Klemmer wants to play out his career with us

Knights already knew about Blake green signing with the dogs when he signed with us

Ponga was shattered about his goal kicking last weekend

Proctor not on the radar

Siebold a possibility to replace Furner if Furner takes up a gig elsewhere. AOB and Siebold have a strong relationship. Club doesnt want Furner to go though.

Knight76

Tooheys news summary:

<snip>

Never thought Foran was on the radar, great there is cap money there but I am really hoping Lino has a blinder and we finally get to see him as a regular first grade playmaker, which I believe he is in support of a main playmaker.

His defence was poor last time out, under Brown, when the whole teams defence was poor. And lets face it, Brown wasn't good at getting the best out of the team or a player. Let's see what OB can do with him.

Klemmer, well, all players say that. But the Knights tend to have players arrive and honestly never want to leave.

Ponga should be dissapointed with his goal kicking in general. Id be surprised if he didn't have the lowest conversion precentage of all NRL goal kickers.

Seibold - Erm.....assistants have a way of becoming the coach years down the line. Can we not please?

Frederick

Klemmer, well, all players say that. But the Knights tend to have players arrive and honestly never want to leave.
Direct quotes from Klemmer say that he and his family love the area and that the only reason they'd move back to Sydney would be for football if he couldn't keep playing here, but after his footy career they'd be straight back up here as they love the area so much.

Knight76

Direct quotes from Klemmer say that he and his family love the area and that the only reason they'd move back to Sydney would be for football if he couldn't keep playing here, but after his footy career they'd be straight back up here as they love the area so much.

Another thing about Newy. Players tend to want to settle here. And why wouldn't they.

Frederick

Seibold - Erm.....assistants have a way of becoming the coach years down the line. Can we not please?
I don't have an issue with him coming along as an assistant. He did great things at Souths, and learnt his trade in the Melbourne system alongside AOB.

The Broncos situation imo is all on the board, the players and the supporter base. I find it has strong parallels to Brian Smith's tenure here - someone with very different ideas brought in but the players, club and fans were uncomfortable with the change so ran him out of town before he could finish the job

SamSepi0l

Tooheys news summary:

Great!
There is money in the cap for another playmaker, but not marquee money.
Good news. Nico Hynes is cheap.
If Lino performs though he could fill that gap
Not great.
Club also looking for another prop
Good!
Klemmer wants to play out his career with us
Great!
Knights already knew about Blake green signing with the dogs when he signed with us
Fits why suggestions of extending him were always shot down.
Ponga was shattered about his goal kicking last weekend
Fair. It's atrocious.
Proctor not on the radar
Thank god.
Siebold a possibility to replace Furner if Furner takes up a gig elsewhere. AOB and Siebold have a strong relationship. Club doesnt want Furner to go though.
Historically a good assistant. No issues with this provided it does not mean a lot of extra media.

aqua_duck

Which prop we looking at? Any ideas? Does that mean Josh King probably let go soon?
With glasby and Herman gone next season we're severely lacking depth, today illustrated that perfectly. J Saf and Klem have had to carry the burden for a while now with not much back up.
Don't really care about big names or anything we just need some big bodies period. Jamayne Taunoa Brown who started for the warriors today was something who we had on the books a few years back, someone with a bit of size like him would be handy

I'm seeing others talk about Mullin with his ban ending next year. I reckon he's too old to consider. I wonder if the club might support him though given they have been totally unable to.

Yosh

I think it's less our forwards struggling, more that we just hit one out. Other teams just gang up because they know we ain't going to spread it.

If we add a bit more flair to our attack I have no doubt Klemmer, Saifitis and Pastrami will dominate the middle.

aqua_duck

I think it's less our forwards struggling, more that we just hit one out. Other teams just gang up because they know we ain't going to spread it.

If we add a bit more flair to our attack I have no doubt Klemmer, Saifitis and Pastrami will dominate the middle.
I honestly don't see what others do in Saulo and I've tried my best to be glass half full. In any case if klemmer and D Saf make origin next year our prop rotation will consist of J Saf, King, Saulo and god knows who else, pretty much any injuries and we're rooted. The issue is young guys like Croker and Momoisea have lost a year in their development because of covid

Old dog

I honestly don't see what others do in Saulo and I've tried my best to be glass half full. In any case if klemmer and D Saf make origin next year our prop rotation will consist of J Saf, King, Saulo and god knows who else, pretty much any injuries and we're rooted. The issue is young guys like Croker and Momoisea have lost a year in their development because of covid
Think you are getting ahead of yourself, for Klem and Dan to make SOO in twelve months time, injury free, the team needs to be performing at tops for them to be showing form etc, let’s just get past this season and move on, every other club has had players restricted development due to COVID.

aqua_duck

Think you are getting ahead of yourself, for Klem and Dan to make SOO in twelve months time, injury free, the team needs to be performing at tops for them to be showing form etc, let’s just get past this season and move on, every other club has had players restricted development due to COVID.
Klem pretty much picks himself but those are the contingencies you have to plan for as well as injuries. Whilst every one is in the same boat redevelopment prop is the toughest position in terms of flooding kids, you simply don't go from jersey flegg straight to 1st grade in the front row

Knight Vision

Lachlan Lam is off contract end of this year. Same Salmon from the Eels Maybe worth a look.

Both cant be asking too much at the moment.

At this stage I'd even look at Jack Gogger if nothing else