Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

TheRam

Bloody shame the game has developed this way. Surely there's a way to counteract this wrestle shit?

Of course there is, it is very simple too really, but it needs massive balls from the NRL admin, not the mealy mouthed weak politicians we have had and still have, of the past 20 years or so.

Solution - Decree from the this day forward any deemed wrestle in the ruck by the referee officials will be penalized immediately and just keep penalizing till the pea comes out the whistle. Also if any team gets penalized three times for the wrestle, they instantly incur a 10 min sin bin to that last player penalized and every player there hence.

But they need to be full on, not worry about the coaches, fans and media about it ruining the spectacle. Remember it has become a cancer in the game and need drastic and radical surgery to rectify what they have neglected for so long.

Just ask yourself, if the NRL were serious and followed through on their word and kept it up, which coach would allow their players to continue to wrestle with penalties and sin binnings hanging over their teams head?

I dare say at least 90% of the wrestle would disappear by the 3rd week. But it takes real strength of leadership and must be maintained and NEVER drop off the penalties or sin bins. Coaches are no ones fools, They will always react to whatever they can get away with and they will squeal like stuck pigs, but once they know that the hierarchy mean business, they will quickly make the adjustment to get the advantage again.

But like I have said many times, the NRL does not have leaders, as can be witness right now with the debacle that is going on between Grant, Greenberg and the clubs. All parties are at fault and only more crap will be the end result no matter who is left standing.

The games as always is the loser. Long live AFL.

BoneyBlake17

The wrestling rubbish has come too far now. The horse has bolted they needed to nip it in the bud 10 years ago when the storm first brought it into the game. Its a disgrace though that it has slowly seeped into junior rugby league.

All the commentators talk about the great legacy of bellamy smith and slater will leave well the thing i remember from these turds will be that they have ruined a great game by bringing in this rubbish

TheRam

The wrestling rubbish has come too far now. The horse has bolted they needed to nip it in the bud 10 years ago when the storm first brought it into the game. Its a disgrace though that it has slowly seeped into junior rugby league.

All the commentators talk about the great legacy of bellamy smith and slater will leave well the thing i remember from these turds will be that they have ruined a great game by bringing in this rubbish

Spoken like the great NRL leadership we have. Onya champ. Fortune favours the bold.

It's easy. Just get a third ref on the field - a second pocket ref. He's a wrestling expert who makes the decision.

So, either you manage to pin the ball carrier for 3 or you get penalised.

Obscene Assassin

Can we also blame the tigers for bringing this in 2005? As soon as they were touched they'd fall to the ground to get a quick play the ball. The wrestling in the game was a reaction to this rather than the storm doing it on their own volition.

It's easy. Just get a third ref on the field - a second pocket ref. He's a wrestling expert who makes the decision.

So, either you manage to pin the ball carrier for 3 or you get penalised.
But who is going to keep an eye on Hulk Hogan to make sure he doesn't f**k it up? I reckon you need another ref to look into it. A specialist wrestling referee.

Glenneel

Love affair? Lol

The bloke has been our best prop. Why would be be down the pecking order? And how does that mean I believe he's going to get us out of this imagined mire all by himself?

What's truly hard to understand is how he became the scapegoat in a pack where Matagi is running like a busted fridge, Vave is too fat to tackle anyone, and our so called defensive leader has been benched for a 24 year old....

You blokes want a scapegoat and you don't understand Alvaros role, so he's the easy option. You don't want to use your brains, just shout at someone
I've never ever said Alvaro is a scapegoat. I've criticised our pack as a whole lamenting our lack of size up front and Alvaro will not fix that. Yes he played well against the Raiders but was absolutely smashed by the Roosters.

Until our forward pack shows more consistency we will struggle to make the 8 and never win a gf. Simple as that!

. Yes he played well against the Raiders but was absolutely smashed by the Roosters.

He made 40 tackles off the bench....he was our best defender in that game by miles. The game was lost when he came on, yet people wanna criticise him for not making a million metres? That's what I mean by saying people are using him as a scapegoat. In a game where we had no footy, he came on and tackled his guts out, made 39 tackles in 40 mins of footy. He is not even close to being the problem with our team.

I'm bored of this discussion anyway. It's clear that many posters on here simply don't rate or don't like the guy for whatever reason....his footy will do the talking over the next few seasons, especially now that he's hopefully locked down a starting spot.

Glenneel

Not sure about you mate, but I am far from happy with where we are at?

I am over accepting f**king mediocrity, we are losing, we aren't competing with any half decent team but but but we have injuries and we are just unlucky, and stats suggest that Alvaro is whooping opposing packs, give me a break.

We are so far off its not funny, now Adam Clydesdale honestly WTF?

There isn't much on offer but I don't know how proactive we have been in recruiting most teams have done they're business for next year.

If we wanna trouble any half decent team we are a hooker and a middle forward away, even then I feel like we could do with an established fullback, I am sick of saying next year next year next year, every year we can't wait for the year after because so and so will be better next year, when are we gonna make it out year? I am not saying punt French, I am not saying his a scapegoat, he needs time, he needs size and honestly I am over waiting for it to be our time. but I feel like we could've done with a Dugan or Tedesco, we do not have an established out and out fullback, French may get there but size is against him, Gutherson is a gun but his gonna become a centre.

I hate being so negative but I am sorry nothing I have seen this year feels me with great confidence, we have quality in some positions but gee we lack in others also.
Djay I agree with you wholeheartedly. I've been saying the same for years to mainly deaf people, saying we need bigger forwards. Most have not listened saying our pack is top 8. Pffft, our pack is bottom 8 and every second game plays to its ability. I'm an unabashed French supporter but he has been disappointing this year so far, but he will learn.

I think if we can fix the forwards our backs will go much better. I don't think Evans is the answer, hope I'm proved wrong, and he alone will not improve us much, even tho Pou thinks he will. We need another one or hopefully two big good forwards to help him. Meehan, if true, could be a good buy if NRL lets him play. I mean Roosters rarely put a poor forward on the field in stark contrast to us. Herein ends the rant!