Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Parra47

You are the one who is seeming to get upset, telling me i had no idea for having a different opinion to you. I don't care what you think, i'm not the one big noting how much i played or how many copies of RLW i own.[/QUOTEj

I never said that, but keep making things up to justify yourself. No big noting, just stating my involvement in the game to answer someone's question. But keep repeating yourself. I think you may have an issue with it. perhaps its time for you to get off your computer and go and get involved in the game.

Obscene Assassin

As Phantom is trying to explain to you, there is no award for 'play maker'. He played fullback. That is the position he played, not 6 and not 7.

6 and 7 aren't positions, they're numbers. But aside from that do you think that Michael Morgan the "6" in the Cowboys plays the exact same role as Corey Norman the "6" for the Eels, and do they play the exact same role as James Maloney the "6" for the Sharks?

ash411

I'll simplify it even more for you. And for phantom bart, for that matter

In his PLAYMAKING ROLE at the PARRAMATTA FOOTBALL CLUB, he won TWO DALLY M AWARDS.

Get it?
I don't understand why it's so hard to for them to get?

Anyone who doesn't think Hayne was a playmaker at the eels (yes, in fullback) obviously doesn't read RLW enough.

phantom eel

As Phantom is trying to explain to you, there is no award for 'play maker'. He played fullback. That is the position he played, not 6 and not 7.
And the reason this is relevant is that people are talking about signing Hayne as a 6 for next year, rathern than as a fullback with (occasional) playmaker responsibilities.

There is a huge difference being an 80min front line playmaker, no matter how much Bazal tries to tell us what he thinks Hayne's previous awards were actually for, lol.
Uhh what?
See above

Joshuatheeel

Haynes a freak, I reckon he could probably play any position apart from prop/hooker and be better then the majority of players in that position.

phantom eel

I'll simplify it even more for you. And for phantom bart, for that matter

In his PLAYMAKING ROLE at the PARRAMATTA FOOTBALL CLUB, he won TWO DALLY M AWARDS.

Get it?
Lol.

There is a difference between a part-time, occasional playmaking role from fullback - where Hayne would often "go missing" for large parts of a game, see his final two games for us with a 2014 finals place on the line for example - and having a fulltime 80min playmaking role when signed to play in the front line as a 6 (or 7).

You've played footy Baz, you KNOW there is a big difference between playing 6 or 7 and playing 1.

And Hayne has had two years away from the game - yet some people still think he's a lock to be a great 6, when he's failed at it before? The last two sports Hayne played it's legal/usual for guys to pass the ball forward - how does that prepare him to be double the rugby league playmaker he used to have to be?

Parra47

And the reason this is relevant is that people are talking about signing Hayne as a 6 for next year, rathern than as a fullback with (occasional) playmaker responsibilities.

There is a huge difference being an 80min front line playmaker, no matter how much Bazal tries to tell us what he thinks Hayne's previous awards were actually for, lol.

See above
Exactly but here are two or three on here who don't seem to understand that. Lets see what happens next year.

phantom eel

Haynes a freak, I reckon he could probably play any position apart from prop/hooker and be better then the majority of players in that position.
We do need a hooker... I' like to see Jarryd try.

He'd probably object to packing in a scrum though... but that'd be ok, because he's a "playmaker", lol.

Obscene Assassin

It doesn't. But you claimed Hayne won Dally M Awards FOR being a playmaker. He won them for Fullback of the Year and Playmaker of the Year.

There is no award for being a playmaker, wake up Baz!

Let me quote this again because I don't think you realise what you wrote. He won them for Fullback of the Year and Playmaker of the Year. Then you go on to say that there's no award for being a playmaker. But just previously you said that he won a Dally M for being a playmaker, but then you go on to say that there is no award for playmakers.

Just making sure you know what you wrote. Hence my initial response with "uhh what?"

And this time I included your whole comment just so RLW47 doesn't piss his pants that I only used the part of your quote that I am referring to.

Obscene Assassin

We do need a hooker... I' like to see Jarryd try.

He'd probably object to packing in a scrum though... but that'd be ok, because he's a "playmaker", lol.
Hayne packed into a scrum many times. Oh wait, he can't because he's a fullback and a fullback has never packed into a scrum, ever.

phantom eel

Phantom Bart: We can't sign Hayne because he will be too dominant and overcall the halves!
Also Phantom Bart: Hayne has never been our dominant frontline playmaker!
Because you missed the context of earlier discussion...
Phantom Bart: We should only sign Hayne as a fullback, which (apart from winger) is his only real position.

Hayne has failed as a regular centre and five eighth. I'm not criticising Hayne for not having been up to being our front line playmaker - but he will get in the way as a fullback (like Farah gets in the way of Moses and Brooks).

Lol.

There is a difference between a part-time, occasional playmaking role from fullback - where Hayne would often "go missing" for large parts of a game, see his final two games for us with a 2014 finals place on the line for example - and having a fulltime 80min playmaking role when signed to play in the front line as a 6 (or 7).

You've played footy Baz, you KNOW there is a big difference between playing 6 or 7 and playing 1.

And Hayne has had two years away from the game - yet some people still think he's a lock to be a great 6, when he's failed at it before? The last two sports Hayne played it's legal/usual for guys to pass the ball forward - how does that prepare him to be double the rugby league playmaker he used to have to be?

Are you seriously trying to suggest that our leading provider of try and line break assists for most of the years he was at Parramatta was not a full time playmaker? Or just that his abilities as our playmaker had no bearing on his winning two Dally M awards

phantom eel

Let me quote this again because I don't think you realise what you wrote. He won them for Fullback of the Year and Playmaker of the Year. Then you go on to say that there's no award for being a playmaker. But just previously you said that he won a Dally M for being a playmaker, but then you go on to say that there is no award for playmakers.
I think Bazal is the one saying Hayne won awards for being a playmaker. I've been saying there are no such awards, and I am saying that Hayne has never been an 80min permanent frontline playmaker.

If I have said anything else it was a typo.

Just making sure you know what you wrote. Hence my initial response with "uhh what?"

And this time I included your whole comment just so RLW47 doesn't piss his pants that I only used the part of your quote that I am referring to.
See above...

Exactly but here are two or three on here who don't seem to understand that. Lets see what happens next year.

You are the one who can't understand that a fullback can also be a full time playmaker, that Jarryd Hayne was, and that in the course of playing this role he won two Dally M Player of the Year awards

I think Bazal is the one saying Hayne won awards for being a playmaker. .

No, you're just being obtuse. I am saying that he won two Dally M Player of the Year awards in his role as one of our chief playmakers. You can't deny that, obviously, because it's a fact, so you're obfuscating.

phantom eel

Are you seriously trying to suggest that our leading provider of try and line break assists for most of the years he was at Parramatta was not a full time playmaker? Or just that his abilities as our playmaker had no bearing on his winning two Dally M awards
I'm saying that being a "playmaker" from fullback is very different to being a playmaker signed to play 80mins in the front line as a 6 or 7. One is occasional, chime in when you choose, accept no blame because you weren't the 6 or 7... the other is permanent, with defence running at you all day, ball in hand more often and sometime not by choice, with all responsibility.

He won Dally M awards because he earned a sufficient number of 3 points (for whatever reason) from judges in the matches he played in those 2 seasons (but not in his other many seasons with us). You're the one with the playmkaer fixation who introduced the loose concept via you're erroneous claims, Baz.

(Almost time for a sook in the FFB, because some peope haven't agreed with you?)