Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

6 and 7 aren't positions, they're numbers. But aside from that do you think that Michael Morgan the "6" in the Cowboys plays the exact same role as Corey Norman the "6" for the Eels, and do they play the exact same role as James Maloney the "6" for the Sharks?
You could argue that Coote does more play making for the Cows than Morgan. But but but but because he doesn't have 6 or 7 on his back he can't be a playmaker.

phantom eel

You are the one who can't understand that a fullback can also be a full time playmaker, that Jarryd Hayne was, and that in the course of playing this role he won two Dally M Player of the Year awards
Bullshit Baz, you're drunk!

Hayne clokced off for 40 mins in each of his final two games with us in 2014 - when we had our finals destiny in our hands.

That's when we needed a "full time" playmaker, and Hayne was missing in action - even without front line defensive responsibilities - dreaming about gridiron rather than the job at hand. He's simply not up to signing as a 6 (full time playmaker) - especially after 2 years of disappearing from the game as well.

phantom eel

You could argue that Coote does more play making for the Cows than Morgan. But but but but because he doesn't have 6 or 7 on his back he can't be a playmaker.
He can be, but he doesn't have front line defence responsibilities, and isn't being talked about as being signed as our replacement 6 or 7...

It's not hard to follow, if you take the blinkers off!

phantom eel

No, you're just being obtuse. I am saying that he won two Dally M Player of the Year awards in his role as one of our chief playmakers. You can't deny that, obviously, because it's a fact, so you're obfuscating.
Ah, watering it down after the event. "in his role as one of..."

That's starting to make more sense Baz. *thumb emoticon*

I'm saying that being a "playmaker" from fullback is very different to being a playmaker signed to play 80mins in the front line as a 6 or 7. One is occasional, chime in when you choose, accept no blame because you weren't the 6 or 7... the other is permanent, with defence running at you all day, ball in hand more often and sometime not by choice, with all responsibility.

He won Dally M awards because he earned a sufficient number of 3 points (for whatever reason) from judges in the matches he played in those 2 seasons (but not in his other many seasons with us). You're the one with the playmkaer fixation who introduced the loose concept via you're erroneous claims, Baz.

If my claims are erroneous then explain why Hayne was consistently one of our chief performers with try assists and line break assists, and how that doesn't mke him a chief playmaker? Bet you can't

(Almost time for a sook in the FFB, because some peope haven't agreed with you?)

Lol. Nice try champ, stick to making things up about Hayne. Although I have to say it's quite an indictment that the quality of footy conversation in there is generally far higher than that in here...

He can be, but he doesn't have front line defence responsibilities, and isn't being talked about as being signed as our replacement 6 or 7...

It's not hard to follow, if you take the blinkers off!
Your buddy Fensom 47 is claiming you can't be a playmaker from the back, that's an absolute load of rot.

For the simple fact that we have better attacking players around him and a vastly improved defence.
Stop making sense mate, thats not allowed in here. Otherwise you get called clueless then you get told how many games someone has played or how many copies of RLW they own.

phantom eel

If my claims are erroneous then explain why Hayne was consistently one of our chief performers with try assists and line break assists, and how that doesn't mke him a chief playmaker? Bet you can't
As I've said, you have now altered your claim to Hayne being "one of" our chief "performers"... which is different to claiming he won his Dally M Awards FOR being our main playmaker.

Lol. Nice try champ, stick to making things up about Hayne. Although I have to say it's quite an indictment that the quality of footy conversation in there is generally far higher than that in here...
I haven't made a thing up about Hayne - I'm not the one trying to construct a case from flimsy evidence of why Hayne would succeed if signed as a 6, when he has failed in that role before...

Obscene Assassin

I'm saying that being a "playmaker" from fullback is very different to being a playmaker signed to play 80mins in the front line as a 6 or 7. One is occasional, chime in when you choose, accept no blame because you weren't the 6 or 7... the other is permanent, with defence running at you all day, ball in hand more often and sometime not by choice, with all responsibility.

He won Dally M awards because he earned a sufficient number of 3 points (for whatever reason) from judges in the matches he played in those 2 seasons (but not in his other many seasons with us). You're the one with the playmkaer fixation who introduced the loose concept via you're erroneous claims, Baz.

(Almost time for a sook in the FFB, because some peope haven't agreed with you?)

As a half you can also choose when to get the ball. If you're getting the ball, as a half, when you don't want it then you must have a poor structure or a poor dummy half. In fact I reckon that a half would receive the ball more times when they did want it from when they don't want it compared to a fullback, second-rower, centre, or winger who must then rely on what the half believes is the best option. You don't think a fullback would accept blame for taking the wrong option?

As I've said, you have now altered your claim to Hayne being "one of" our chief "performers"... which is different to claiming he won his Dally M Awards FOR being our main playmaker.

Expanding on the claim because somebody is too thick to understand it is actually not "watering it down" in any way.

You have presented precisely nothing but obfuscation, you realise?

Happy MEel

c) Baming the team around Hayne for his poor showing at 6 conveniently forgets that true playmakers on equivalent salaries (Thurston, Johns, Cronk etc) would still look good as a 6 behind a beaten pack or in a beaten side - frustrated yet, but still looking like a playmaker

DCE is a prime example of a half on Hayne coin that is totally inept behind a beaten pack, but looks OK in a good team.

When have the three you mentioned played in a rubbish team that proves your point?

ash411

No, Baz claimed there was a Dally M Award for Playmaker. There is not.

I had to go back and read for myself, cause I don't remember Baz saying that. Here's the post. (on edit: Baz did beat me too it...)

You're a non event, mate. Just another Hayne hater, but not even as intelligent as Phantom Bart. And that's saying something. You rate Fensom ffs :lol:

Hayne is a two time Dally M winning playmaker. No one needs any more proof that he would be a successful 6, because he already was. If you can't see that, then I'd suggest you're the one with a lack of footy knowledge. But, again, Fensom...

That says he was a playmaker, and a Dally M award winner, doesn't say anything about him winning playmaker of the year though..

Happy MEel

Nope, DCE is a failure as a halfback and simply can't be considered a frontline playmaker

That's an opinion not a fact. I don't rate him either but plenty of people with more league knowledge than us do...including the maroons.