Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

We need some Burgi twins ... the way he tipped Oates as he ran through to score was sensational .... there is certainly a place in our touch footy team for him .... but hey, as long as he is big, has menacing hair and holds onto the ball 50% of the time he's top 50% of props :thumbsup:

Firstly, you're talking to the wrong person, because I have never said (nor do I think) that Mannah is no good or needs to be better. I actually think what he brings to the team would be great if we had a couple of real quality forwards around him. And be honest, despite their selections in various teams in the World Cup, how many of those players you named would even be mentioned as State of Origin contenders?

Well, the question posed was "how many players played rep footy?"

Like it or not, the World Cup counts as Test football, regardless of the fact the players are representing a minnow nation.

And Nathan Brown, at least, could easily play Origin footy.

84 Baby

Trouble is our pack only dominates every now and then; because we don't have enough size or quality. You can't have an average hooker AND an average pack. Name me one other genuine premiership contender who doesn't have at least one (probably two) current origin level players in their forward pack. (And obviously by that I mean players at a level of quality to be in contention for origin selection - not necessarily origin players literally.)
So players who have been talked up for origin contention like Shannon Boyd, Junior Paulo & Joel Thompson had in years gone by?

We need some forwards with 'pop' alright. If we had a couple of real quality forwards, Mannah (and most of our other forwards) would be fine. Each of our forwards individually is okay; but as a pack, without a couple of stars, they are very ordinary.
Oh! Does that make me a whinger?

No it makes perfect sense. Why do you doubt yourself?
But my friend is to have a few guys with POP they must replace a few guys already in the team. And one of those guys will more then likely be timmy.
In the middle Brown, Alvaro,Terepo, Tepai are worth persiting with first.

This is how i see it for 2019

8 Alvaro
10 Jnr
11 Manu
12 T rex
13 Brown

14 Kenny
15Tepai
16Evans
17New signing

Terepo,Mannah

Joshuatheeel

Interestingly some say we should have signed Cook as an answer to our hooking problems, yet he was a reserve grader / fringe NRL player until he was 25 or so!!

Some complain that we shouldn't have let Maloney leave, yet he was a reserve grader until 23 or so and really only cemented himself as an NRL player until he was 24 and it still took him a few years to develop.

And yet Pritchard is still only 23 with 40 plus games and injuries haven't helped him. He may still fail, but surely the above examples show players need time.

Cook / Maloney had the benefit of several years developing in NSW cup, Pritchard hasn't really had that opportunity, he was thrown into the deep end. Or maybe Pritchard is just a better player then they were at the same age!!

He started to show some good form last year before he was injured.

Anyhow let's hope Pritchard continues to improve like Cook/Maloney did with age and we don't let Pritchard leave to early or he may be another player that comes good at another club!!

Interestingly some say we should have signed Cook as an answer to our hooking problems, yet he was a reserve grader / fringe NRL player until he was 25 or so!!

Some complain that we shouldn't have let Maloney leave, yet he was a reserve grader until 23 or so and really only cemented himself as an NRL player until he was 24 and it still took him a few years to develop.

And yet Pritchard is still only 23 with 40 plus games and injuries haven't helped him. He may still fail, but surely the above examples show players need time.

Cook / Maloney had the benefit of several years developing in NSW cup, Pritchard hasn't really had that opportunity, he was thrown into the deep end. Or maybe Pritchard is just a better player then they were at the same age!!

He started to show some good form last year before he was injured.

Anyhow let's hope Pritchard continues to improve like Cook/Maloney did with age and we don't let Pritchard leave to early or he may be another player that comes good at another club!!

A lot of merkins on here see a player going well and whinge why we didn't sign them. Api Koroisau was in and out of FG at Penrith and played a fill in role of hooker, half and benchy. Penrith release him with a year to go on his contract. Same goes for the following year at Manly, in and out of FG and playing fill in roles. He is playing good footy 4 seasons later and merkins are FFS we should have signed him !

Obscene Assassin

Mate, you might well be right. I've never seen him play. What's he like?

Parcell? He's lightning quick out of dummy half, doesn't afraid to run, light on his feet, decent passer from the ruck. I personally thought out of he and Koroisau at manly that he would have been retained. There's a couple of bad highlight reels of him on youtube.

Obscene Assassin

Trouble is our pack only dominates every now and then; because we don't have enough size or quality. You can't have an average hooker AND an average pack. Name me one other genuine premiership contender who doesn't have at least one (probably two) current origin level players in their forward pack. (And obviously by that I mean players at a level of quality to be in contention for origin selection - not necessarily origin players literally.)

Our pack usually matches it with the opposition pack, which was good enough last year but since the ref interpretation has drastically changed since last year our smaller pack has struggled against the bigger packs, remember when the NRL brought in 8 interchanges to bring the smaller players back into the game? Since it's round 8, there aren't any premiership contenders currently.

State of Origin is a joke and being "talked up for origin" or actually playing Origin shouldn't be a factor in deciding how good a player is playing for their club.

84 Baby

Parcell? He's lightning quick out of dummy half, doesn't afraid to run, light on his feet, decent passer from the ruck. I personally thought out of he and Koroisau at manly that he would have been retained. There's a couple of bad highlight reels of him on youtube.
Watched some videos of him in 15 playing QC. Was probably a step above that comp. And yeah pretty zippy.

Edit - Under contract until end of 2019, but yeah looking at his highlights & stats & what not if he doesn't return to NRL, I reckon it won't be for lack of someone trying

Did Matt Keating go on to play better at a different club?
No, no he didn’t. And I can’t see Kaysa ever doing the same. He’s the worst dummy half in the comp and he wouldn’t make any other sides top 17. Absolutely hilarious to suggest he would get a run anywhere else let alone become any sort of star.