Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

84 Baby

No, no he didn’t. And I can’t see Kaysa ever doing the same. He’s the worst dummy half in the comp and he wouldn’t make any other sides top 17. Absolutely hilarious to suggest he would get a run anywhere else let alone become any sort of star.
I at least believe that if he did leave and become a star somewhere else, you'd be genuinely surprised and let it go. Others I reckon would either change their tune on how they always knew he'd be a superstar and should have been given more time, or just use it as further ammo to hate on the club for losing another good player. There's another who would just use it to remind everyone how shit BA is, I mean how much BA needs help

I would be shocked :joy:

I’ve never seen the wrap in him and would prefer King.

Hopefully we can fast track Mahoney and he can be ready for first grade by next year. Because there isn’t a lot on the market this year either.

Parcel might be a decent option for a couple of years. He looked a real good player in the Q Cup.

84 Baby

Hopefully we can fast track Mahoney and he can be ready for first grade by next year. Because there isn’t a lot on the market this year either.

Parcel might be a decent option for a couple of years. He looked a real good player in the Q Cup.
I think if he keeps getting out of the ruck like he did last game, Kaysa will be serviceable but he really needs to develop better ruck passing & some sort of a kicking game. And stop getting injured.

Parcell contracted for awhile and while Mahoney goes ok, you don't reckon he's essentially in the same boat as Kaysa? Only 3 years younger

lingard

Our pack usually matches it with the opposition pack, which was good enough last year but since the ref interpretation has drastically changed since last year our smaller pack has struggled against the bigger packs, remember when the NRL brought in 8 interchanges to bring the smaller players back into the game? Since it's round 8, there aren't any premiership contenders currently.

State of Origin is a joke and being "talked up for origin" or actually playing Origin shouldn't be a factor in deciding how good a player is playing for their club.

I agree about Origin being a joke, mate. I hate the hype around it. Just a meaningless set of exhibition matches to me. But it is generally considered to be the elite level in terms of player standards. It seems to be the default standard that we judge players by. And I agree it's not the only standard, and I've been banging on about origin-level players, I know; but I can't remember the last time we had a forward or two who were even considered to be in that class of players. Maybe I should use Hindy111's terminology of forwards that 'pop'. I'm talking about forwards like Woods, Fifita, Campell-Gillard, Taumololo, James Graham, etc. I just think we need at least one 'star' forward in our pack to complement players like Mannah and Brown and Alvaro, etc. Those three players would walk into the Cronulla or Souths pack and absolutely slay it because they would have a couple of 'popping' forwards around them. But here at Parramatta they are the ones expected to be the 'stars' leading the others. At Cronulla, Mannah's lack of an offload wouldn't matter because you'd have Fifita, Graham, and Lewis to do it. Who have we got? Same at Souths with Sam Burgess, Sutton and Crichton.
I like what Tony Williams is starting to do. I thought Kenny Edwards would develop into 'a forward that pops' but I"ve been disappointed by his lack of consistency and lack of discipline. Brown has very good ball skills but has been hampered by a lack of go-forward from the dummy half among other things. Maybe if Pritchard can concentrate on scooting out of dummy half to give our pack a bit of a roll on, those three players might start to shine more.

I think if he keeps getting out of the ruck like he did last game, Kaysa will be serviceable but he really needs to develop better ruck passing & some sort of a kicking game. And stop getting injured.

Parcell contracted for awhile and while Mahoney goes ok, you don't reckon he's essentially in the same boat as Kaysa? Only 3 years younger
From what I have seen of Mahoney his service is far superior, he has a kicking game and he seems far more durable. Size is his biggest obstacle.

lingard

I reckon we'd burn down the stadium. When it's finished. (If Kaysa had a better-balanced pack behind him he would be a lot better. But as it stands, he's not good enough to lift an average (unbalanced pack) of forwards.

Glenneel

Through all our poor form, and over the poor years we have had, nobody could - or should, even - ever say that Mannah was the issue, or that he didn't give 100%.

The reality is that every club needs players like Mannah.

Our problem isn't Mannah - it's that the players we have to complement him are similar in style.

But that's why we signed Evans and Paulo.
Yes you're right about Mannah (and equally Alvaro) but he is not your first pick starting middle forward, he is your backup bench forward. And that is our problem, we need those big forwards to get the team on the front foot. Then Mannah or Alvaro (not both together) come in with Matagi or Vave or whatever as the second change.

emjaycee

So did that half we bought and let go to the Titans.

Glenneel

We need some forwards with 'pop' alright. If we had a couple of real quality forwards, Mannah (and most of our other forwards) would be fine. Each of our forwards individually is okay; but as a pack, without a couple of stars, they are very ordinary.
Oh! Does that make me a whinger?
Think Watmough and Scott are 'pop', or at least old enough to have grandchildren.

Glenneel

Pity we can't put Kaysa's speed in King's body and he'd be a beauty.

Yes you're right about Mannah (and equally Alvaro) but he is not your first pick starting middle forward, he is your backup bench forward. And that is our problem, we need those big forwards to get the team on the front foot. Then Mannah or Alvaro (not both together) come in with Matagi or Vave or whatever as the second change.

I think he is a very good foil for a player like Junior Paulo.

Hyperbole???

bullshit-course-480x279.jpg

TheRam

Interestingly some say we should have signed Cook as an answer to our hooking problems, yet he was a reserve grader / fringe NRL player until he was 25 or so!!

Some complain that we shouldn't have let Maloney leave, yet he was a reserve grader until 23 or so and really only cemented himself as an NRL player until he was 24 and it still took him a few years to develop.

And yet Pritchard is still only 23 with 40 plus games and injuries haven't helped him. He may still fail, but surely the above examples show players need time.

Cook / Maloney had the benefit of several years developing in NSW cup, Pritchard hasn't really had that opportunity, he was thrown into the deep end. Or maybe Pritchard is just a better player then they were at the same age!!

He started to show some good form last year before he was injured.

Anyhow let's hope Pritchard continues to improve like Cook/Maloney did with age and we don't let Pritchard leave to early or he may be another player that comes good at another club!!

The people badmouthing him now would be ropable if that happened

A lot of merkins on here see a player going well and whinge why we didn't sign them. Api Koroisau was in and out of FG at Penrith and played a fill in role of hooker, half and benchy. Penrith release him with a year to go on his contract. Same goes for the following year at Manly, in and out of FG and playing fill in roles. He is playing good footy 4 seasons later and merkins are FFS we should have signed him !

You merkins are just circle jerking together. The difference with these players is that they showed great potential and many moments in games that Pritchard has rarely shown. In Api's case from a very early age and that is why I wanted him here from the age of around 18. But the ultimate reason that I don't rate Pritchard is his injury status. And if you couldn't see the talent in Cook even when at the Dogs, then maybe you should just watch and and not talk. Tongue in cheek fellas.

Now listen/read carefully. Any player that weighs what he does and throws himself at the pigs the way that he does, no matter how good he is, will ultimately never make it long term in the NRL.

Peats was another example of someone that threw himself kamikaze style at the defense and now look at him. Broken and his abilities largely diminished. The previous player that we had who had a similar attitude to tackling was PJ Marsh and look what ultimately happened to him. The first rule in the NRL is long term self preservation or you won't be in the NRL to long.

Not to hard a rule to understand for most, except for some of you idiots.

As for buying these guys now, I think that it is to late, because everyone NOW sees the value in them so their price would be probably more then they are worth. The time was 2-5 years ago.

So now lets see what BA can come up with. Will he be able to pick the next best 9 in the lower grade to poach? Oh even if he is already contracted to a club, many times that is irrelevant, if we value him more and offer to fast track him into the NRL and the appropriate salary.

As for my choice? I wouldn't know. I don't watch the lower grades anymore. But whoever it is, he better be able to consistently deliver crisp passes in front of the player, tackle without being a kamikaze and pick the right moments to run.